thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Mon Mar 27, 2017 5:40 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:56 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:29 am
Posts: 620
Location: Valparaiso, FL
I have a few ancient Thinkpads that kind of work for what I need, but they are old (T60, X60) and I need to upgrade and simplify. But my budget is $300 so I was looking at the 1st Gen X1 Carbon. I found one that looks good but it has no HD and I'd assume like most newer laptops, has no COA sticker. Just went through that with an HP and it was a pain. Microsoft said it was HP and HP said buy the disks again. Spending money on old laptops is what I was trying to avoid.

Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks,

David


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:38 pm 
Offline
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 15647
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania
I don't know about X1C - someone else who actually owns one is likely to chime in - but newer ThinkPads such as *10/20/30 series have a COA in the battery bay.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: R61

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:05 am 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 17116
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
I have such an X1C1 (1st Gen).
SSDs for that machine are hard to find AND very expensive.
However, I reported about an alternative here: viewtopic.php?p=789463#p789463 which forum member cfds installed.
The alternative is quite a bit cheaper!
Beware when you buy this machine, it has all its RAM soldered!
It is only available with 4GB or 8GB, so look for the 8GB, unless you go Linux.
Apart from that, it's a very nice machine.

As for Windows, mine came with a BIOS-built-in W8-key, but I installed W7-Pro 64-bit and activated that with a W7-COA from an X301.
I have installed Slic2.1 in that X301-BIOS, so it does not need that COA.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.
And don't forget the Motherboards! Refreshing webpages is advised!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:51 am 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Posts: 4432
Location: Minnesota
dwilsonfl wrote:
I'd assume like most newer laptops, has no COA sticker.

If it came with Windows 7 it should have a COA sticker, but Windows 8 and up have the key coded into the BIOS. Machines with pro versions of Windows 8 and 10 will have downgrade rights, though they don't make it easy.

_________________
E7440


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:50 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:29 am
Posts: 94
Location: Les Vosges, France
ZaZ wrote:
dwilsonfl wrote:
I'd assume like most newer laptops, has no COA sticker.

If it came with Windows 7 it should have a COA sticker, but Windows 8 and up have the key coded into the BIOS. Machines with pro versions of Windows 8 and 10 will have downgrade rights, though they don't make it easy.


Confirmed, mine came with Win7 Pro 64 bit and has the COA sticker in the bottom...very happy with my X1C 1st gen except for the battery life, that could be better!

_________________
X1C-1, i5 3427U 1.8GHz, 8GB RAM, Sandisk mSATA 250GB SSD, Win 7 Pro 64bit
X220, i5 2520M 2.5GHz, 6GB RAM, Crutial mSATA 120GB SSD + 2nd internal Samsung 256GB SSD, Win 7 Pro 64bit
2013 MacBook Air 13" 250GB SSD/8GB Ram
T420 i5 2520M 2.5GHz, 8GB Ram, Samsung mSATA 256GB SSD + 500GB HDD


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:23 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:29 am
Posts: 620
Location: Valparaiso, FL
K, so I'll look for an 8 gb of RAM model

Thanks

_________________
Vocavit autem servirent


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited