thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:52 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 692 posts ]  Go to page Previous 120 21 22 23 24 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2016 11:21 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 4:00 pm
Posts: 63
Location: Fortuna, CA
teamde78 wrote:
thinkpadgeek91 wrote:
Image


What is the battery gauge app you use? Is it a Lenovo one for Windows 10?


Yes it is. It was in Lenovo System Update.

_________________
Thinkpad X220 2.5Ghz Core i5 2540M;8GB;128GBSSD Windows 10 Pro


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2016 12:58 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 2790
Location: Glendora, CA
Yeah the new battery icon is fugly.

I much prefer the older style aero one they had in Windows 7.

_________________
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2016 8:01 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:18 pm
Posts: 223
Location: Jasło, Poland
http://oi66.tinypic.com/14ni8sh.jpg

MOD edit: Read the forum rules for max. picture size!

_________________
My T430 with GTX 560 Ti (Now with GTX 670)
My Pathologic game review


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:37 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:48 pm
Posts: 64
Location: Wieluń, Poland
Old PowerManager works as expected, at least on older thinkpads. I use 3.61 on Win10 Pro x64 on my x220.
All you need to do is install it in compatibility mode.

http://i.imgur.com/qykdEBZ.png

MOD edit: Read the forum rules for max. picture size!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:33 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 2790
Location: Glendora, CA
kitor wrote:
Old PowerManager works as expected, at least on older thinkpads. I use 3.61 on Win10 Pro x64 on my x220.
All you need to do is install it in compatibility mode.

http://i.imgur.com/qykdEBZ.png

MOD edit: Read the forum rules for max. picture size!


Where did you download it from? I'd like to use it on my X031.

Thanks.

_________________
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:38 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:48 pm
Posts: 64
Location: Wieluń, Poland
On Lenovo support website all you need is to scroll down the download page - you'll see older versions listed somewhere.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:07 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 2790
Location: Glendora, CA
Click for bigger version.

This is my X301 with a Samsung 850 EVO mSATA SSD. I'm really enjoying the heck out of this PC.

Image

_________________
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 3:21 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:18 am
Posts: 139
Location: Portland, OR surrounding areas
Nice! So I see you went with an X series instead of a T5#0?

PS. Anyone else find it funny that the Recycle Bin icon in Windows 10 looks older than the Windows Vista/7 versions?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 6:20 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:48 pm
Posts: 64
Location: Wieluń, Poland
@Temetka - what sidebar app you use?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:33 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 2790
Location: Glendora, CA
I've had enough of big heavy laptops. I'm on a quest to get a nice lightweight one that is just powerful enough to let me do what I need to in IT. Which is basically RDP into servers, connect to console ports on switches, bill clients, run word, excel, outlook, visio, powerpoint and 720p youtube.

The X301 handles all of that no problem.

I did just ebay myself a Surface Pro 2. Not as a replacement, but as an experiment. I will keep the X301 forever because I've wanted one since release day and I fell in love with it the moment I took it out of it's box a few weeks ago. The SP2 is to see how far things have come since the days of my X41T and X61T. I'm eagerly awaiting it's arrival. I picked up a 4GB 128GB SP2 for $275 and Type Cover 2 for $45 (New, sealed) from e-bay. So for roughly $325 I get to play with a nice machine. If I don't like it, i'll sell it. I'm 99% sure that I am going to end up keeping it though. I've set them up for clients and really enjoyed using them. That being said they lack the personality my X301 has. I tend to bond with my gear on a personal level, so it's pretty easy to say that I love this machine. Relatively fast, feather light, perfect size LCD (for me), etc etc etc. When the workday is over I actually look forward to just sitting down and enjoy using my computer. That joy has been missing for a few years now and I've kind of gone a little crazy hunting for the perfect laptop. I've had 15" beasts, 14" nice machines, an ipad mini (failed experiment, now relagated to flipboard duty and a star wars game. bad investment, oh well), and about a dozen in-between laptops in the last 3 years. Some came close to satisfying me, but none of them - not one made me peaceful the minute I put my hands on it. The X301 did. It's perfect.

Geeky? Perhaps. But when you use equipment as much as I do, trying to find the perfect traveling companion can be a chore in itself.

Re: Sidebar stuff. Check this out:

Rainmeter and Enigma
http://enigma.kaelri.com/downloads/

_________________
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 1:05 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Posts: 1758
Location: Window Rock, Arizona
Temetka wrote:
Geeky?


You've just described the profile of about 99% of the people who log into TPF :wink: :mrgreen:

_________________
Thinkpad X230 | Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 | mATX Haswell Desktop


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:05 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 2790
Location: Glendora, CA
emeraldgirl08 wrote:
Temetka wrote:
Geeky?


You've just described the profile of about 99% of the people who log into TPF :wink: :mrgreen:


True, very true. But then again there's geeky then there is geeky. 8)

I like to think I am somewhere in the middle.

_________________
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2016 3:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Milan, Italy
http://i.imgur.com/vhYULpn.png

_________________
Thinkpad T430s
Thinkpad T520
Upcoming: Thinkpad T450s

Nexus 7 (2013)
Nexus 5
Samsung Galaxy S6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 5:56 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 3:31 am
Posts: 682
Location: Burlington, NC
Image

_________________
Daily: T440s
Classics: 600X (850MHz), A31p (FlexView), X41, T60 (LED FlexView), R61 (QXGA FlexView), X301 (AFFS)


Last edited by 600X on Mon Feb 29, 2016 2:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 5:53 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Posts: 1758
Location: Window Rock, Arizona
Image

@600X. Loving your wallpaper! Mind sharing the link for it?

_________________
Thinkpad X230 | Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 | mATX Haswell Desktop


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 2:56 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 3:31 am
Posts: 682
Location: Burlington, NC
I couldn't find a link since it's one of the default wallpapers, so I uploaded it on MediaFire:

http://www.mediafire.com/view/o2kbsvjse ... korora.png

_________________
Daily: T440s
Classics: 600X (850MHz), A31p (FlexView), X41, T60 (LED FlexView), R61 (QXGA FlexView), X301 (AFFS)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 4:04 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Posts: 1758
Location: Window Rock, Arizona
600X wrote:
I couldn't find a link since it's one of the default wallpapers, so I uploaded it on MediaFire:

http://www.mediafire.com/view/o2kbsvjse ... korora.png


Got it! Thanks! :thumbs-UP:

_________________
Thinkpad X230 | Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 | mATX Haswell Desktop


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2016 9:30 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:18 pm
Posts: 223
Location: Jasło, Poland
Image

(Click for full size)

_________________
My T430 with GTX 560 Ti (Now with GTX 670)
My Pathologic game review


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 3:57 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:45 pm
Posts: 273
Location: Slightly Outside America
this is my daily machine, gorgeous x220t courteous of ajkula66!

some meta-humor (kony I really like your background!) and also some of my current bad TV shows addiction lol -
a. using tilda (or if you're a KDE person like I used to be, yakuake is pretty nice too) - I highly recommend putting any kind of pop-down terminal on F12, it will make your life so much easier.
2. logged into my bizarre transmission/flexget/plexmedia server gone-wrong-thing. (I can sort of 'asplain - it's a chromebox with lots of messing around, and a 4TB USB3 drive)
vi. "sensors-fans" is a nice applet but outdated - you have to hack the javascript up a little bit to make it work for thinkpads. (oh wait I did!)

http://i.imgur.com/Gm7BsH8r.png

_________________
go away.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 2:09 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:18 pm
Posts: 223
Location: Jasło, Poland
tarvoke wrote:
this is my daily machine, gorgeous x220t courteous of ajkula66!

some meta-humor (kony I really like your background!) and also some of my current bad TV shows addiction lol -
a. using tilda (or if you're a KDE person like I used to be, yakuake is pretty nice too) - I highly recommend putting any kind of pop-down terminal on F12, it will make your life so much easier.
2. logged into my bizarre transmission/flexget/plexmedia server gone-wrong-thing. (I can sort of 'asplain - it's a chromebox with lots of messing around, and a 4TB USB3 drive)
vi. "sensors-fans" is a nice applet but outdated - you have to hack the javascript up a little bit to make it work for thinkpads. (oh wait I did!)

http://i.imgur.com/Gm7BsH8r.png



I use KDE.
I have set a shortcut to open a terminal via [Windows Key].
I like sensors, I use it sometimes to check current status, however, when I need to monitor fans and temperatures of my hardware, then I use psensor, which is far superior.

_________________
My T430 with GTX 560 Ti (Now with GTX 670)
My Pathologic game review


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 8:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Milan, Italy
Image

_________________
Thinkpad T430s
Thinkpad T520
Upcoming: Thinkpad T450s

Nexus 7 (2013)
Nexus 5
Samsung Galaxy S6


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2016 6:29 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Posts: 502
Location: Hudson, New Hampshire
I hid all my icons but here's what my desktop looks like.
WUXGA, Win 7
http://i.imgur.com/KYzNXXe.png

_________________
Aaron the Thinkpad Addict. Currently supporting:
IBM R50p lenovo Z60m, X60s, X200, T500

Enable advanced features on older Synaptics touchpads with the registry: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 4:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 1:20 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Bavaria, Germany
This is my setup on my ThinkPad Yoga 14 (I got it in nearly new condition used from NBWN.de).
Intel Core i7-5500U
Intel HD 5500
8 GB RAM
250 GB Toshiba SSD

http://imgur.com/a/5tYV4

Windows 10 Pro x64
Classic Shell
Plumb for auto tiling of the windows
John's Background Switcher with 500px Editor's Choice for Nature and Landscapes for the hourly background-refresh

It's used for nearly everything (and so often connected to my 28" external monitor) in conjunction with my Samsung Galaxy Note 4: Note-taking with the ThinkPad Pen Pro, Office, video editing, photo editing, listening to music/watching videos, messaging

_________________
Current Devices: Samsung Galaxy Note 4 (Android 6.0.1 | Congstar DE) | Lenovo ThinkPad Yoga 14 [i7-5500U, 8 GB RAM, 250 GB Toshiba SSD, Windows 10 Pro x64, no SIM], Lenovo ThinkPad X230 Tablet [i5-3320M, 6 GB RAM, 250 GB Samsung SSD, Windows 10 Pro x64, O2 DE]


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 7:21 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:18 pm
Posts: 223
Location: Jasło, Poland
Image

_________________
My T430 with GTX 560 Ti (Now with GTX 670)
My Pathologic game review


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 8:25 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:18 am
Posts: 139
Location: Portland, OR surrounding areas
Wait, kony, what happened to your Linux distro?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2016 8:35 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:18 pm
Posts: 223
Location: Jasło, Poland
UMPC2024 wrote:
Wait, kony, what happened to your Linux distro?

I'm going to upgrade my eGPU setup very soon and play new games, such as The Witcher 3 or Torment 2, which might not work on Wine, so I installed Windows 7.

_________________
My T430 with GTX 560 Ti (Now with GTX 670)
My Pathologic game review


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2016 10:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:34 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Virginia
https://s32.postimg.org/xn84p4mvp/Scree ... _08_27.png
My vanilla desktop background. I mostly use keyboard shortcuts and terminal to open things.

_________________
ThinkPads: x230, x260, x60s, t61


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 2:23 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:08 pm
Posts: 234
Location: Quito, Ecuador
https://i.sli.mg/Y2bNOg.png

My new Airtop workstation. Keeping it simple with OpenBSD and cwm. Everything works well.

_________________
.: Compulab Airtop Fanless Workstation :: Dell Latitude 3350 :.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 2:25 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:08 pm
Posts: 234
Location: Quito, Ecuador
opaque_forest wrote:
https://s32.postimg.org/xn84p4mvp/Screenshot_from_2016_07_06_23_08_27.png
My vanilla desktop background. I mostly use keyboard shortcuts and terminal to open things.


I like that wallpaper. I believe it was from Debian 6.

_________________
.: Compulab Airtop Fanless Workstation :: Dell Latitude 3350 :.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Post your desktop.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 5:24 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Posts: 787
Location: Toronto, Canada
Image
ThinkPad A30 with PIII-M 1.2Ghz and 1GB RAM in Windows 7...
I just find that background cute so...

_________________
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 692 posts ]  Go to page Previous 120 21 22 23 24 Next

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited