thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:33 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:54 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Athens, Greece
Hello,

I have a thinkpad L420. i5 2520M with a clean installation of Windows 10 Pro and the latest BIOS. I have installed the audio driver, hotkey driver and communications utility driver and everything works (mute button included), except for the mute button light. Whenever I press it it toggles between sound and mute but the light stays unchanged. And by unchanged I mean that if I press it during boot-up it will light up and stay lit when I log into windows, and if I press it again during boot-up it stays off. This is frustrating for me, please help.

Note: I don't remember the exact sequence by which I installed the drivers.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Posts: 502
Location: Hudson, New Hampshire
You might need to install an older version of the driver for Windows 10. Try version 3.87 from the list at the bottom of this page: http://pcsupport.lenovo.com/us/en/produ ... s/DS014985

I hope you are running an SSD because Windows 10 is really slow on normal hard drives.

_________________
Aaron the Thinkpad Addict. Currently supporting:
IBM R50p lenovo Z60m, X60s, X200, T500

Enable advanced features on older Synaptics touchpads with the registry: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 5:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:54 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Athens, Greece
I run conventional hdd and it works fine for me. Do I have to uninstall the previous driver and reboot? Please guide me through because I want to cover all my bases.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 5:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:54 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Athens, Greece
Version 3.01 did the trick. I had to go top to bottom after version 3.86 failed to work. Is there a way to disable the on screen volume display, it being redundant and all?

Update: I'm not marking it as solved due to the brightness setting being stuck to 100%


Last edited by razoreater on Sun Apr 16, 2017 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 5:51 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Posts: 502
Location: Hudson, New Hampshire
Yes under Display Adapter Properties. Get there by right clicking on desktop, Screen Resolution, find the "Advanced Settings" button and get to the On screen Display Tab. Then uncheck the "Enable on-screen display" check box.

_________________
Aaron the Thinkpad Addict. Currently supporting:
IBM R50p lenovo Z60m, X60s, X200, T500

Enable advanced features on older Synaptics touchpads with the registry: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 6:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:54 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Athens, Greece
Done but brightness still cannot be controlled via the function keys. I tried uninstalling my monitor in device manager and reinstalling the graphics driver but nothing changed. Hotkey driver is currently 3.7.0001.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:54 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Athens, Greece
Tried almost every hotkey driver version and it seems that you have to choose between the mute light and functional brightness controls. This is kinda terrible. :(


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 1:54 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Athens, Greece
Still if anyone knows some kind of hack or trick to get it to work please help.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:29 am 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 17259
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
You probably don't want to hear this, but IMHO your best solution is to dump Windows 10.
Either go back to W7 or dump Micro$haft altogether and switch over to Linux.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.
And don't forget the Motherboards! Refreshing webpages is advised!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited