thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:51 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 212 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 8 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:50 am
Posts: 2
Location: Austin, Texas
I ordered one myself, look forward to trying it out. I looked though the thread and saw that laptopscreens.com usually offer compatible but not the best screens. Any one have any recommendations for panel dealers?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:30 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Lisbon Portugal
Wainwright wrote:
RMSMajestic wrote:
the kits for non-s T420/T430 will be out, but special terms might apply, which I will open another thread later.


Yay, been waiting for this for so long I'm overjoyed~ Just hoping I meet whatever special terms...

One question! I'm guessing the non-s T420 FHD kit is also by Javi, is this a new design that fixes the flickering problem? It would be awesome if it does. I know there's one by kingkonglue but I don't want to sacrifice the DP port...


I can sacrifice the DP port... I think that is better to sacrifice the DP port than sacrifice the T430 for one Laptop with FHD :-\ ... I was searching for kingkonglue and found his Kit, but did not found where to buy it :-\ do you know where can we buy it @Wainwright ?

It is strange that one laptop with DP does not accept FHD :-\ ... so we have two options, buy an external FHD monitor and carry around with it or change the laptop :-|


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 8:15 am
Posts: 2
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Hi everyone

You will have to forgive my ignorance as I am a newcomer to this forum and thread. I am looking to upgrade a T430s to a 1080p screen using the upgrade kit. I have two main questions:

    1) Are you still shipping kits? And if so, will you ship to Australia? I'm happy to pay extra for postage; and

    2) Is there a recommended model of display? I'm trying to source one locally here but I may have to order one from Amazon - I noted that there were some issues with genuine displays and wanted to try to avoid those issues, but it is quite difficult given that some sllers are not available here in Australia.

Thanks very much

tastysmores


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 10:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:47 am
Posts: 7
Location: Brisbane, Australia
tastysmores wrote:
...
    1) Are you still shipping kits? And if so, will you ship to Australia? I'm happy to pay extra for postage; and

    2) Is there a recommended model of display? I'm trying to source one locally here but I may have to order one from Amazon - I noted that there were some issues with genuine displays and wanted to try to avoid those issues, but it is quite difficult given that some sllers are not available here in Australia.

Thanks very much

tastysmores


I got 2 of these kits mailed to Australia, and the shipping included in the purchase link covered shipping.

I ordered a "auo B140HAN01.3" from APAC Computers' Ebay store. It is genuine, and looks great. See APAC's compatible screens at: http://stores.ebay.com.au/APAC-Notebooks-Parts-and-Repairs/_i.html?_nkw=B140HAN01&submit=Search&_sid=202494686

You might want to PM RMSMajestic to ask if the deal is still on, unless you just want to click on the purchase link on in the first post of this thread.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 5:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 8:15 am
Posts: 2
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Absolute legend thanks so much!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 6:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 6:00 am
Posts: 7
Location: London, United Kingdom
Can confirm I have received the upgrade Kit today.

Now to start looking for a screen!

Thanks heaps RMSMajestic


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 11:04 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:25 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Another confirmation (from Canada) that I just received the kit yesterday - thx RMSMajestic!!

My screen is also on the way - I bought another used pulled Dell E7440 screen AUO B140HAN01.3....US seller is in the link and has good feedback. Seller confirmed this is OEM authentic..looks like he has 1 screen left...

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/371866163423?_tr ... EBIDX%3AIT


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 3:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 6:00 am
Posts: 7
Location: London, United Kingdom
I've been looking for some screens and a vendor has got back to me with the following:

Quote:
We do have exact B140HAN01.2 in stock, but ours are H/W:0A meaning they are HP original parts....the brightness control will not work as it should....
I am getting some 00HT622 / B140HAN01.2 H/W:1A in next week which will work correctly for Lenovo if you have one and need this specific part number


Does anybody know if the difference between the H/W:0A and H/W:1A make a difference using in the T430s with the upgrade mod?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 7:59 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:25 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
TheIntermediate wrote:
I've been looking for some screens and a vendor has got back to me with the following:

Quote:
We do have exact B140HAN01.2 in stock, but ours are H/W:0A meaning they are HP original parts....the brightness control will not work as it should....
I am getting some 00HT622 / B140HAN01.2 H/W:1A in next week which will work correctly for Lenovo if you have one and need this specific part number


Does anybody know if the difference between the H/W:0A and H/W:1A make a difference using in the T430s with the upgrade mod?


This is just based on what the seller replied back to you but looks like FN+ Home and End brightness controls won't work with the 0A panel?

I just checked all 3 panels I purchased and they are all H/W:1A....originally Dell panels..

And I can confirm the brightness works on the 1A panels..

Apologies, not much help but just sharing my personal experiences...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:03 am
Posts: 4
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
TheIntermediate wrote:
I've been looking for some screens and a vendor has got back to me with the following:

Quote:
We do have exact B140HAN01.2 in stock, but ours are H/W:0A meaning they are HP original parts....the brightness control will not work as it should....
I am getting some 00HT622 / B140HAN01.2 H/W:1A in next week which will work correctly for Lenovo if you have one and need this specific part number


Does anybody know if the difference between the H/W:0A and H/W:1A make a difference using in the T430s with the upgrade mod?


I have a genuine H/W: 0A in my T420 (non-s) and the brightness control works ok, however it's not branded as IBM/Dell/HP/etc.

PS: @ RMSMajestic : any chance for getting some (improved) non-s kits any time in future ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:47 am
Posts: 7
Location: Brisbane, Australia
tastysmores wrote:
Absolute legend thanks so much!


No worries. Hope it all goes smoothly - it's an amazing improvement to the standard screen.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:44 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Sydney, Australia
TheIntermediate wrote:
I've been looking for some screens and a vendor has got back to me with the following:

Quote:
We do have exact B140HAN01.2 in stock, but ours are H/W:0A meaning they are HP original parts....the brightness control will not work as it should....
I am getting some 00HT622 / B140HAN01.2 H/W:1A in next week which will work correctly for Lenovo if you have one and need this specific part number


Does anybody know if the difference between the H/W:0A and H/W:1A make a difference using in the T430s with the upgrade mod?


I have just installed a B140HAN01.2 HW 0A FW 1 purchased from a UK ebay vendor into a T430s, the brightness control works for me. The ebay listing did state the screen would not work on a Lenovo machine, however the listing was for a B140HAN01.1


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 7:31 am
Posts: 7
Location: Cologne Germany
hey guys I have got a big problem
Because my screen is still not working properly, I have tried to find out what it is.
Thereby I have all contacts checked and switched the screens back and forth.
Once I then forgot to disconnect the power connector and when I switched on the laptop the picture was in a very bad graphic, shortly thereafter the backlighting was gone.
External monitors are still working.
I wanted to short circuit the f7 fuse. But before I measured this however and it is on both sides about of 10V and the through test was successful.
Now I am unsure whether it is really the f7 fuse.


I really need help.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:52 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
I just got my T420s kit in the mail. Now just have to wait for the screen to arrive. :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2016 6:16 am
Posts: 4
Location: Moscow, Russia
Hi everyone!

Finally I got 3 kits, 3 displays and took the time to assemble. I check all kits and all displays, and you know what? - Everything works is amazing!!! Thank you very very much dear RMSMajestic! The fact that you did is truly epic! Thank you for your work, quick responses and for all your recommendations :) My friends are delighted and say Thank You and wish you Good Luck in all your endeavors!

What I had before the update:

My favorite ThinkPad T420s and ugly default display. Please look at the photos.
http://radikal.ru/big/dxxebha2l09fm
http://radikal.ru/big/uutybatfxcgou
http://radikal.ru/big/wx4m6ke6ehsar
http://radikal.ru/big/zuk9qzn4h3gzy
http://radikal.ru/big/jyimx067dj2l9
http://radikal.ru/big/ihsuxl4n99xtl
http://radikal.ru/big/xtmm9n1vzszkb

Image

Image

Image

After a lot of thinking and talking with different sellers on ebay, I made a decision and ordered 3 displays at once. eBay seller - browngranite

Displays is coming :)
http://radikal.ru/big/22lp09j3eweab
http://radikal.ru/big/2w5nwhoxpzhwh

Absolutely new displays! No dead pixels. The backlight is uniform. No highlights were found. Magnificent viewing angles. Trully on one of the displays in the corner a barely noticeable whiteness, but I made an effort to find whiteness. In Overall it's a nitpick. Brightness is adjusted without problems. Displays is amazing! Please look!
http://radikal.ru/big/rwjanbvxotck3
http://radikal.ru/big/myk4hxdltu718
http://radikal.ru/big/rd3rictikjq9o
http://radikal.ru/big/gdlpqc1phstbe
http://radikal.ru/big/sv0lfv40ky1ir
http://radikal.ru/big/tjckn6c3x5e2i

Image

Image

Image

Everything is very good and I am very satisfied!

But... One more thing. It seems that I have very high requirements for the displayed picture. I pay attention to the little "crystall effect". Perhaps this is the feature of all matte displays or the general AUO feature of this model or the feature of my own displays, I do not know.

Guys, please understand me correct, I can not say with absolute certainty that these are original displays. Unfortunately I have nothing to compare them with.

Overall, I'm and my friends, happy ThinkPad T420s owners, is really happy and very glad! :)

Thanks a lot for this opportunity! It's really awesome!


I hope I did not break the rules by posting so many photos. Please correct my message if it breaks the rules. Thank you.


Best, Oleg

_________________
T420s i7-2640M, AUO B140HAN01.3, 16GB CMSX8GX3M1A1600C10, NVS 4200M, Plextor PX-128M6Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:27 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:25 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
^ looks good OlegT

Night and day with the IPS displays....absolute terrible that Lenovo is able to get away selling such bad panels on the T4XX series laptops..

Such a shame

And I know what you mean about "crystal" effects...I also don't know if it is the matte display or just the AUO panels...

I was tempted to try a glossy panel (the 2 I have are matte as well) but couldn't find a glossy panel to try...

Plus the only glossy panel in my house is my wife's 2014 Macbook Pro...might not be a fair comparison...the apple displays are just gorgeous..


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:35 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Ireland
Hey guys, are there any more kits available for the T430s?

I see there's mention of waiting for WQHD but that might be a bit over kill for what i need. I just picked up a bargain T430s to replace my daily driver T420, as FHD seems unlikely for that.

Cheers. :)

_________________
I like to mod stuff...
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 2:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 2:45 am
Posts: 1
Location: Sakhalin, Russia
I join the waiting for the upgrade kit


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 6:41 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:23 pm
Posts: 91
Location: Regina, Canada
After using the 1.3 display for a bit, it's hard to go back to my T61 and it's TN panel. :(

Definitely no regrets on doing this mod at all.

_________________
T61 14.1 WXGA+ 220nit, T9300, Owl blade fan cooler, 8GB PC2-6400, 2010 revised NVS140M, Samsung 840Pro 240GB, AR9390 N, BT4.1, NMB keyboard, T400 palm-rest, 33++ battery.

T420s 14.0 HD+, i7-2460M, 16GB PC3L-12800, NVS4200M, Samsung 850Pro 512GB, Intel 7260AC, BT4.1, Chicony KB, 81+ battery


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:57 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:25 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Happy to report that I did another T420s IPS mod this weekend...thx again RMSMajestic for sending the kit timely...

Picked up a great deal on a T420s with a dead screen on Kijiji...got the mod kit and the panel from fleabay (used pull Dell E7440 screen - this one is flawless)....

Somehow mucked up the wireless card antennas, perhaps something was being pinched and I had to disassemble the laptop, take palmrest and screen bezel (what a pita)....

Now eveything is working well...only thing is the current palmrest is in bad shape..will probably need to disassemble again to swap it out......

Looks great though....anxiously waiting the WQHD kits....will keep my eye out for a bargain T430s for that one....


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 2:31 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Ireland
Hey RMSMajestic,

Can you post a link to your eBay again? I've seen it somewhere before but can't find it in this thread. Thanks.

_________________
I like to mod stuff...
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 9:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Posts: 575
Location: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Screen News!!!!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/172590765188

This seller is selling genuine, I got 5 of those from him for $150 and all seemed to be good genuine B140HAN01.2 pulled from HP laptops!!!
Recommended. Grab one before he rise the price again!!!!!

Also better to be safe, please remember to add a msg saying that you want the exact screen model

_________________
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.


Last edited by RMSMajestic on Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 4:23 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA
Thank you for sharing RMSMajestic. I just pick one up for $34.99 + shipping by submitting a Offer. Now I just really really really need an upgrade kit ;)

Is the pre-order period really closed?
I notice that Post #1 has the details cross out.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Posts: 575
Location: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
louieman1 wrote:
Thank you for sharing RMSMajestic. I just pick one up for $34.99 + shipping by submitting a Offer. Now I just really really really need an upgrade kit ;)

Is the pre-order period really closed?
I notice that Post #1 has the details cross out.


Yes.... now I only have one kit supposed to be returned to me in the next few days.
the last batch of FHD kits will come with the WQHD kits

_________________
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 3:20 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Posts: 1635
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India
RMSMajestic wrote:
louieman1 wrote:
Thank you for sharing RMSMajestic. I just pick one up for $34.99 + shipping by submitting a Offer. Now I just really really really need an upgrade kit ;)

Is the pre-order period really closed?
I notice that Post #1 has the details cross out.


Yes.... now I only have one kit supposed to be returned to me in the next few days.
the last batch of FHD kits will come with the WQHD kits


How/ when can I order a WQHD kit?

_________________
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:18 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Posts: 1635
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India
RMSMajestic wrote:
louieman1 wrote:
Thank you for sharing RMSMajestic. I just pick one up for $34.99 + shipping by submitting a Offer. Now I just really really really need an upgrade kit ;)

Is the pre-order period really closed?
I notice that Post #1 has the details cross out.


Yes.... now I only have one kit supposed to be returned to me in the next few days.
the last batch of FHD kits will come with the WQHD kits


Looking forward to the WQHD kits

_________________
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:41 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:25 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
RMSMajestic wrote:
Screen News!!!!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/172590765188

This seller is selling genuine, I got 5 of those from him for $150 and all seemed to be good genuine B140HAN01.2 pulled from HP laptops!!!
Recommended. Grab one before he rise the price again!!!!!

Also better to be safe, please remember to add a msg saying that you want the exact screen model


Wow...that's a fantastic price! I paid 3x that price for 1 screen....darn!

Ah well, not sure if I should pick another one....lol....don't need it...haha.

Thx for sharing RMSMajestic!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:08 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Ireland
RMSMajestic wrote:
Screen News!!!!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/172590765188

This seller is selling genuine, I got 5 of those from him for $150 and all seemed to be good genuine B140HAN01.2 pulled from HP laptops!!!
Recommended. Grab one before he rise the price again!!!!!

Also better to be safe, please remember to add a msg saying that you want the exact screen model


Great find. I'm gonna order one now. Thanks. :thumbs-UP:

_________________
I like to mod stuff...
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:03 am
Posts: 7
Location: San Antonio, TX
RMSMajestic wrote:
Screen News!!!!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/172590765188

This seller is selling genuine, I got 5 of those from him for $150 and all seemed to be good genuine B140HAN01.2 pulled from HP laptops!!!
Recommended. Grab one before he rise the price again!!!!!

Also better to be safe, please remember to add a msg saying that you want the exact screen model


Just picked one of these bad boys up last night. Looking forward to getting this upgrade complete!

Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 8:10 am
Posts: 4
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
RMSMajestic wrote:
Screen News!!!!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/172590765188

This seller is selling genuine, I got 5 of those from him for $150 and all seemed to be good genuine B140HAN01.2 pulled from HP laptops!!!
Recommended. Grab one before he rise the price again!!!!!

Also better to be safe, please remember to add a msg saying that you want the exact screen model


Were all of them IPS? I thought all B140HAN01.2 were IPS and I'm curious why does the seller say SVA...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 212 posts ]  Go to page Previous 14 5 6 7 8 Next

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited