thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 6:12 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2012 11:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:56 am
Posts: 2
Location: Hong Kong
Dear all ThinkPad lovers and traditionalists

Recently, I have been studying the possibility of using a 7 row keyboard in X230 and all new generation ThinkPads released in this year.

The webmaster of TPuser discovered that a X230 has the capability of installing the X220 keyboard into it.

However, some reported that some keys of the 7 row keyboard do not function in X230.

We believe that the BIOS cause this problem.


Therefore, I started studying the different between X220 and X230, reading the spec of UEFI, and I discovered a module named "SystemKeyDescDxe.efi" looks like define the mapping of the keyboard.

Does anyone knows whether I am on the right track or not?

I founded that this module in X220's BIOS and T420's BIOS are the same. And the module in X230's BIOS and T430's BIOS are the same too.


I am still waiting for my device and looking for brave tester for testing the BIOS that build for 7 row keyboard.

The BIOS that I have built has just replaced the "SystemKeyDescDxe.efi" module in X230's BIOS by the one from X220's BIOS.

[I DO NOT BEAR ANY LOST OR ANY DAMAGE DUE TO FLASHING THE MODIFIED BIOS]


Sorry for my English as it is not my native language.


Last edited by edwinhack3d on Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:55 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 8:02 am
Posts: 162
Location: Paris (Latin Europe)
Hi,

we discussed this just few posts below yours: viewtopic.php?f=69&t=104889
Modding the BIOS is indeed the best way to go, but nobody here has attempted it.

Your proposed solution sounds interesting even though I don't know much about BIOS internal structure.

Please keep us updated.

_________________
T60 2007-FSG (stolen)
X220 4287-CTO
X230 once it can accomodate a proper keyboard


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:56 am
Posts: 2
Location: Hong Kong
Thank you for your reply

I got more questions today

1. what are the differences between .FL1 and .FL2
2. if FL2 is the controller file, does it contain the bios file?
3. I discover that .FL2 also contain the same efi file, should I update .FL2 too?
4. If I have brick my X230's BIOS, any way to recover it? The way to recover should be as same as X220


p.s. I use PhoenixTool to modify bios. The X220 and X230 follow the UEFI standard and they are written by Insyde.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:34 am
Posts: 5
Location: Kyoto, Japan
I would also be very interested in this BIOS mod.
Is anyone still working on this?
Any progress? I wish I could help, but my tech related knowledge is very poor.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 2:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:01 am
Posts: 43
Location: Aveiro, Portugal
I don't know about thinkpads, but general laptops with phoenix bios can be recovered with this:
http://forum.notebookreview.com/hp-comp ... ost4305289

Keep in mind that you have to have a usb floppy!
Usb pendrives don't work.
This tutorial saved my life with my Hp Dv9575ep laptop .

You can read more here http://forum.notebookreview.com/sager-c ... thods.html

_________________
Lenovo X230/12.5' IPS/i5-3320M/256Gb SSD/16Gb DDR3/Intel HD4000
Logitech K800 + Logitech M705 + Dell U2312HM


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:34 am
Posts: 5
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Thanks for the information skinnie, hopefully the initial poster is still around.
I'm dying to see a bios mod for this laptop.
Perhaps I'm the only one who really uses the Insert, Home keys.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 6:40 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 11:05 am
Posts: 439
Location: Russia, Moscow
yuji wrote:
Thanks for the information skinnie, hopefully the initial poster is still around.
I'm dying to see a bios mod for this laptop.
Perhaps I'm the only one who really uses the Insert, Home keys.

You're not the only one. Though I believe you might be the only one who purchased X230 despite using all these keys; it seem to be a show-stopper for all the others.

_________________
Lifebook P1032 (1024*600 8.9") => Averatec AV1000 (1280*800 10.6") => Kohjinsha SH6 (1024*600 7.2") => Sharp M4000 (1280*800 13.3") => X200-AFFS, dead (1280*800 12.1") => X200s-AFFS, later -PVA (1280*800 12.1") => X220 4290RV5 + Intel 310 80GB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:34 am
Posts: 5
Location: Kyoto, Japan
Nah, I haven't taken the jump just yet. I'm still a proud X200/T42 owner. That said, one of these days the software technology will force us to move on to new hardware. Otherwise I'd still be using my T42 :)

I'm just preparing in advance for the inavoidable change. Hopefully we can all find a good solution. I'm thinking about interacting with the folks at bios modding forums, to perhaps learn.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2012 3:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:01 am
Posts: 43
Location: Aveiro, Portugal
penartur wrote:
You're not the only one. Though I believe you might be the only one who purchased X230 despite using all these keys; it seem to be a show-stopper for all the others.



I don't get why..the keyboard is very nice, only the layout isn't top notch.
But I come from a a late 2009 macbook :P

_________________
Lenovo X230/12.5' IPS/i5-3320M/256Gb SSD/16Gb DDR3/Intel HD4000
Logitech K800 + Logitech M705 + Dell U2312HM


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:01 am
Posts: 43
Location: Aveiro, Portugal
Still no news about this?

_________________
Lenovo X230/12.5' IPS/i5-3320M/256Gb SSD/16Gb DDR3/Intel HD4000
Logitech K800 + Logitech M705 + Dell U2312HM


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 4:57 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:09 pm
Posts: 208
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
This is a GREAT idea. I would love to help out in any way that I can. The OP sounds like he has tried the most obvious method, possibly the easiest assuming it works. Can someone get me a picture of the BIOS chip? If it is a leaded flash package of some sort (TSOP, etc) then it would be fairly easy to remove the working stock one and make a backup. I've had to do that with some car ECUs and some hardware at work. After reinstalling one of the copies, we could try flashing the hacked version!

I need pics of the BIOS flash chip! I'll see if there are any decent mobo pics on eBay or anything. I don't own an X220 or X230, but if we can figure this out I will DEFINITELY get an X230!

_________________
T61p Frankenpad | 15" FlexView UXGA | C2E X9000 2.8GHz (U'Volted @ 1.075V) | 8GB PC6400 | NVS 140M (Stock Clocks) | 5300 Ultimate-N WiFi | T61p (FX 570M) Heat Sink + T500 Discrete Fan | 256GB Samsung 830 SSD | 750GB WD Scorpio Black HDD (Ultrabay) | Win8 Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:58 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 8:09 pm
Posts: 208
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Oh, nevermind. The BIOS is onboard the Intel chipset chip...not gonna do anything with that. So yeah, someone needs to be brave and try it out! Has anyone with a USB floppy drive tried doing a recovery boot onto it?

_________________
T61p Frankenpad | 15" FlexView UXGA | C2E X9000 2.8GHz (U'Volted @ 1.075V) | 8GB PC6400 | NVS 140M (Stock Clocks) | 5300 Ultimate-N WiFi | T61p (FX 570M) Heat Sink + T500 Discrete Fan | 256GB Samsung 830 SSD | 750GB WD Scorpio Black HDD (Ultrabay) | Win8 Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:01 am
Posts: 43
Location: Aveiro, Portugal
bmwman91 wrote:
Oh, nevermind. The BIOS is onboard the Intel chipset chip...not gonna do anything with that. So yeah, someone needs to be brave and try it out! Has anyone with a USB floppy drive tried doing a recovery boot onto it?


The other models are different?
I have an usb floppy drive but never tried anything :P only on the previous HP.

_________________
Lenovo X230/12.5' IPS/i5-3320M/256Gb SSD/16Gb DDR3/Intel HD4000
Logitech K800 + Logitech M705 + Dell U2312HM


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:43 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Toronto, Canada
Any news?

I have X230 and X220 7-row keyboard and willing to experiment with them / the BIOS if someone will point me in the right direction

BTW, also see this thread: http://www.thinkpads.com/forum/viewtopi ... 9&p=715278


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 5:23 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Kyunggido,South korea.
you should modify embedded controller firmware (*.fl1) for 7 row keyboard. The size of embedded controller firmware is a 192KB. Start address of EC firmware is a 800000h.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 1:00 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Seoul, Korea
I own a T430, and I just can't wait for a bios mod.

Any updates folks?

Is there any way I can help?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 5:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 1:00 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Seoul, Korea
microwave wrote:
you should modify embedded controller firmware (*.fl1) for 7 row keyboard. The size of embedded controller firmware is a 192KB. Start address of EC firmware is a 800000h.



You sound like an expert in this area!

Have you tried modding the bios yourself?

If so, could you please tell us how it went?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 7:01 am
Posts: 43
Location: Aveiro, Portugal
We should merge all threads or at least put links on the one that has most posts.
Why don't we do like xda topics where people say how much would they donate for this mod!
With all money together maybe it could catch anyone's attention

_________________
Lenovo X230/12.5' IPS/i5-3320M/256Gb SSD/16Gb DDR3/Intel HD4000
Logitech K800 + Logitech M705 + Dell U2312HM


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:43 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Toronto, Canada
agree. I'm still looking for a solution and still ready to contribute some effort/money


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2014 6:31 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 476
Location: Richmond,VA
any update on this effort


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group