thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:39 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help me install windows!
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:24 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 168
Location: Kingston, WA
I need some help installing windows on one of my computers... the system has 2x 64 bit xenon 5150 cpus... i am needing to install windows hyper v 2016 or ESXI 6.0/6.5A that is the goal I'm trying to achieve....

I can't install anything 64 bit... I also can not install windows 7 both 32 and 64 bit due to my stock video card (gtx 7300gt) as it just BSOD after windows logo on first boot but I also can not install anything newer than windows 7 without first installing a windows os as windows 8/10 needs to be installed from inside of windows and can't be installed from BIOS

Help me get an os installed!

_________________
My Current Thinkpad Collection:
A30 Pentium 3 512MB ram 55 or 58GB HDD Win 98SE
T410 1st Gen i5 4GB ram 2x320 GB HDD Win XP & 7 Pro
X220 2nd Gen i5 8GB ram 120 GB SSD win 7 Pro
T430 3rd Gen i5 6GB ram 500GB HDD Win 7 Pro
T440s 4th Gen i5 8GB ram 300 GB SSD win 10 Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:31 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Posts: 1226
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Matbe the 7300GT is defective?

_________________
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:02 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 168
Location: Kingston, WA
axur-delmeria wrote:
Matbe the 7300GT is defective?


It isn't as I can get a perfect photo from the card

_________________
My Current Thinkpad Collection:
A30 Pentium 3 512MB ram 55 or 58GB HDD Win 98SE
T410 1st Gen i5 4GB ram 2x320 GB HDD Win XP & 7 Pro
X220 2nd Gen i5 8GB ram 120 GB SSD win 7 Pro
T430 3rd Gen i5 6GB ram 500GB HDD Win 7 Pro
T440s 4th Gen i5 8GB ram 300 GB SSD win 10 Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:44 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Posts: 1226
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
What's the brand and model of that computer? Its behavior is quite strange TBH.

_________________
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 8:51 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9765
Whitieiii wrote:
...I also can not install anything newer than windows 7 without first installing a windows os as windows 8/10 needs to be installed from inside of windows and can't be installed from BIOS

Help me get an os installed!


There do seem to be ways around the above problem...
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windo ... e-3435649/

http://lifehacker.com/how-to-do-a-clean ... 1720775893

_________________
DKB


Top
   
 Post subject: Help me install windows!
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:34 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 168
Location: Kingston, WA
GomJabbar wrote:
Whitieiii wrote:
...I also can not install anything newer than windows 7 without first installing a windows os as windows 8/10 needs to be installed from inside of windows and can't be installed from BIOS

Help me get an os installed!


There do seem to be ways around the above problem...
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windo ... e-3435649/

http://lifehacker.com/how-to-do-a-clean ... 1720775893


I know how to clean install windows but this computer if your windows 8 or 10 medium is booted from bios it will always freeze on the bios and you will need to reboot the pc... installing windows 8/10 can only be done after you boot into windows.... windows vista boots and installs just fine and i xan get it to the desktop but I only have 32 bit vista cd.... windows 7 on the other hand boots and installs fine but only 32 bit windows 7 and everytime after the flying windows load it bluescreens because in box drivers for my video card doesn't work or doesn't like it... I only have one video card in my entire house and no onboard video ports on this computer

_________________
My Current Thinkpad Collection:
A30 Pentium 3 512MB ram 55 or 58GB HDD Win 98SE
T410 1st Gen i5 4GB ram 2x320 GB HDD Win XP & 7 Pro
X220 2nd Gen i5 8GB ram 120 GB SSD win 7 Pro
T430 3rd Gen i5 6GB ram 500GB HDD Win 7 Pro
T440s 4th Gen i5 8GB ram 300 GB SSD win 10 Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 7:20 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9765
I'm guessing your problem is the UEFI bios.

Maybe the following helps.

http://www.windowscentral.com/how-creat ... stallation

http://www.intowindows.com/create-uefi- ... indows-10/

_________________
DKB


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:38 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 168
Location: Kingston, WA
My goal is to get ESXI 6.5 installed

_________________
My Current Thinkpad Collection:
A30 Pentium 3 512MB ram 55 or 58GB HDD Win 98SE
T410 1st Gen i5 4GB ram 2x320 GB HDD Win XP & 7 Pro
X220 2nd Gen i5 8GB ram 120 GB SSD win 7 Pro
T430 3rd Gen i5 6GB ram 500GB HDD Win 7 Pro
T440s 4th Gen i5 8GB ram 300 GB SSD win 10 Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:11 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9765
If you have a problem booting a 64-bit Windows 7 DVD, perhaps the following will help.

https://forum.level1techs.com/t/why-in- ... 1/108547/3

Alternatively, here are the 64-bit Window 7/8 drivers for your video card. You could probably slipstream them into an installation DVD. Been a long time since I did anything like that.

http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverRe ... 2758/en-us

_________________
DKB


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:18 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 2790
Location: Glendora, CA
Whitieiii wrote:
My goal is to get ESXI 6.5 installed


ESXi is fun. I have it running on my home server.

So I don't know where your level of experience is. That being said it becomes the host OS and you can't login to it locally. You'll need to either open it's management IP in your browser (ex: 192.168.1.20/ui) and manage your VM's that way, or install the vSphere client on another machine and use that to connect to your ESXi host using the root user and password you setup during the install.

You can get ESXi free from here: http://www.vmware.com/products/vsphere-hypervisor.html

Here's the documentation for it: https://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-65/topi ... -guide.pdf

Here's a pretty good video on seeing how it's installed: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ERAOywXH4l0

Also, make sure you install your license file and download the ESXi host updates. These are installed from ISO's.

Let us know if you need more help.

_________________
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:28 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 168
Location: Kingston, WA
GomJabbar wrote:
If you have a problem booting a 64-bit Windows 7 DVD, perhaps the following will help.

https://forum.level1techs.com/t/why-in- ... 1/108547/3

Alternatively, here are the 64-bit Window 7/8 drivers for your video card. You could probably slipstream them into an installation DVD. Been a long time since I did anything like that.

http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverRe ... 2758/en-us


I will try this! This seems like it maybe what I need! it's frustrating that I can't install windows anything 64bit to this machine... if I can get windows 7 64 bit installed on it my upgrade path to anything will be easy

_________________
My Current Thinkpad Collection:
A30 Pentium 3 512MB ram 55 or 58GB HDD Win 98SE
T410 1st Gen i5 4GB ram 2x320 GB HDD Win XP & 7 Pro
X220 2nd Gen i5 8GB ram 120 GB SSD win 7 Pro
T430 3rd Gen i5 6GB ram 500GB HDD Win 7 Pro
T440s 4th Gen i5 8GB ram 300 GB SSD win 10 Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:34 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 168
Location: Kingston, WA
Temetka wrote:
Whitieiii wrote:
My goal is to get ESXI 6.5 installed


ESXi is fun. I have it running on my home server.

So I don't know where your level of experience is. That being said it becomes the host OS and you can't login to it locally. You'll need to either open it's management IP in your browser (ex: 192.168.1.20/ui) and manage your VM's that way, or install the vSphere client on another machine and use that to connect to your ESXi host using the root user and password you setup during the install.

You can get ESXi free from here: http://www.vmware.com/products/vsphere-hypervisor.html

Here's the documentation for it: https://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-65/topi ... -guide.pdf

Here's a pretty good video on seeing how it's installed: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ERAOywXH4l0

Also, make sure you install your license file and download the ESXi host updates. These are installed from ISO's.

Let us know if you need more help.


I've learned all about ESXI from My Playhouse on youtube but if I can't run 64 bit windows than idk if I can successfully install ESXI.... I could try and figure out hyper v but I know more on ESXI

_________________
My Current Thinkpad Collection:
A30 Pentium 3 512MB ram 55 or 58GB HDD Win 98SE
T410 1st Gen i5 4GB ram 2x320 GB HDD Win XP & 7 Pro
X220 2nd Gen i5 8GB ram 120 GB SSD win 7 Pro
T430 3rd Gen i5 6GB ram 500GB HDD Win 7 Pro
T440s 4th Gen i5 8GB ram 300 GB SSD win 10 Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:36 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 168
Location: Kingston, WA
In the end If all elce fails I might just sell this thing for $150 or so and buy a thinkstation or thinkserver tower with dual cpu

_________________
My Current Thinkpad Collection:
A30 Pentium 3 512MB ram 55 or 58GB HDD Win 98SE
T410 1st Gen i5 4GB ram 2x320 GB HDD Win XP & 7 Pro
X220 2nd Gen i5 8GB ram 120 GB SSD win 7 Pro
T430 3rd Gen i5 6GB ram 500GB HDD Win 7 Pro
T440s 4th Gen i5 8GB ram 300 GB SSD win 10 Pro


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 3:54 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:54 pm
Posts: 168
Location: Kingston, WA
Bump

_________________
My Current Thinkpad Collection:
A30 Pentium 3 512MB ram 55 or 58GB HDD Win 98SE
T410 1st Gen i5 4GB ram 2x320 GB HDD Win XP & 7 Pro
X220 2nd Gen i5 8GB ram 120 GB SSD win 7 Pro
T430 3rd Gen i5 6GB ram 500GB HDD Win 7 Pro
T440s 4th Gen i5 8GB ram 300 GB SSD win 10 Pro


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited