thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:46 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 350 posts ]  Go to page Previous 18 9 10 11 12 Next

Would you pay $54 for such kit for X220T/X230T?
Yes 88%  88%  [ 67 ]
No 12%  12%  [ 9 ]
Total votes: 76
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 8:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:31 pm
Posts: 25
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
mito wrote:
agarza wrote:
Hi nitro.

I'm definitely interested in getting one kit from you, I just came late to this thread.
It would be nice to get a notification once you will start or decide to provision more kits.

Thanks


I preordered one kit, but I'm willing to spare it for you. If nitrocaster agrees, he can reallocate my kit to you.



If Agarza would pass, I'd take it off your hands if possible


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:41 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Long Bach, CA
Hi I am interested in a kit as I just damaged my screen :(

Has the adjustable screen brightness issue (bios flash) thing been resolved?

Do I need to trim my bezel if I just buy the screen linked (does not sound like it).

If I can't get this upgrade I might be interested in buying someones X220 IPS screen if they are ditching a perfectly working screen.

3rd buy happening soon?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 5:56 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Posts: 373
Location: Moscow, Russia
Just read the first post.

_________________
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:19 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Long Bach, CA
nitrocaster wrote:
Just read the first post.

Oh I did read it, are you saying I'm too late? If so, I may as well just order the $80 factory replacement screen? Screen is still working just damaged, so I don't mind the wait unless you don't think there will a 3rd run. In which case I am thinking I may just buy a new laptop, or fix the screen, but $80 is kinda of expensive for a $200 machine if your not upgrading it. My Past experience with laptop repairs is telling me it may be time to just buy a new one.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:32 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Posts: 373
Location: Moscow, Russia
There definitely will be 3rd run. In the mean time, you can get a temporary replacement display (with white spots or dead pixels for cheap) or sell your machine and buy another one.

_________________
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 2:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:58 am
Posts: 5
Location: Toronto, Canada
Hi, just registered to vote for the X220T/X230T version!

Is there an ETA for this?

Thanks nitrocaster!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 5:26 pm
Posts: 15
Location: San Francisco, CA
Hey! March 15 is a couple of days away now. How are we looking now? Any updates for us?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:26 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Posts: 373
Location: Moscow, Russia
We're looking good except that I still have not received the fuses. I couldn't find required fuses here in Moscow, so I ordered them from China. Now it's time for China Post to troll us: 20 days have passed and there's no tracking update so far.

_________________
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 5:26 pm
Posts: 15
Location: San Francisco, CA
Sounds about right. If needed, I can have a well-connected (if you catch my drift) friend in the mainland help track it down for you? PM me your tracking number.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 12:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:58 am
Posts: 5
Location: Toronto, Canada
nitrocaster wrote:
Attached a poll on X220T/X230T. If there would be enough interest I'll do the business.


Are you doing the tablet version?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:48 am
Posts: 2
Location: Graz, Austria
because my X230 just broke and I'll probably buy a newer notebook, I don't need my reserved kit

if its ok for nitrocaster, I'll pass it to someone else :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 4:30 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:58 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Montclair, NJ
who wrote:
because my X230 just broke and I'll probably buy a newer notebook, I don't need my reserved kit

if its ok for nitrocaster, I'll pass it to someone else :D

Ill take it

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

_________________
Past: A22M T61P X41T X200 X201
Present: X201 X220 X61s T420
Future: Upgrading the present!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 5:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Quebec, Canada
nitrocaster wrote:
I still have not received the fuses.

I'll take mine without a fuse please :lol:


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:58 am
Posts: 5
Location: Toronto, Canada
who wrote:
because my X230 just broke and I'll probably buy a newer notebook, I don't need my reserved kit

if its ok for nitrocaster, I'll pass it to someone else :D


I'll take it too :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:46 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Long Bach, CA
mystery905 wrote:
who wrote:
because my X230 just broke and I'll probably buy a newer notebook, I don't need my reserved kit

if its ok for nitrocaster, I'll pass it to someone else :D


I'll take it too :)


3rd in line hah.

Looking forward to batch three. Can't wait to get rid of my booboo.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 5:23 am
Posts: 2
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
So, any chance to get this for X220 tablet? How many touch points will the modded display have, if it's possible?

Quote:
Probably no. Replacing the LCD is too tricky, because it's glued to the protective glass.


Do you have the outdoor viewing screen with gorilla glass, or the multitouch display?
I opened up my X220 tablet's screen (multi touch), and it wasn't glued to the front touch digitizer (not even sure its glass). it was just attached with some double-sided adhesive tape along the sides. I'm guessing you must have gotten the gorilla glass one then?

The wacom pen digitizer film was attached adhesively to the back of the screen, and the metal screen backing was cut out nearly to the edges of the screen, so that the signal could get through. I guess either a screen without metal backing or a modification to a screen to cut out or remove the metal would be needed.

I'm interested in upgrading mine to QHD, and would purchase a kit for that if you make a QHD version for the x220 tablet


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:34 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Philadelphia, PA
recyclojunk64 wrote:
Quote:
So, any chance to get this for X220 tablet? How many touch points will the modded display have, if it's possible?

Quote:
Probably no. Replacing the LCD is too tricky, because it's glued to the protective glass.


Do you have the outdoor viewing screen with gorilla glass, or the multitouch display?
I opened up my X220 tablet's screen (multi touch), and it wasn't glued to the front touch digitizer (not even sure its glass). it was just attached with some double-sided adhesive tape along the sides. I'm guessing you must have gotten the gorilla glass one then?

The wacom pen digitizer film was attached adhesively to the back of the screen, and the metal screen backing was cut out nearly to the edges of the screen, so that the signal could get through. I guess either a screen without metal backing or a modification to a screen to cut out or remove the metal would be needed.

I'm interested in upgrading mine to QHD, and would purchase a kit for that if you make a QHD version for the x220 tablet


I'm keeping on eye on this thread, but if it's possible to mod a better resolution screen onto the x220t tablet without losing touchscreen + pen functionality, I'm buying. :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:09 pm
Posts: 8
Location: McHenry, IL
I'm in for the third run. Thank goodness I finally found this thread, I was prepared to do some awful things to my X220T. Also, some people on this thread have asked if the upgrade is compatible with the tablet versions and gotten a "no." What about the upgrade makes it incompatible? Is it the pinout of the motherboard or the free space of the casing?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:56 am 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 17259
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
The screen in the X220T/X230T is the problem.
AFAIK there's no FHD for the tablet models.
Also, the LCD-cables are quite different between standard and tablet.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:09 pm
Posts: 8
Location: McHenry, IL
RealBlackStuff wrote:
The screen in the X220T/X230T is the problem.
AFAIK there's no FHD for the tablet models.
Also, the LCD-cables are quite different between standard and tablet.


I'd trade digitizer functionality for a couple million pixels any day, I'm also willing to do just about anything to the casement. I'm unable to find documentation on how the connectors are different on the two models, do you happen to know? EDIT: The difference in the cables looks like support for the digitzer.

Image
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 8:17 am
Posts: 1
Location: East Lansing, Michigan
I'm hoping to hear about the third run before they sell out...

Any chance you will opensource the design once you're done selling them?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:56 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Durham, UK
Hi,
I am using my X230 with your mod and the Mini Dock Series 3.
Can you please update the manual to enable the internal display when in docking mode?

Cheers


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 7:30 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Ireland
I could be wrong, but i think the whole point is that the new FHD screen IS your docked output, so you lose the ability to dock by using the kit. I'm open to correction on that, but that's the understanding i got. :)

inq wrote:
Hi,
I am using my X230 with your mod and the Mini Dock Series 3.
Can you please update the manual to enable the internal display when in docking mode?

Cheers

_________________
I like to mod stuff...
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:24 am
Posts: 2
Location: Dnipro, Ukraine
Found this on Taobao:
http://taobao.ua/p/0U3FO9aCKdQba

But didn't found any info about this on youtube or somewhere else (except chinesse forum).

What do you think?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:23 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Posts: 2001
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Interesting! Would be nice to know if this requires soldering... :wink:

_________________
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 4:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 4:55 am
Posts: 45
Location: Manchester, UK
Tasurinchi wrote:
Interesting! Would be nice to know if this requires soldering... :wink:

Probably. AFAIK they are only selling complete machines (and are usually overloaded with orders). Also, the last time I checked the screen is glossy not matte (which was a no-no for me).


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:48 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Posts: 373
Location: Moscow, Russia
jbliss1 wrote:
I'm hoping to hear about the third run before they sell out...

Any chance you will opensource the design once you're done selling them?

I'll announce the third batch here, so you'll be able to sign up.
As I mentioned, releasing a project that was not open-source from the very beginning is something that would take an effort.

_________________
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:02 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Posts: 373
Location: Moscow, Russia
recyclojunk64 wrote:
Do you have the outdoor viewing screen with gorilla glass, or the multitouch display?
I opened up my X220 tablet's screen (multi touch), and it wasn't glued to the front touch digitizer (not even sure its glass). it was just attached with some double-sided adhesive tape along the sides. I'm guessing you must have gotten the gorilla glass one then?

The wacom pen digitizer film was attached adhesively to the back of the screen, and the metal screen backing was cut out nearly to the edges of the screen, so that the signal could get through. I guess either a screen without metal backing or a modification to a screen to cut out or remove the metal would be needed.

I'm interested in upgrading mine to QHD, and would purchase a kit for that if you make a QHD version for the x220 tablet

If that's true, I could take an attempt to make a prototype. In tablet versions of X220/X230 LCD cable is combined with the camera cable. Since I'll be using standard eDP cable, camera cable would have to be separated from the combined cable and connected to the adapter board. Anyway, I would need to get a working tablet to design and test the kit. If you want it right now - use plain X220/X230.

_________________
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:05 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Posts: 373
Location: Moscow, Russia
TankPad wrote:
I could be wrong, but i think the whole point is that the new FHD screen IS your docked output, so you lose the ability to dock by using the kit. I'm open to correction on that, but that's the understanding i got. :)

Wrong. You can always dock with single DP station and you can also dock with double DP station after you tape certain pins inside the docking connector. The manual has to be updated on that, as inq mentioned.

_________________
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Quebec, Canada
I noticed some weird behaviour using the battery slab. No picture in bios when plugged on boot, lose image in Windows when inserted. It does work in Debian though, both from boot & inserted. Tried changing the default display in bios, same result. Is the fix just covering all the DOCKB_* pins (every odd pin 69-105) ?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 350 posts ]  Go to page Previous 18 9 10 11 12 Next

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited