thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:47 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:04 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:22 pm
Posts: 142
Location: Milano-Lombardia-ITALIA
hallo, i have a X60 with mobile phone sim socket and i would improve my TP using it with a phone sim card like mc 8781 of sierra . i know that it allows me to use gps and voice.
my question is how can i do it?
i found on ebay mc8781 card but the sellers say that is not possible to use that card with a lenovo/ibm thinkpad...is it true? how i could use? what i have to see or ask before buying the card?
thankyou all!

_________________
PROUD OWNER OF IBM :
TP 340, 365, 750CS, 390 half destr.ed, 390E, 390Xrep.ing, A21E selling, A31 2,4gb upg, R50Erep.ing, R51p, T20 rep.ing, T21 rep.ing, T22, T23, T43 14"&15", X21 rep.ing, X22, X24, X30, X31, X41, X60
PS1, APTIVA, OPEN GL300


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 6:56 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 12900
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
You will need a modified BIOS, that has all the whitelists removed.
Get it e.g. here: http://www.usenetddl.com/files.php?q=X6 ... TAV134+zip
Then you can put in any wifi or Sierra or Gobi or whatever card.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 4:10 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:22 pm
Posts: 142
Location: Milano-Lombardia-ITALIA
RealBlackStuff wrote:
You will need a modified BIOS, that has all the whitelists removed.
Get it e.g. here: http://www.usenetddl.com/files.php?q=X6 ... TAV134+zip
Then you can put in any wifi or Sierra or Gobi or whatever card.

thankyou RBS!
:D
i've some new question more:
1)in the link that you wrote me, there are 4 file to download...which one i have to select?
2)i can choose every wifi card even if the seller writes that is not for lenovo/ibm? e.g. this one: http://www.ebay.it/itm/UNLOCKED-Sierra- ... 2488wt_877 ?
3) to use that card i have only to insert in the right slot and that's all? or i have to cover some pin as i red in some other thread?
thankyou so much..i'm not too much skillfull :oops:

_________________
PROUD OWNER OF IBM :
TP 340, 365, 750CS, 390 half destr.ed, 390E, 390Xrep.ing, A21E selling, A31 2,4gb upg, R50Erep.ing, R51p, T20 rep.ing, T21 rep.ing, T22, T23, T43 14"&15", X21 rep.ing, X22, X24, X30, X31, X41, X60
PS1, APTIVA, OPEN GL300


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 6:58 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 12900
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
1) It's the first file.
2) yes
3) Try first without. If it does not work, follow the instructions you found to cover a pin.
I have no experience with this at all.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:24 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 12:51 pm
Posts: 1522
OMNIBUS wrote:
... or i have to cover some pin ...?
You must cover Pin-20. Using the modified BIOS which eliminates the white-list simply bypasses the BIOS error at boot time, but as soon as that is done, the BIOS powers off the card via Pin-20, and thereafter the card is no longer "visible" to any operating system. By covering Pin-20 you inhibit the BIOS from powering off the card. Here is the location of Pin-20:
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/ ... wifi-card/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 3:18 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:59 am
Posts: 54
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
I bought the same MC8781 from that exact same eBay seller for my X61T and it works fine. I flashed Middleton BIOS though, there's no need to tape pin 20. Apparently these cards came from DELL machines, so when you boot to Windows, a DELL driver setup is going to pop up for the card. Just follow through the installation and everything will be OK.

_________________
IBM Thinkpad X61T | Intel L7700 @ 1.8Ghz | 12.1'' XGA | 2GB DDR2 | GMA965 | 60GB HDD | WinXP Tablet SP3


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group