thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:34 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 10:41 am
Posts: 4
Location: saratoga, ny
Quick question: I recently reinstalled Win 7 ultimate on my W500 using IBM recovery disks. Everything went smoothly, I checked the activation and it said it was activated.

After installing SP1 and the updates, at some point I checked the activation and it then said that Windows needed activation. OK, no problem, I put in the key...except that Windows would not activate. Reported back with an error, and gave me a choice of calling IBM. Which I did. An hour later, all they could offer was new recovery disks, which I don't need.

What's the fastest way to get the installation activated? It seems my options are:

Try the install all over again
Try Middleton's bios(?) will it even work on a W500 (?)
Buy a fresh copy of the recovery media from Lenovo
Buy a key from someone

Any guidance would be appreciated. If you have a legit key to sell feel free to let me know.

Thanks !


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:58 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:45 pm
Posts: 745
Location: Avon Lake, Ohio, United States
The BIOS probably doesn't have the SLIC2.1 code in it, which is what the OEM recovery disks activate against. Is the COA for Windows 7?

_________________
Daily: W520 i7-2860QM·Quadro 2000m·IPS FHD | T420 i7-2640M·NVS 4200m·IPS FHD | X220 i7-2640M | T601F T9900·NVS 140M·IPS UXGA
Wife's: T61p T9500·2010 FX570m·WUXGA | X220T i7-2640M
Others: T400·61p·61·60·43·42p|X41T·24·23·22|G41|A31p·22m|i1200|TransNote|380D|365XD|701C|755C


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 3:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 10:41 am
Posts: 4
Location: saratoga, ny
theterminator93 wrote:
The BIOS probably doesn't have the SLIC2.1 code in it, which is what the OEM recovery disks activate against. Is the COA for Windows 7?



The COA is for Vista I believe. From reading the boards, though I thought that should not matter.

How do I get the SLIC2.1 code into the bios? I've added the Middleton bios to a T61, but not to a W500. Is there a version of SLIC2.1 for a W500?

and thanks for the help, btw.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 3:40 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:45 pm
Posts: 745
Location: Avon Lake, Ohio, United States
Exactly - with a VB COA you've got SLIC2.0 in the BIOS, hence Windows 7's failure to activate seamlessly.

I'm sure there's a SLIC 2.1 mod for the W500 - I found this: https://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Thread- ... -Whitelist which may be useful. Based on a couple replies it seems to have the desired results on T500 and W500 models.

_________________
Daily: W520 i7-2860QM·Quadro 2000m·IPS FHD | T420 i7-2640M·NVS 4200m·IPS FHD | X220 i7-2640M | T601F T9900·NVS 140M·IPS UXGA
Wife's: T61p T9500·2010 FX570m·WUXGA | X220T i7-2640M
Others: T400·61p·61·60·43·42p|X41T·24·23·22|G41|A31p·22m|i1200|TransNote|380D|365XD|701C|755C


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 10:41 am
Posts: 4
Location: saratoga, ny
Updating the bios with a modified SLIC 2.1 table worked well. Thanks for the help !


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited