Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

[Debian] Thinkfan Installation Guide + Configuration Tutorial

Linux on ThinkPads
Sense

[Debian] Thinkfan Installation Guide + Configuration Tutorial

#1 Post by Sense » Sun Nov 15, 2015 8:40 pm

Hi everyone. This community has been extremely helpful to me and I've decided to write a beginner friendly guide to installing and configuring thinkfan.

I've been running thinkfan on my T420 Debian 8 setup for about 2 months now, and it's been running great. Although this package is not required, I would highly recommend installing it because by default, the fan will be stuck at a fixed rate (3300 RPM) without setup. This means that your laptop might be improperly cooled, leading to either overheating or overcooling, wasting precious battery power.

I would like to remind everyone that although I've tested and done the research to make sure these settings are safe to use, I am NOT responsible for what happens to your computer should something go wrong. Improper configuration can definitely harm the hardware of your computer so please do take your time to understand what each step does and double check your inputs.

Let's get started!

0. Make sure you have root privileges by either typing $ sudo or log in as root:

Code: Select all

$ su 
1. Download and install the thinkfan package:

$ sudo apt-get install thinkfan
2. Add the 'coretemp' kernel module to be loaded at boot time

$ sudo sh -c 'echo coretemp >> /etc/modules'
If that looks cryptic to you, it's a very simple command to add 'coretemp' to the end of the file. You can use your favorite text editor to open 'modules' and add in 'coretemp' yourself if you prefer.

3. Since your changes won't take place until you restart your computer, let's manually load 'coretemp' this one time to continue with our configuration

$ sudo modprobe coretemp