thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 11:13 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: OSX86 on Thinkpad X61
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:31 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Stanford, CA
Installed 10.4.9 without too much trouble. With SATA in compatibility mode, it boots without any hitches. The following, however, don't work:

Wireless: the 3945ABG is recognized by the iwidarwin driver, but the config. tool can't actually see any networks, much less connect to them.

Ethernet: despite fiddling with the Intel 825XX driver, I can't get the onboard gigabit ethernet (Intel 82566MM) recognized.

Sound: installed the modified Azalia drivers from the install disc. The sound board is at least minimally recognized, but can't output audio through either the speakers or the headphones. External USB headset works though.

Power management: no idea where to start here.

I've tested the system a bit, and it's amazingly fast and so far stable. If anybody has suggestions on how to get the networking, audio or power management work, I'd certainly appreciate them.

Thanks.

_________________
Thinkpad X61 (7675) 2.0GHZ/500GB/4GB/XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 6:29 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Stanford, CA
Well, I swapped out the Intel 3945 wireless for an Atheros abg wireless. Reinstalled using a newer 10.4.9, and wireless works out of the box.

Sound is still a no go, though my USB Plantronics headset works well.

Power management is disabled.

_________________
Thinkpad X61 (7675) 2.0GHZ/500GB/4GB/XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:13 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Ottawa Canada
Hi. I'm about to attempt this on my X61. A few things I've discovered that may help:

On the OSX86 forums, you can find a power management package here: http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php? ... 14912&st=0
This package adds support for ACPI for battery detection and capacity & time calculation. Apparently the MacBooks do not perform power management through ACPI (what the..?), which necessitates the use of this package for the rest of us.

The OSx86project wiki states that sound can be hacked to work on the X60 with the AppleAzaliaAudio.kext with "devid= 11d41981". The X61 uses the same audio chipset, so it's worth a try. No audio input through, but now you can free up one of your USB slots for sound.

I also have some questions:

What video driver did you use for the X61's X3000? Any special hacks needed to get it working? Is Quartz Extreme working on it?

Can you tell me which guide you followed to get your X61 to your current state? And what distribution of OSx86 did you use?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 3:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:13 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Ottawa Canada
I stumbled upon the pictures of your HackPad on Fotothing. Great job :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:28 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Stanford, CA
khyew wrote:
On the OSX86 forums, you can find a power management package here: http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php? ... 14912&st=0


Included with the current uphuck release. Unfortunately SpeedStep support is broken, so you must disable the CPU speed manager app if you install power management.

khyew wrote:
The OSx86project wiki states that sound can be hacked to work on the X60 with the AppleAzaliaAudio.kext with "devid= 11d41981". The X61 uses the same audio chipset, so it's worth a try. No audio input through, but now you can free up one of your USB slots for sound.


Yes, I tried that earlier. It recognizes the sound card, but doesn't actually output to the speakers. This is also a problem with Linux, so I think the X60 and X61 must differ somewhat in their soundsystem.

khyew wrote:
What video driver did you use for the X61's X3000? Any special hacks needed to get it working? Is Quartz Extreme working on it?


Using the default. No Quartz Extreme. I suspect that if you can get 10.4.10 working, you can get QE for the GMA X3100. Unfortunately, my two attempts with 10.4.10 hosed my install, so I'll be waiting for a bit before trying again.

khyew wrote:
Can you tell me which guide you followed to get your X61 to your current state? And what distribution of OSx86 did you use?


No real guide as such.

Get the uphuck 10.4.9 r1.4i2 release, and burn to DVD. If you don't have an optical drive, you can use VMWare to install it to a partition from within Windows. Remember to set SATA mode to 'Compatibility' in the BIOS.

Beyond that, most things will just work. I believe I included ACPI, Power Management, AppleAzaliaAudio, ICH8 and a few other options during the install.

Good luck!

_________________
Thinkpad X61 (7675) 2.0GHZ/500GB/4GB/XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:37 pm
Posts: 10
Location: New York, NY
I too would be interested in finding out what driver to use for the X3100...I installed the uphuck version too, and while a generic display driver seems to work, you can't use DVD player, etc

_________________
Current Thinkpad
X61

Past Thinkpads:
T43p (sold)
X31 (sold)
T42p (stolen)
600E (sold)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 8:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:13 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Ottawa Canada
Thanks for the advice. I downloaded Uphuck 10.4.9i r3 and installed it on my X61. The CPU SpeedStep app worked for about 2 min, but caused a kernel panic when I fiddled with the manual speed settings. It has not worked since and causes random kernel panics. Reinstall time.

About the audio driver: you're right that the X60 and X61 use different audio chips (HD1981 vs HD1984), which is quite a shame. The development version of ALSA has support for the chipset, which should get you sound working under Linux. A kernel patch is available if you built your ALSA into the kernel instead of using a module. http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/AD1984

There is QE support for the GMA X3100 in 10.4.10? I was not aware of that. I'll check it out and see if I can get a successful upgrade. Of course I'll let you know how I did it.

I'm going to try getting the cursed Intel PRO/1000 ethernet adapter working. There's several older versions of the 825xx.kext on the InsanelyMac forums that appear to support previously non-working variants of the Intel PRO/1000. They're worth a try.

EDIT: 10.4.10 has a kext that supports the ICH8 chipset, but not the GMA specifically. With the ICH8 support you should be able to set the SATA controller to AHCI mode. Be aware that doing so may cause installed operating systems to cease functioning. Windows XP does not support AHCI on ICH8 without an additional driver.[/b]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:42 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Stanford, CA
khyew wrote:
Thanks for the advice. I downloaded Uphuck 10.4.9i r3 and installed it on my X61. The CPU SpeedStep app worked for about 2 min, but caused a kernel panic when I fiddled with the manual speed settings. It has not worked since and causes random kernel panics. Reinstall time.


No need to reinstall. Just remove the speedstep application from the startup applications list (System Preferences -> Users -> Login Items, I think).

khyew wrote:
About the audio driver: you're right that the X60 and X61 use different audio chips (HD1981 vs HD1984), which is quite a shame. The development version of ALSA has support for the chipset, which should get you sound working under Linux. A kernel patch is available if you built your ALSA into the kernel instead of using a module. http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/AD1984


Yes, I actually have audio in Linux. Unfortunately, the speakers themselves don't work (the internal headset jack does). I'm not too hopeful, but a cheap iMic is good enough for me.

khyew wrote:
There is QE support for the GMA X3100 in 10.4.10? I was not aware of that. I'll check it out and see if I can get a successful upgrade. Of course I'll let you know how I did it.


I was guessing, since 10.4.10 is the first full release to support the Santa Rosa-base Macs. Unfortunately, all of those use discrete graphics, so that's probably not the case yet. Need to wait until the MacBooks (not Pro) update to Santa Rosa, I'd guess.

khyew wrote:
I'm going to try getting the cursed Intel PRO/1000 ethernet adapter working. There's several older versions of the 825xx.kext on the InsanelyMac forums that appear to support previously non-working variants of the Intel PRO/1000. They're worth a try.


Good luck on that. I just use USB one for now (Linksys USB200M).

khyew wrote:
EDIT: 10.4.10 has a kext that supports the ICH8 chipset, but not the GMA specifically. With the ICH8 support you should be able to set the SATA controller to AHCI mode. Be aware that doing so may cause installed operating systems to cease functioning. Windows XP does not support AHCI on ICH8 without an additional driver.[/b]


Which 10.4.10 update did you use? I tried koolkal but hosed my install completely.

Best.

_________________
Thinkpad X61 (7675) 2.0GHZ/500GB/4GB/XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:42 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Stanford, CA
Found a working 10.4.10 updater from paulicat . Aside from SATA working in AHCI mode, there are no other changes in hardware support for the X61.

_________________
Thinkpad X61 (7675) 2.0GHZ/500GB/4GB/XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:26 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Los Gatos, CA
we need 10.4.10 and full santa rosa--945m motherboard, ICH8m SATA, etc., support. I have the same issues here plus my graphics isn't working because I need a quadro fx 570m hack.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:58 am
Posts: 4
Location: Oslo, Norway
Sound

I'm trying hard to get the sound working on my T61. So far I haven't seen anyone with a success story from a SoundMax AD1984 in OSx86.
Anyone gotten through with it?

Anyone tried this tutorial? http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?showtopic=64754

I'm trying it out now and will post any results here.

_________________
Thinkpad T61 2.0GHZ/120GB/1GB/XP Pro/Pure:Dyne(linux)/OSx86 10.4.9 Jas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:58 am
Posts: 4
Location: Oslo, Norway
Sound

So far, what seems to work on the other versions of the inbuilt ThinkPad soundcards (AD1980, AD1986 etc) does not seem to work on the version for T61, the AD1984.

I've used these Vendor ID's:
My Soundmax Integrated Digital HD Audio ids:
VEN_11D4
DEV_1984

My UAA id's are:
VEN_8086
DEV_284b


and in /System/Library/Extensions/AppleAC97Audio.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleAC97CodecAD198x.kext/Contents/Info.plist I've added all number from ADS70 to ADS80. It has not been possible to get the ADS number from the AD1984 datasheet so I've emailed Analog Devices for it. Maybe it will do the trick..

(If this doesn't make sense please refer to the forum thread mentioned in my above post)

This has been tried on the OSx86 versions 10.4.6 up to 10.4.9 .

Any ideas?

:??:

_________________
Thinkpad T61 2.0GHZ/120GB/1GB/XP Pro/Pure:Dyne(linux)/OSx86 10.4.9 Jas


Last edited by gorgon on Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:26 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Los Gatos, CA
i have not hacked the intel (analog devices) ICH8 SoundMax yet. Not a lot people seem to be using it on insanely mac/osx forums. I have a Quadro FX 570m in my T61p that I just got running in 1920x1600, but no QE/CI. Sound and internet are next. Let me know if you get it working. If you pull up device manager and drill down, one of the properties that you will see is compatible devices... We might makes some progress with those.

FYI, power management does not work on 10.4.10, which is a lot lot better as it has santa rosa support (sees my memory speed, etc.) properly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:37 pm
Posts: 570
Location: Downtown Toronto, Canada
Anyone tried the new OS X 10.5.1 on the X61/X61s?

Could you guys post a pic or vid of OS X on the X61/X61s? I'd be really interested in doing this for myself! Would you guys recommend a dual boot Vista 64-bit / OS X 10.5.1? I was even considering a tri-boot of Vista/OS X/Kubuntu or SuSE 64-bit

_________________
Lenovo ThinkPad X220
i5-2410M | 8GB RAM | 240GB Crucial M500 | IPS 720P | BT 3.0 | Intel 1000 | Windows 8.1
yes, the 9mm SSD fits in the X220

Past ThinkPads: X300, T400, X61s, T41, X31, A21m, T23 (x2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:48 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Stanford, CA
Yeah, I've got 10.5.1 working. Dual (or triple-) booting works fine. Still, the installation isn't exactly foolproof yet. Aside from sound, Cardbus and SD-reader, all of the built-in hardware works nicely.

_________________
Thinkpad X61 (7675) 2.0GHZ/500GB/4GB/XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 1:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:14 am
Posts: 12
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Does this mean you got the onboard gigabit ethernet (Intel 82566MM) to work ?
Would be great to hear how you did it !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 2:24 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:54 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Stanford, CA
pippopippo111 wrote:
Does this mean you got the onboard gigabit ethernet (Intel 82566MM) to work ?
Would be great to hear how you did it !


Oops, no, I forget about that issue :-( My solution is a $20 USB ethernet adapter - fortunately that at least does work out of the box with Leopard.

_________________
Thinkpad X61 (7675) 2.0GHZ/500GB/4GB/XP Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 5:00 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Germany, Europe
How about powermanagement? Is it supported, or is there any x-Series that can run OSX with powermanagement?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group