thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 3:13 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1083 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 33, 34, 35, 36, 37  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 5:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:33 am
Posts: 20
Location: Michalovce, Slovakia
So,I have the big problem with 16gb 266x Kingson CF card.My 4gb Hitachi microdrive is working OK.Slow speed 3600rpm 128kb cache,but works.Bios recognize CF card,but get "operating system not found".In another laptop boot is OK(Xubuntu).CF via USB adapter is working,but system is quite slow.
When CF card is inserted in X41t,even Xubuntu wont install own system.I got"write I/O error" when system start install to disk.I think that Linux no need special prepared disk.Maybe it is the mobo problem.
edit:
I try this CF in another old laptop (Medion)with IDE mobo.Xubuntu install proces and booting was OK.I put this card to IBM x41t and no luck.Still "No operatings system found"
Boot CD with DOS FDISK is hanging on reading geometry of disk.Wont create partition.Fdisk /mbr got write error.

_________________
A22e,T40,x41,x41t,T60 IPS,2xT61,x61s


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:18 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Raceboy wrote:
And it is also possible to use mSATA drive on X60/X61 as the southbridge has 2nd SATA pins on the system board as I learned from the schematics. Since on X60/X61 the mSATA pins are not connected on the mPCIe connectors, you can just solder them (from southbride -> mPCIe) and you have booting 2nd SSD.
When I have more time, I will do it.


I would really like to hear more about this. Sounds amazing!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:18 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
I managed to find the schematics for X61 and yes, there is actually three sata ports on the ICH8-M chip, and one of them is connected to the sata socket. The other two, however, are grounded on the Rx pins, and my guess is that these will not be accessible since the southbridge is a BGA. The Tx pins are NC.

Maybe I'm missing something here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:49 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13393
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Raceboy has the knowledge (and equipment) to 'play' with BGAs. 8)

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:32 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:42 pm
Posts: 94
Location: Bay Area (Berkeley) , California
Do you have a layout document to go with that schematic? It might be worth to check whether the Tx/Rx pins are actually brought out from under the package before they're grounded. If not, we're out of luck even with BGA rework tools. What a shame...

R


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 5:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:18 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
I do not have the layout, sadly.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 8:06 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:42 pm
Posts: 94
Location: Bay Area (Berkeley) , California
I guess then we don't have very many options left.
I haven't had any luck with mPCIe-based SATA controllers (they just don't work, for no apparent reason), but there are mPCIe -> USB 3.0, then you could do USB 3.0 -> SATA. No idea if the USB 3.0 cards would work either though.
I'd connect the regular SATA port to the mSATA SSD, then hack a mechanical hard drive into the 2nd mPCIe slot via a SATA adapter. I'm working on that right now, so let's see how it goes...

R


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 5:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:34 pm
Posts: 29
Location: San Francisco, CA
What has been actual experience with an X41 and PCI-E MSATA SSD 50MM 3.3V to 1.8" IDE 3.3V 44PIN converter board plus SSD, as mentioned by AGoodSolution Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:46 am, on page 35 of this thread? Prices for these components keep coming down.

I readily agree with RealBlackStuff that it will not perform like a SATA conversion removing the bridge chip, but the converter approach seems a lot easier to implement, and could still be a big improvement over the mechanical hard drive.

Thanks,
Howard

_________________
310ED, 600E, T23, X41, X60, T61


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:18 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
I have done a SSD upgrade on my X40. Feel free to view my gallery:
http://www.sweclockers.com/galleri/10479-thinkpad-x40-msata-mod

Even though it is in Swedish I think you will understand the benchmark pictures. The first benchmarks is with the old mechanical drive and the SSD benchmark pics are at the end. Keep in mind that there is no way to upgrade so SATA on an X40, so this is pure PATA. The theoretical max for ATA/100 is 100MB/s if I understand it right, and I got 80% of this speed which I think is very good.

The SSD made a big performance boost and I'm satisfied with the result.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:34 pm
Posts: 29
Location: San Francisco, CA
Bösendorfer,
That is a great set of pictures. I like your idea of some padding to help support the SSD. I'm glad you got a big performance boost.

An adapter board and used 64GB SSD are on their way to me from China. I got them on eBay for just over $60 US total. I'll post performance numbers for them after installation.
Regards,
Howard

_________________
310ED, 600E, T23, X41, X60, T61


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:48 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13393
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Unless (or even if) that black material in Bosendorfer's picture was Velcro, I would also put a little 'bumper' of sorts between the rear of the drive and the HD cover, to prevent the drive from popping out of the IDE connector.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:18 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
It is Velcro, but the problem is not to keep the drive from popping out of the IDE connector, the drive sits really tight and nice. The problem is with the cover which is not supported againt the HD bay any more so it will bend at the side without the screw.

Image

It will break very easily, and I'm thinking I must attach the new SSD drive in the bay to get it stable enough. I have no other idea.

The problem with using the bay for the SSD is that the old harddrive is attached to the bay with not only four screws but also double-sided tape. Of course I can remove the old harddrive with a little force, clean it and apply new double-sided tape for the new SSD. It will take some exact measuring to align the SSD disk perfectly in the bay so the pins slides in perfectly.

Any other ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:34 pm
Posts: 29
Location: San Francisco, CA
The adapter board and used 64GB SSD arrived and are installed and working well. Only drawback is the 2010 error with this Samsung MZMPA064HMDR-000H1.

This is a used SSD, and arrived apparently empty and unformatted. I did a secure erase and formatted it with Parted Magic. I used Paragon Backup and Recovery 2012 Free to make images of the partitions on the mechanical hard drive, then switched drives and restored the images. It dual boots Windows XP and Linux openSuSE 12.2.

I used some foam tape to raise the SSD and align the pins, similar to Bösendorfer's Velcro mentioned above. I agree with Bösendorfer that the board plus SSD is not going to pop out of the IDE connector. The assembly is quite light, and the pins fit snugly in the connector.

The HD cover on my X41 fits tightly enough that it stays put with just the one screw.

Here are results for four different hard drive configurations:

Internal 1.8 in. 4200 RPM mechanical Hitachi IDE HTC426060G9AT00
Sequential Read : 20.535 MB/s
Sequential Write : 20.512 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 12.749 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 12.747 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.249 MB/s [ 60.9 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 0.490 MB/s [ 119.6 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 0.359 MB/s [ 87.7 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 0.527 MB/s [ 128.6 IOPS]
Test : 1000 MB [C: 63.4% (17.2/27.2 GB)] (x5)
Date : 2012/09/24 14:21:33
OS : Windows XP Professional SP3 [5.1 Build 2600] (x86)

Internal PCI-E Samsung MZMPA064HMDR-000H1 on mSATA-PATA adapter board
Sequential Read : 87.564 MB/s
Sequential Write : 41.055 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 80.017 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 40.642 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 14.275 MB/s [ 3485.2 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 12.868 MB/s [ 3141.5 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 15.399 MB/s [ 3759.4 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 15.616 MB/s [ 3812.5 IOPS]
Test : 1000 MB [C: 60.3% (16.9/28.0 GB)] (x5)
Date : 2013/02/09 9:36:38
OS : Windows XP Professional SP3 [5.1 Build 2600] (x86)

Ultrabase caddy 2.5 in. 5400 RPM mechanical Hitachi SATA HTS541060G9SA00
Sequential Read : 31.320 MB/s
Sequential Write : 19.668 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 14.609 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 18.093 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 0.291 MB/s [ 71.0 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 0.510 MB/s [ 124.6 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 0.410 MB/s [ 100.1 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 0.513 MB/s [ 125.2 IOPS]
Test : 1000 MB [C: 59.8% (16.2/27.1 GB)] (x5)
Date : 2012/09/21 16:16:28
OS : Windows XP Professional SP3 [5.1 Build 2600] (x86)

Ultrabase caddy 2.5 in. SSD SATA2 OCZ Vertex Plus R2
Sequential Read : 87.171 MB/s
Sequential Write : 46.614 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 68.101 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 46.382 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 13.549 MB/s [ 3308.0 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 13.178 MB/s [ 3217.4 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 14.547 MB/s [ 3551.4 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 13.167 MB/s [ 3214.6 IOPS]
Test : 1000 MB [C: 61.6% (17.2/27.9 GB)] (x5)
Date : 2012/09/21 14:12:07
OS : Windows XP Professional SP3 [5.1 Build 2600] (x86)

The two SSDs give comparable benchmarks for internal and ultrabase installation. These numbers are not as good as the true SATA conversion removing the bridge chip, but are sufficient for me. The SSDs are noticeably faster booting and loading applications and large files. I do not have the tools and probably not the technique to do the SATA conversion successfully.

I'll live with the 2010 error a while, then decide if it is worth flashing the hacked BIOS to get rid of it.

Cheers,
Howard

_________________
310ED, 600E, T23, X41, X60, T61


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:43 am
Posts: 1
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Hi everyone.
I have x40 and problem with my cf Kingston 266x 16GB card and this adapter

http://allegro.pl/compact-flash-cf-na-4 ... 21934.html

Computer is terrible slow. I run cristaldisk and there was 66mb/s read and only 7mb/s write. UDMA 5 in Ide controler is activated.
I read all topic and someone has 38mb/s write on this card so i think something is wrong with mine. System is windows 7 home premium x32, 1Gb Ram and 2.06 Bios version. System is turning on for about 50sec and turning of for about minute. On windows xp i had only 6mb/s read speed. Please help me because i can't even watch youtube.

Sorry for my english.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 4:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:18 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Sonic_PL wrote:
Hi everyone.
I have x40 and problem with my cf Kingston 266x 16GB card and this adapter

http://allegro.pl/compact-flash-cf-na-4 ... 21934.html

Computer is terrible slow. I run cristaldisk and there was 66mb/s read and only 7mb/s write. UDMA 5 in Ide controler is activated.
I read all topic and someone has 38mb/s write on this card so i think something is wrong with mine. System is windows 7 home premium x32, 1Gb Ram and 2.06 Bios version. System is turning on for about 50sec and turning of for about minute. On windows xp i had only 6mb/s read speed. Please help me because i can't even watch youtube.

Sorry for my english.


I'm sorry to hear you got so bad performance out of your mod. Can you please supply link to the topic you refer to.

Write speeds of CF cards are usually slower than read speeds, but I'm not sure how much.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:36 am
Posts: 32
Location: lublin, poland
hi yea!

im thinking about puting cf card to my x40, and wondering does anyone tried this adapter;

http://dx.com/p/cf-card-to-2-5-ide-44-p ... een-152426

will it be good?


they have as well another one;

http://dx.com/p/compactflash-cf-card-to ... e-44-10310


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2013 11:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:53 pm
Posts: 24
Location: 92691
reading the reviews presents an essential, IF you choose to try it, read, to get it working without damaging something. That brings up the other thought: the risk to try it, due to non-existent documentation, is huge, given the mediocre result.

I tried another cheap, similar CF card and it never worked... so I gave up.

On the other hand, the IBM SSD in an x41 I am selling works well, and did, right from the simple install.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 1:20 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:13 pm
Posts: 63
Location: Garden Grove, CA
...so for someone who doesn't want to hack the living hell out of their X41...

How have the KingSpec 1.8" form factor SSDs been? Have they held up well? How's the speed?
What about the MiniPCIe to 1.8" adapter cards? Favored brand/vendor? 3.3v vs 5v?

edit:

I've read up a bit more and seems to be the best way is to go with a 3.3v PATA to mSATA adapter, like http://www.ebay.com/itm/PCI-E-MSATA-SSD ... 416ec7eb57 and then toss in whatever mSATA SSD into that.

Any naysayers?

_________________
600X (2645-9WU), X41 Tablet (1866-6SU), W520 (4270-CTO)

Yes, I have been jaded by (purported) technocrats. Almost as jaded by the tech itself.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:53 pm
Posts: 24
Location: 92691
While it's been a while since I checked, the feedback on that SSD was lousy. No matter how cheap it is, who cares if it doesn't work or last?

The only brand I'll buy now, is Intel and only the newer ones, having enough projects.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 2:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:50 am
Posts: 15
Location: Riga, Latvia
I used PATA to mSATA with Kingston SMS200, in my wifes X40. What can I say... It rocks :banana: If before, my wife started to think about new notebook, then after... Why, it's fast enough :lol: And it's not necessary to buy fast SSD, because it's limited to PATA speed anyway.

_________________
X60S, 1Gb, 80Gb 5400rpm, WinXP, ASUS RT-N56U.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 3:27 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Posts: 1718
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
I'd also avoid the Kingspecs. I think older (but not necessary much slower) mSATA drive within the 32/64GB range should be affordable enough. I'm using an old Samsungs 32GB in my X32 and it works very well (using Debian at least)

My 2 cents...

_________________
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/4*T400/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/7*X2xx/X200T/4*X30x/Z60m/Z61m/Z61p/Z61t


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: IBM SSD in the X41
PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:53 pm
Posts: 24
Location: 92691
This one (IBM 60gB) was pricey but totally painless

Takes about a minute from cold, to boot XP Pro. I may use it in a vehicle, but one always needs a B/U computer. Info in other threads got it to recognize the SD card, too, which in unbootable..


Last edited by whalepirot on Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 27, 2014 6:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 5:18 am
Posts: 25
Location: Athens, Greece
I have recently installed the Kingspec 64GB on my X41 as it is the only straight and simple solution. I made a mirror of XP and it works O.K..There is improvement in the load time of XP and I have not tested it yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 1:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:34 pm
Posts: 29
Location: San Francisco, CA
I've been using a Samsung MZMPA064HMDR-000H1 64GB 1.8" SSD for almost a year, and am very satisfied with it. It's installed using a 3.3 V adapter from http://www.ebay.com/itm/PCI-E-MSATA-SSD ... OC:US:3160

It currently dual boots Windows XP and openSUSE 12.3. There have been no problems with its function so far.

Regards,
Howard

_________________
310ED, 600E, T23, X41, X60, T61


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:52 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 1:13 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Saanich B.C. Canada
See my new thread viewtopic.php?f=3&t=113895 for KingSpec 128GB into x41.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:54 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:48 pm
Posts: 362
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Just ordered a 32gb kingspec ssd and a 8 cell "chian" battery for my X41. I kinda miss the old bugger.

My previous msata config turned out to be *****Expletives removed by Moderator*****. XP wont isntall and its inhumanely slow, probably becuse the msata "SSD" i bought is not an SSD, only a cache drive.

_________________
Lenovo G580 | Intel i7-3612QM | Intel HD 4000 | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Intel 330 180GB | 6 cell | Windows 8 Pro x64 |
Thinkpad T43p 14" | PM 780@2.26 | ATI FireGL V3200 | SXGA+ | 2GB | 320GB 7200rpm | China 6 Cell | Windows 8 Pro x86 |


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:57 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Posts: 1718
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
WinXP doesn't do so good with SSDs, that's a combo I would personally avoid...

_________________
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/4*T400/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/7*X2xx/X200T/4*X30x/Z60m/Z61m/Z61p/Z61t


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 11:20 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:48 pm
Posts: 362
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Tasurinchi wrote:
WinXP doesn't do so good with SSDs, that's a combo I would personally avoid...


Works perfectly on my toughbook. Never had a single issue and as long as the partition is aligned and you're installing from a slipstreamed sp3 disc, you're good to go.

_________________
Lenovo G580 | Intel i7-3612QM | Intel HD 4000 | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Intel 330 180GB | 6 cell | Windows 8 Pro x64 |
Thinkpad T43p 14" | PM 780@2.26 | ATI FireGL V3200 | SXGA+ | 2GB | 320GB 7200rpm | China 6 Cell | Windows 8 Pro x86 |


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:53 pm
Posts: 24
Location: 92691
While not used daily, I like ii on mine, too, but use ccleaner, with no TRIM utility in XP.

I am considering installing a 240gB Intel 335 (with the SATA mod) in one, too, for a vehicle application. I just wish it had the touchscreen like the x61, etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 2:09 am
Posts: 2
Location: Sanremo - ITALY
Excuse me for the question, but reading all the posts about this matter I'll get a little bit confused, so I ask to the experts if this ssd hd works fine and if needs other hardware to run into my x41 or I've just to plug it and play?

http://www.ebay.it/itm/KingSpec-1-8-IDE ... 70a&_uhb=1


Thanks

Alessandro M. Sanremo (ITALY)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1083 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 33, 34, 35, 36, 37  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group