thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
eCoupons
Save with Lenovo ThinkPad eCoupons
Exclusive 4% CASH BACK from eCoupons.com
Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 
It is currently Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:40 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: malware on this forum? *150KB IMAGE*
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:27 am
Posts: 2
Location: Sydney, Australia
while I was reading through some of the threads, this came up

http://i1098.photobucket.com/albums/g37 ... dforum.png

is it safe to continue browsing through this forum?

_________________
Thinkpad X200 Tablet (2010)


Last edited by JaneL on Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
No pics >50k.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: malware on this forum?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:27 am 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 4:40 am
Posts: 4805
Location: Greenville SC
What thread were you browsing when you got the error?

_________________
Jane
ThinkPad Slate, T410s, X301, X300, X200 Tablet, T60p, HP TouchPad, iPad 4, iPhone 4S, IdeaTab A2107A
Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Facebook group
I'm on Twitter

I do NOT respond to PM or e-mail requests for personal tech support.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: malware on this forum?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:48 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 11844
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
That's this one:
Board index » ThinkPad News, Comments & Etcetera » Pictures of your ThinkPad & desk setup
Post your desktop.
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=7318

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods: Postoffice lost package, perhaps available again early July 2013
- SATA-mods: native SATA for T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: malware on this forum?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:56 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 8479
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Any idea exactly which post triggered this warning? I quickly scanned the last three pages worth of the thread but didn't see anything amiss. My guess is that one of the photos or links in the thread points to a resource at "network-teaser.ru", as mentioned in the pop-up.

_________________
Ray Kawakami
[DONOR] X22;X24;X31;X41;X41T;X60;X60s;X61s;X300;Z60m;Z61t;Z61p;560Z;600E;600X;T21;T22;T23;T41;R50;A21p;A22p;A31 and A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are now dead. Files were removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: malware on this forum?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:02 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 1:40 pm
Posts: 768
Location: Howell, New Jersey
Googles has this to say about network-teaser.ru--

"What is the current listing status for network-teaser.ru?

Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.

Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.

What happened when Google visited this site?

Of the 723 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 2 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2011-11-28, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2011-11-28.
Malicious software includes 4 trojan(s), 3 scripting exploit(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 9 new process(es) on the target machine.

Malicious software is hosted on 3 domain(s), including protectwindows.ru/, advertisingnetwork.ru/, safenesscontent.ru/.

1 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including safenesscontent.ru/.

This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS12695 (DINET).

Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?

Over the past 90 days, network-teaser.ru appeared to function as an intermediary for the infection of 14 site(s) including Overused word.org/, bilgehandemir.com/, tkc-japan.info/.

Has this site hosted malware?

Yes, this site has hosted malicious software over the past 90 days. It infected 590 domain(s), including rejectreality.net/, aristocraticshop.com/, revistajex-blog.com.ar/.

How did this happen?

In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.

Next steps:

Return to the previous page.
If you are the owner of this web site, you can request a review of your site using Google Webmaster Tools. More information about the review process is available in Google's Webmaster Help Center."

_________________
emtee3511
X200-7459-BW3(AFFS-Glossy) + X61-7674-Y23
+ X61s-7666-3EU + X60s-1702-CTO

+ X100e-3508-CTO
+ T410i-2516-73U + T410-2537-N71
+ T400-6474-R2U + T400-7417-11U


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: malware on this forum?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:09 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 8479
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Loaded all 16 pages of the thread one at a time and searched the underlying HTML code. No references to network-teaser.ru was found. Don't know what else to do....

_________________
Ray Kawakami
[DONOR] X22;X24;X31;X41;X41T;X60;X60s;X61s;X300;Z60m;Z61t;Z61p;560Z;600E;600X;T21;T22;T23;T41;R50;A21p;A22p;A31 and A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are now dead. Files were removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: malware on this forum? *150KB IMAGE*
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:59 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Posts: 3805
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!
Since the post is from a 1st time poster on their 1st visit here, and no one else is reporting ths problem..... I suggest that applying an appropriate degree of scepticism may be in order!

Cheers,

Bill B.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: malware on this forum? *150KB IMAGE*
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:52 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:02 pm
Posts: 320
Location: Barcelona, Spain
bill bolton wrote:
Since the post is from a 1st time poster on their 1st visit here, and no one else is reporting ths problem..... I suggest that applying an appropriate degree of scepticism may be in order!
Well, i am seeing the same here in Google Chrome version 15.0.874.121 running under Linux, but it does not show in Firefox 8.

The screenshot posted by the 1st time poster lets me assume that it was taken from a running Google Chrome browser window, so possibly this is rather related to the Chrome web browser?

_________________
T23 2647-9RG | T61 8895-WFJ | T61 6460-7EU | Frankenpad T61+ with 15" UXGA IPS/Flexview Display
I do not answer any private support messages: please do ask in the forum so that all can benefit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: malware on this forum? *150KB IMAGE*
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:53 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9625
The message is most probably coming from Google itself because of using the Google Chrome browser. Google has been known to flag web urls as malicious by mistake in the past. Probably what happened in this case.

_________________
DKB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: malware on this forum? *150KB IMAGE*
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:27 am
Posts: 2
Location: Sydney, Australia
yep i'm running chrome. Other sub forums are fine though, must be one of the photos I guess, scared me though.

_________________
Thinkpad X200 Tablet (2010)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group