thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.
at: thinkpads.com


If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 8:19 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

W520 QM67 STEEPING
B2 100%  100%  [ 5 ]
B3 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 5
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 6:30 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:26 pm
Posts: 307
Location: Kingston, RI
re Apple stuff... let's stay on-topic here, guys!

_________________
W520 (2820QM, Q2000M, FHD, mSATA SSD, dock)
Previous: T61p (died 1m past warranty :-(), Dell 8600, iBook ("Dual USB"), Gateway Millennium, Macintosh G4 , PowerPC Mac clone, Mac Duo 210, iBook (clamshell), Quadra 630, Mac IIsi, C-128, C-64, Vic-20


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:37 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:51 am
Posts: 83
Location: California, USA
davidhbrown wrote:
re Apple stuff... let's stay on-topic here, guys!


but, please note, that I mentioned B3 stepping subliminally in each and every Apple post. :roll:

_________________
2011 MacBook Pro 17" non-glare 2820QM 8GB 256GB SSD
T61P - 6459CTO - T9300 - 15.4 WUXGA ++ E6600 desktop, HP dv6000, P4 desktop w/ RAMBUS
Previous: P3 desktop, P1 desktop, 386-40Mhz desktop, 386-20 Mhz desktop, 10Mhz TURBO XT clone, Commodore Amiga 1000, 128, 64, VIC-20


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:39 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Cool, CA, USA
I also have the Rev04 (B2 stepping) reported when I run the CMD request on my w520. :(

I can get over the non-quad display support & the no future RAID (currently) if not ordered when built, but this is not forgivable. I want to use a mSata for the boot drive but not if the SATA controller is going to die sooner than later :evil:

_________________
w520


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:03 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:51 am
Posts: 83
Location: California, USA
kimocal wrote:
I also have the Rev04 (B2 stepping) reported when I run the CMD request on my w520. :(

I can get over the non-quad display support & the no future RAID (currently) if not ordered when built, but this is not forgivable. I want to use a mSata for the boot drive but not if the SATA controller is going to die sooner than later :evil:


This is one reason my W520 went back. Another was the raid issue. A third was the lack of a modem that I thought was listed in the tabook. The main reason was how I was treated when I called regarding the stepping. My warm and fuzzy W520 feeling got quenched pretty much. So I went and got a different warm and fuzzy feeling that has no giant holes in it.

_________________
2011 MacBook Pro 17" non-glare 2820QM 8GB 256GB SSD
T61P - 6459CTO - T9300 - 15.4 WUXGA ++ E6600 desktop, HP dv6000, P4 desktop w/ RAMBUS
Previous: P3 desktop, P1 desktop, 386-40Mhz desktop, 386-20 Mhz desktop, 10Mhz TURBO XT clone, Commodore Amiga 1000, 128, 64, VIC-20


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:44 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:21 am
Posts: 482
Location: Dublin, Ireland
There is no B3 stepping issue. Lenovo has explained that they use CRID. Intel has contacted various publications that suggested looking at the PCI ids and told them that this is not reliable due to CRID. Its exactly the same with other manufacturers that enable CRID. End of story.

About RAID and modem, you get what you order. If either is important to you then you should ask your customer service rep before ordering. You just got the cheapest option and then hoped that those were included, and then act surprised that they werent. RAID on a laptop and analog modem (remember the time when phones were attached to a cord coming out of the wall?) are niche products. Lenovo is doing 99% of their customers a favor by not having them pay for stuff they don't need.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 3:48 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 382
Location: Canton, MI
Volker wrote:
Lenovo is doing 99% of their customers a favor by not having them pay for stuff they don't need.

The issue is that enabling RAID should be a trivial matter since it is built into the chipset whether you order RAID or not and AFAIK even without RAID the modular bay can control a 2nd drive. People just don't want to pay Lenovo's outrageous price for a 2nd hard drive (which appears to be about $120 plus the cost of the optical drive for a 2nd 320 GB). (In fairness, I think Dell is even worse when it comes to disk and memory upgrade costs.) Modem I can certainly understand since it's an extra hardware piece that needs to be installed.

_________________
Current Thinkpads:
X31 (PM-1.4), X40 (PM-1.2 LV), X60s (CD-1.66 L2400), X61 (C2D-2.0 T7300), X201 (i7-620M), W520 (i7-2720QM, 2000M, FHD), T440p (i7-4800MQ, FHD)
Dells: Latitude XPi, Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, Precision M6500 (WUXGA)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:32 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:21 am
Posts: 482
Location: Dublin, Ireland
jdrou wrote:
The issue is that enabling RAID should be a trivial matter since it is built into the chipset whether you order RAID or not and AFAIK even without RAID the modular bay can control a 2nd drive.


Not true. Intel sells two different chipsets. Its the same chip but with different firmware. The chipset with RAID firmware costs Lenovo more than the chipset without RAID firmware enabled. If anybody, you should blame Intel for charging extra to unlock functionality that the hardware supports.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:08 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Posts: 382
Location: Canton, MI
Then Lenovo should charge you an extra $20 or whatever for the RAID-enabled motherboard instead of forcing you to buy a 2nd drive from them as well as stating in the RAID option screen that it can't be added later if you don't select it.

_________________
Current Thinkpads:
X31 (PM-1.4), X40 (PM-1.2 LV), X60s (CD-1.66 L2400), X61 (C2D-2.0 T7300), X201 (i7-620M), W520 (i7-2720QM, 2000M, FHD), T440p (i7-4800MQ, FHD)
Dells: Latitude XPi, Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, Precision M6500 (WUXGA)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 6:38 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:26 pm
Posts: 307
Location: Kingston, RI
Back on topic, Mark_Lenovo has posted information on how to use Intel's Management Engine Firmware tool to reveal the true PCH revision without having to disassemble your computer.

Mine indicates Rev 5 (B3). Lenovo continues to maintain "all production ThinkPads shipped with B3 level chips."

Still, it was good that it was brought up as a concern. I guess this extended compatibility BIOS trick was never an issue until Intel made its little transistor oopsie.

_________________
W520 (2820QM, Q2000M, FHD, mSATA SSD, dock)
Previous: T61p (died 1m past warranty :-(), Dell 8600, iBook ("Dual USB"), Gateway Millennium, Macintosh G4 , PowerPC Mac clone, Mac Duo 210, iBook (clamshell), Quadra 630, Mac IIsi, C-128, C-64, Vic-20


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group