thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:27 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 9:52 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 3:17 pm
Posts: 1256
Location: NRW, Germany
Hi,

some of Vista users have probably noticed that the Power Manager's battery gauge gets unreadable when the task bar is transparent (i.e. there are no maximized windows) and a light colored wallpaper is used.

Couple of days ago I started looking for a solution. All I found were reports of this issue posted as far as back in 2007.

Some more googling showed that this isn't entirely Power Manager's fault as there are other applications having the same problem on Vista, so it is more like another Vista's incompatibility.

The solution I came up with is based on the fact that the gauge looks OK when a dark (ideally black) wallpaper is used. I've written a tiny utility (9KB .exe) that displays a small black borderless window right underneath the gauge (and the task bar) providing a black background for the gauge which in turns makes it readable again.

The utility tries to follow the gauge so if icons are added/removed to the system tray, the taskbar is resized or moved to another side of the screen, the black background window will follow. Right now this is done using a timer so it may not follow immediately (with up to a 1 second delay). If the gauge continues to move for the next 5 seconds, the response is almost immediate. Since the gauge stays in the same position most of the time, this should not be a problem.

Download
http://files.arkadiusz.wahlig.googlepag ... ugeFix.exe

Installation
Simply start the .exe to get it running. Create a shortcut and put it into the Autostart folder to make the utility start with every system boot. It is not a problem if the fix is started before the gauge, in such case it will wait in the background and show up as soon as the gauge pops up on the screen.

Before and after
Image

Let me know if you have any problems with it.

_________________
ThinkPad™ X201 / AFFS-120
i5-560M 2.67Ghz, 8GB RAM, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD, Win 8 Pro 64-bit, UltraBase X200, ThinkPad Compact USB Keyboard,
Dell U2713HM (2560x1440, IPS), ExpressCard USB 3.0 (2 ports, flush), Nexus 7+10


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:19 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 7:14 pm
Posts: 261
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Genius. :bow:

_________________
T61p T7800 2.6 GHz, Vista Ultimate x64, 15.4 WUXGA, NVIDIA Quadro FX 570M (256MB), 4 GB SDRAM, 200GB 7200rpm, Intel Turbo Memory 1GB, Intel 4965AGN, Bluetooth.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:55 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 3:17 pm
Posts: 1256
Location: NRW, Germany
:banghead:
Just saw that there's an update to the Power Manager available since a week. One of the changes is:
Quote:
(Fix) Fixed an issue where the Power Manager Gauge was transparent when Windows Aero was effective.

All my work for nothing. First they don't fix it for 2 years and then when someone finally comes up with a viable solution, they fix it.

Oh well.

_________________
ThinkPad™ X201 / AFFS-120
i5-560M 2.67Ghz, 8GB RAM, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD, Win 8 Pro 64-bit, UltraBase X200, ThinkPad Compact USB Keyboard,
Dell U2713HM (2560x1440, IPS), ExpressCard USB 3.0 (2 ports, flush), Nexus 7+10


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 11:59 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 10:54 am
Posts: 2975
Location: Munich, Germany
yak, that´s great little utility! BTW, not everyone uses the latest version of Lenovo Power Manager ;) The latest doesn´t necessarily mean the best...

Thanks,

Marin

_________________
IBM Lenovo Z61p | 15.4'' WUXGA | Intel Core 2 Duo T7400 2x 2.16GHz | 4 GB Kingston HyperX | Hitachi 7K500 500 GB + WD 1TB (USB) | ATI Mobility FireGL V5200 | ThinkPad Atheros a/b/g | Analog Devices AD1981HD | Win 7 x86 + ArchLinux 2009.08 x64 (number crunching)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:52 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 2790
Location: Glendora, CA
I've been having this problem for a long time.

I'll try your util if the updated power manager doesn't work.

Thanks for writing it though, it's a great fix.

_________________
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:41 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 10:54 am
Posts: 2975
Location: Munich, Germany
yak, I tried to install your utility under Win 7 32bit, but it gave me an error message:
Code:
The program can´t start because CC3290.DLL is missing from your computer. 
Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.
I googled for this .dll (doesn´t seem to be present in any .dll repos either) but couldn´t find anything...

Thanks,

Marin

_________________
IBM Lenovo Z61p | 15.4'' WUXGA | Intel Core 2 Duo T7400 2x 2.16GHz | 4 GB Kingston HyperX | Hitachi 7K500 500 GB + WD 1TB (USB) | ATI Mobility FireGL V5200 | ThinkPad Atheros a/b/g | Analog Devices AD1981HD | Win 7 x86 + ArchLinux 2009.08 x64 (number crunching)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited