thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:35 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 110 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2017 9:23 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Montclair, NJ
mdancer wrote:
Yep, I've got pc7 as well now. The nice thing about having pc7 is that the laptop is absolutely silent now
(finally!) during the usual work including watching video using vaapi.


I'm not exactly sure what you are doing here, regarding pc7 but im intrigued. Can you give me a bit of context as to what you are doing and how you made the laptop silent?

_________________
Past: A22M T61P X41T X200 X201
Present: X201 X220 X61s T420
Future: Upgrading the present!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:03 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:28 am
Posts: 100
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Looks like PC7 works in windows as well.

You have to update the Realtek GBe driver as the one built into Windows won't allow the PC7 state. I went with the latest from Realtek:
http://www.realtek.com/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=13&PFid=5&Level=5&Conn=4&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false

I also followed harryK's steps for BIOS settings:
Quote:
I enabled Aggressive LPM and DEVSLP in the BIOS (I used shorter intervals than the default), and activated SATA min_power in TLP.


Unfortunately the PC is not silent. Fan still turns on. However i need to update my BIOS to the latest and see if it differs.

_________________
X62s / SXGA+ Xiphmont / i7-5500u / Samsung 840 pro/ 16GB
T61 / QXGA IPS / 2.4GHz / 8GB


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:32 am
Posts: 36
Location: Moscow, RU
Hi folks!

I'm asking for assistance.
I'm trying to install a WLAN and a WWAN card into X62. So the idea is to have them both. However the WLAN card is not working
in the upper slot and the WWAN card is also not working in that slot. They are working in the bottom slot though...
So.. Any idea?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:27 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Posts: 382
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
whitelabel wrote:
Hi folks!

I'm asking for assistance.
I'm trying to install a WLAN and a WWAN card into X62. So the idea is to have them both. However the WLAN card is not working
in the upper slot and the WWAN card is also not working in that slot. They are working in the bottom slot though...
So.. Any idea?


it seems the upper slot is for msata only. I couldn't get any WWAN or WLAN to work from it.

_________________
X62 SXGA+ i7 5600u
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 quad-i7
X131e AMD
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7

in storage:
X61T Touch L7500
X61T SXGA+ 8GB
X60/X60s, X61, T61, T420, X30

past:
X24, X23, X22, X21, X20, 390X


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:32 am
Posts: 36
Location: Moscow, RU
dmdsoftware wrote:
whitelabel wrote:
Hi folks!

I'm asking for assistance.
I'm trying to install a WLAN and a WWAN card into X62. So the idea is to have them both. However the WLAN card is not working
in the upper slot and the WWAN card is also not working in that slot. They are working in the bottom slot though...
So.. Any idea?


it seems the upper slot is for msata only. I couldn't get any WWAN or WLAN to work from it.



Thanks for your reply!
Dammit! What a huge disappointment! I really thought that I can have them both..
Looks like there is no X62 for me anymore.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:34 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Posts: 382
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
whitelabel wrote:
dmdsoftware wrote:

it seems the upper slot is for msata only. I couldn't get any WWAN or WLAN to work from it.



Thanks for your reply!
Dammit! What a huge disappointment! I really thought that I can have them both..
Looks like there is no X62 for me anymore.



unless there is some trick / mod to get the card to work.

My T420/W520 can accept either a msata or WWAN in the second slot.

I didn't deep-dive into the Bios when I tested and failed to get it working. There may be some kind of toggle.

_________________
X62 SXGA+ i7 5600u
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 quad-i7
X131e AMD
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7

in storage:
X61T Touch L7500
X61T SXGA+ 8GB
X60/X60s, X61, T61, T420, X30

past:
X24, X23, X22, X21, X20, 390X


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:32 am
Posts: 36
Location: Moscow, RU
dmdsoftware wrote:
whitelabel wrote:


Thanks for your reply!
Dammit! What a huge disappointment! I really thought that I can have them both..
Looks like there is no X62 for me anymore.



unless there is some trick / mod to get the card to work.

My T420/W520 can accept either a msata or WWAN in the second slot.

I didn't deep-dive into the Bios when I tested and failed to get it working. There may be some kind of toggle.



I see. Thanks for sharing this.
My W520/X220 is also working fine with this pair, but it seems like our Chinese colleagues did not implemented this feature.
What a waste! This mobo is gorgeous. And with a LED mod from Monty this laptop turns into a small and powerful beast.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:09 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:42 pm
Posts: 245
Location: Bay Area (Berkeley) , California
With the spare internal USB port, you can probably fit one of those WWAN-Adapter things next to the sound board and have both.
Seems to lack a 2nd true mPCIe lane though, which is sad.

R


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:10 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Posts: 382
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
whitelabel wrote:
dmdsoftware wrote:


unless there is some trick / mod to get the card to work.

My T420/W520 can accept either a msata or WWAN in the second slot.

I didn't deep-dive into the Bios when I tested and failed to get it working. There may be some kind of toggle.



I see. Thanks for sharing this.
My W520/X220 is also working fine with this pair, but it seems like our Chinese colleagues did not implemented this feature.
What a waste! This mobo is gorgeous. And with a LED mod from Monty this laptop turns into a small and powerful beast.


Which screen panel are you using the LED mod on? (XGA? SXGA+ IPS? SXGA+-from-tablet? or panel provided with X62?) I just got 2 LED mod kits shipped from Monty.

_________________
X62 SXGA+ i7 5600u
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 quad-i7
X131e AMD
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7

in storage:
X61T Touch L7500
X61T SXGA+ 8GB
X60/X60s, X61, T61, T420, X30

past:
X24, X23, X22, X21, X20, 390X


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:13 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:24 pm
Posts: 382
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
flyingfishfinger wrote:
With the spare internal USB port, you can probably fit one of those WWAN-Adapter things next to the sound board and have both.
Seems to lack a 2nd true mPCIe lane though, which is sad.

R


I wish more motherboards had internal USB. On a particular ultrabook, I ripped out the keyboard and replaced it with a Thinkpad keyboard + usb converter, but I had to wire it to one of the external USB ports. Would have been an ideal mod had it been to an internal connector.

_________________
X62 SXGA+ i7 5600u
Carbon X1 i5 UHD
W520 quad-i7
X131e AMD
Sony Vaio P799 (8" LED 1600x768)
"Think" Ultrabook i7

in storage:
X61T Touch L7500
X61T SXGA+ 8GB
X60/X60s, X61, T61, T420, X30

past:
X24, X23, X22, X21, X20, 390X


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:23 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:42 pm
Posts: 245
Location: Bay Area (Berkeley) , California
X62 does have an internal USB port, it's by the fan


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:32 am
Posts: 36
Location: Moscow, RU
I'm using SXGA -100 panel which was upgraded with the daylight kit from Monty. Can go working on a direct sunlight. No problem with it.

Funny thing, but I'm not able to use my WWAN modem in the bottom slot. I just got some cheap SIM card holder with a bus line which should
be connected to the mpcie slot simultaneously with the modem. And no SIM is found...


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:44 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:42 pm
Posts: 245
Location: Bay Area (Berkeley) , California
I've got a combination BT + Wifi working fine, meaning that the PCIe lane and USB both seem to be wired through correctly. AFAIK the WWAN cards tend to be USB, so they should work...

In other news, I'm running an Apple Cinema over miniDP at 2560x1440 right now and it works great, no issues :)

R


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 8:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:32 am
Posts: 36
Location: Moscow, RU
Hi everybody!

I just got some interesting information from Jacky. He's always helpful. And I hope that I can share it with you.
He said that there's an internal USB port. Check this pic: http://funkyimg.com/i/2rAUn.png (Size: 1.31 MB)
I'm thinking about this option. Seems like I can solder my mini pcie-to-usb wwan converter to this internal port.
And hide this thingy inside the laptop.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:57 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:42 pm
Posts: 245
Location: Bay Area (Berkeley) , California
As I said 8)

In fact, it's the same plug that the fingerprint reader in the X61t lid uses, it was just discussed over on the German forum where someone used it to hide a small internal hub / mouse transmitter

R


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:32 am
Posts: 36
Location: Moscow, RU
Hey hey!

Just wanted to let you know that it's absolutely possible to fix the upper mini pcie slot (MSATA) by manually
providing it with some pins from the internal usb port. I've asked my friend to help me with this task. And he succeeded. 2 hours work.
Right now my upper mpcie slot has the LTE-A modem (with the SIM holder) in it. Glorious thing.
No need to find the place to hide that monstrous USB-to-MiniPCIE converter.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:43 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:28 am
Posts: 100
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
whitelabel wrote:
Hey hey!
Right now my upper mpcie slot has the LTE-A modem (with the SIM holder) in it.


Nice job!

Do you have a modem with a sim holder on it, or did you attach it somewhere else? Which modem are you using?

_________________
X62s / SXGA+ Xiphmont / i7-5500u / Samsung 840 pro/ 16GB
T61 / QXGA IPS / 2.4GHz / 8GB


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 11:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:32 am
Posts: 36
Location: Moscow, RU
andykrej wrote:
whitelabel wrote:
Hey hey!
Right now my upper mpcie slot has the LTE-A modem (with the SIM holder) in it.


Nice job!

Do you have a modem with a sim holder on it, or did you attach it somewhere else? Which modem are you using?


Hi!

I'm using Sierra MC7455 with this external SIM holder:
(_http://www.ebay.com/itm/Usim-sim-card-socket-slot-solderless-holder-For-mini-pci-e-module-3G-WWAN-Modem-/391659521304)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 12:48 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:28 am
Posts: 100
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
whitelabel wrote:
I'm using Sierra MC7455 with this external SIM holder:
(_http://www.ebay.com/itm/Usim-sim-card-socket-slot-solderless-holder-For-mini-pci-e-module-3G-WWAN-Modem-/391659521304)


Thanks. Do you know which pins where connected? Is it enough with just two cables to pin 36&38? They're called usb d+ and usb d- in the specs.

_________________
X62s / SXGA+ Xiphmont / i7-5500u / Samsung 840 pro/ 16GB
T61 / QXGA IPS / 2.4GHz / 8GB


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:32 am
Posts: 36
Location: Moscow, RU
andykrej wrote:
whitelabel wrote:
I'm using Sierra MC7455 with this external SIM holder:
(_http://www.ebay.com/itm/Usim-sim-card-socket-slot-solderless-holder-For-mini-pci-e-module-3G-WWAN-Modem-/391659521304)


Thanks. Do you know which pins where connected? Is it enough with just two cables to pin 36&38? They're called usb d+ and usb d- in the specs.


Hi!

Yes, you only need D- and D+ from that internal USB port.
As for the mini pcie slot pinout assignment - it has the standard pinout, just google it.
And here's the pinout for the internal USB port: 5V/D-/D+/GND with GND being the closest to the fan connector.
Also you might face some strange problem when the modem is still not recognized by the OS. In that case you can ask me
and I'll provide you with my BIOS settings. I'm just not sure about the reason of this issue. And I hope you won't face it and
your modem will be working without any additional steps.

HTH


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 110 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited