thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:04 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:58 pm
Posts: 1
Location: DENVER, CO
Hi All,

Can anyone that has a W520 check the BIOS for a setting to disable the Optimus switching? The W510 had this feature, but I'm wondering if it has carried over to the W520. I spoke with a Lenovo sales rep who said that feature was removed, but she wasn't technical and I don't think she really understood what I was talking about.

I only run linux and this feature is a must have- if it truly has been removed I'll have to look elsewhere for a new machine to buy.

Thanks,
p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 9:15 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:21 am
Posts: 482
Location: Dublin, Ireland
According t ohttp://blogs.technet.com/b/keithcombs/archive/2011/03/28/lenovo-thinkpad-w520-mini-review.aspx, the W520 has a Bios switch Optimus vs. Discrete only. I ordered a W520 as soon as it got out run Linux exclusively, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it works 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:02 pm
Posts: 2
Location: London, Canada
A Lenovo rep told me via online Chat that you can disable the discrete Nvidia card via the BIOS and just use the integrated Intel card.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 9:44 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:21 am
Posts: 482
Location: Dublin, Ireland
If its anything like the W510 (and it seems very much so), then the BIOS choice is between all three integrated/discrete/optimus. http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-76476.html. Optimus is of course useless but being able to switch between only discrete and only integrated graphics is all we need...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:37 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:26 pm
Posts: 307
Location: Kingston, RI
On my W520, in addition to Graphics Device: Integrated|Discrete|NVIDIA Optimus, there is an additional enable/disable option for "OS Detection for NVIDIA Optimus." According to the help, "If Enabled, System BIOS automatically switches Graphics device setting to NVIDIA Optimus mode if the OS supports the feature, and to Discrete Graphics if the OS does not support it." If it works the way it sounds like it should, this could be quite useful for people dual-booting between Windows and Linux. "Enabled" is the default which may improve out-of-the-box compatibility for other-OS setups.

_________________
W520 (2820QM, Q2000M, FHD, mSATA SSD, dock)
Previous: T61p (died 1m past warranty :-(), Dell 8600, iBook ("Dual USB"), Gateway Millennium, Macintosh G4 , PowerPC Mac clone, Mac Duo 210, iBook (clamshell), Quadra 630, Mac IIsi, C-128, C-64, Vic-20


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 1:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 1:48 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Victoria, Canada
I have a slightly different problem: I want optimus disabled but I want both integrated and discrete graphics devices available, with only one (the discrete part) being the primary display adapter.

When I select the "Discrete Graphics" option in the BIOS, it looks like the bios doesn't setup the integrated device (it doesn't show up in device manager). Likewise, with the "Integrated Graphics" option I only see the integrated graphics.

How can I get the BIOS to setup both devices, but not have optimus try to use both of them?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 4:15 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:03 am
Posts: 1352
Location: Toronto
You might be able to do that if you use Optimus in BIOS, then install seperate non-Optimus aware drivers in Device Manager.
Any particular reason you want to have it show up seperately? You can already instruct programs to execute on a specific GPU with Lenovo's special implementation of Optimus.

_________________
Please take a minute to complete my battery life survey. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 1:48 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Victoria, Canada
Thank-you for the reply and good suggestion, but what did you mean by non-optimus aware drivers? (I tried to install the 270.61-desktop version of the nvidia driver but it wouldn't proceed siting incompatibility).

For the lenovo implementation you mention, if you instruct it to always direct everything to the external GPU, do you still need the display driver installed on the integrated device? You seem to need the Integrated device and display driver setup to even install the NVIDIA driver, but maybe you could remove it after?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 7:38 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:03 am
Posts: 1352
Location: Toronto
I'm not sure what you mean by external GPU. What exactly are you trying to accomplish here?

_________________
Please take a minute to complete my battery life survey. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 3:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 1:48 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Victoria, Canada
I meant discrete GPU (which should be somewhat obvious I would think).

What I want is for the integrated Intel GPU device to be configured by the BIOS, but not used as a display adapter (either as the primary adapter, or from NVIDIA trying to use it to save power).

Hopefully this makes sense... so: what did you mean by non-optimus aware drivers? where do I find one?

Alternatively (along the lines of my other question) is there some way to configure the NVIDIA optimus driver to not require the integrated driver (i.e., disable optimus from the driver software)?

Finally, if those possibilities don't pan out: is it feasible to request a BIOS that optionally enables the integrated graphics device even when using the "Discrete" "Graphics Device" option? (e.g., I have a desktop which has such an option).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 4:28 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:03 am
Posts: 1352
Location: Toronto
I'm still not sure what you're ultimately going to do with such a setup.

What I meant with the non-Optimus aware driver was that the Quadro card would have regular Quadro drivers installed, and the Intel card would have regular Intel drivers installed. You may be able to accomplish this by forcibly installing stock drivers via Device Manager and the Have Disk feature.

Ultimately, it may not be possible as the video signal ends up going through the IGP framebuffer anyway, which could lead to issues.

_________________
Please take a minute to complete my battery life survey. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 4:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 1:48 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Victoria, Canada
"the video signal ends up going through the IGP framebuffer anyway"

Even when setting "Graphics Device"="Discrete" in the BIOS?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 4:48 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:03 am
Posts: 1352
Location: Toronto
Possibly; I'm not entirely certain. From what I gathered, it might be hardwired that way.

_________________
Please take a minute to complete my battery life survey. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group