thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Tue Aug 19, 2014 11:51 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 12:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 2
Location: elwood, indiana
I am trying to install Oracle Virual Box on my Lenovo Laptop E520 but the install will not work. The following url shows the error message I get:

http://www.scottylive.com/images/vb.jpg

I do not see anything in the Lenovo bios that relates to this error VT-x/AMD-V Virtualization. Is it called something else?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:45 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:39 pm
Posts: 579
Location: Tampa, FL
Maybe the information in this topic will help.

_________________
Gary A.

lenovo: T410 (2516-CTO) | i7-620M | 8GB | 320GB 7200rpm | WXGA+ | WiFi 6300 | Bluetooth | Webcam | DVD-RW | 9 Cell | Win7 Pro x64 | Full System Specs
IBM: T21 (2647-47U) | PIII 1GHz | 512MB | 60GB 5400rpm | 3Com Mini PCI Ethernet/56K | DVD-RW | WinXP Pro SP3 | Full System Specs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:07 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:00 am
Posts: 598
Location: United States
gskywalkers wrote:
I am trying to install Oracle Virual Box on my Lenovo Laptop E520 but the install will not work. The following url shows the error message I get:

http://www.scottylive.com/images/vb.jpg

I do not see anything in the Lenovo bios that relates to this error VT-x/AMD-V Virtualization. Is it called something else?


This is the T-series forum rather than the Edge forum, but I can try to help. Which processor does your E520 have? You do have VT-x enabled in the BIOS, right? It should be under CPU settings.

_________________
jayton4
Current models/upgrades:
R400 7439W1K- 8GB, Momentus XT 500GB, Intel 5300 WiFi
T410 2518X01- 8GB, Corsair Force GT 120GB
T410s 2901A3U- 8GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
T420s 4174PPU- 16GB, Intel 520-series 7mm 180GB & Crucial m4 mSATA 256GB, Intel 6300 WiFi
and a few classics in storage


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 12:25 pm
Posts: 2
Location: elwood, indiana
nikki605 wrote:
Maybe the information in this topic will help.

Ok, I found it in the Bios under Security of all places. Thanks very much for putting me on the right track.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:39 pm
Posts: 579
Location: Tampa, FL
gskywalkers wrote:
Ok, I found it in the Bios under Security of all places. Thanks very much for putting me on the right track.

Great! Glad that helped. :D

_________________
Gary A.

lenovo: T410 (2516-CTO) | i7-620M | 8GB | 320GB 7200rpm | WXGA+ | WiFi 6300 | Bluetooth | Webcam | DVD-RW | 9 Cell | Win7 Pro x64 | Full System Specs
IBM: T21 (2647-47U) | PIII 1GHz | 512MB | 60GB 5400rpm | 3Com Mini PCI Ethernet/56K | DVD-RW | WinXP Pro SP3 | Full System Specs


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group