thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 2:57 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 6:54 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 2:26 pm
Posts: 63
hello

I have got a x61t in sxga, after a fresh install on xp pro sp3, with the ISD wacom drivers, the thinkpad tablet button driver and thinkpad tablet short cut menu, nothing pops up when I press the tablet buttons.

The menus do work when I go to the lenovo or thinkpad folder in program files and double click on the appropriate exe; but nothing via buttons....

help!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 7:19 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12786
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
You need to install the tablet edition of XP for the tablet functions to work properly.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p, T43pSF

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:54 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 2:26 pm
Posts: 63
I don't think the laptop came with xp tablet edition and the shortcuts were working nonetheless.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:58 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 2:26 pm
Posts: 63
for instance, the OS does rotate when I rotate the screen


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:59 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12786
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Does the pen work properly?

Let me enlighten you on one thing: *all* X61 tablets were shipped with either XP tablet edition, or Vista of some kind. None of them left the factory with "standard" XP.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p, T43pSF

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:17 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 2:26 pm
Posts: 63
yes, with wacom's driver, the pen works

the laptop is second hand and I do not have a cd install. I have a xp pro from MSDN though.

I have seen there are tutorials to convert xp pro into a tablet edition, but it seems it is just to get windows journal and so on; will this get the tablet buttons of my x61t working ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:41 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12786
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
artic_squirrel wrote:
yes, with wacom's driver, the pen works

the laptop is second hand and I do not have a cd install. I have a xp pro from MSDN though.

I have seen there are tutorials to convert xp pro into a tablet edition, but it seems it is just to get windows journal and so on; will this get the tablet buttons of my x61t working ?


I could never be bothered with that...so I can't say.

If I needed XP, I installed it from proper recovery media.

With Vista or W7 it's not a big deal, since they natively support tablet functions.

If you need a set of XP Tablet disks for X61T, feel free to drop me a PM.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p, T43pSF

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 2:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:26 am
Posts: 6
Location: Tampere, Finland
I bought an X61 tablet without HDD and got hold of a Windows XP Tablet Edition install media, but I only have license for regular XP (for refurbished PC's).
Quote:
During setup, the files contained within Tabletpc.cab install the features that make up Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005. However, to invoke the Tablet PC setup routine, you must use a Product Key explicitly assigned for use with the Tablet PC operating system. The Product Keys for Windows XP Professional and Windows XP Tablet PC Edition 2005 are not interchangeable.
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 57087.aspx

Is there any way I can activate the tablet features or do I really need to buy a new license?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 3:01 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12786
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
If the set that you've obtained is a genuine Lenovo one, no activation will be required.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p, T43pSF

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 5:30 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:59 am
Posts: 54
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
I've added the Tablet features to regular XP Pro before. It's a little wonky since the handwriting input might not function, but buttons will work fine. Ask me if you need any more info on the subject. Works with the standard XP license.

_________________
IBM Thinkpad X61T | Intel L7700 @ 1.8Ghz | 12.1'' XGA | 2GB DDR2 | GMA965 | 60GB HDD | WinXP Tablet SP3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:26 am
Posts: 6
Location: Tampere, Finland
This was originally shipped with Vista Business (the original sticker in the bottom is too worn out to read but that's what Lenovo support site says), so I guess even OEM XP Tablet edition won't work here?

I guess Vista is good enough, I'm not picky. : )


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:15 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 1355
Location: Toronto, Canada
debris wrote:
This was originally shipped with Vista Business (the original sticker in the bottom is too worn out to read but that's what Lenovo support site says), so I guess even OEM XP Tablet edition won't work here?

ajkula66 wrote:
If the set that you've obtained is a genuine Lenovo one, no activation will be required.

You may decide to go with Vista, but what George was saying I think is true for XP Tablet Edition as well: if you use OEM Factory Reinstall disks of XP Tablet Edition for that machine, and you do a clean install on a fresh disk, then you won't need to activate XP or be able to read your faded Vista Product Key. Your thinkpad will come out of a factory re-install already activated.

Phil.

_________________
X61 Tablet SXGA+ (1.80 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750GB Momentus XT HDD) · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X60T, 600X, 770Z
Thinkpad Media Centre: X61T running XBMC with Broadcom Crystal HD BCM970015, Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 plugged into Cambridge Audio Sonata AR30 receiver


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:26 am
Posts: 6
Location: Tampere, Finland
pkiff wrote:
You may decide to go with Vista, but what George was saying I think is true for XP Tablet Edition as well: if you use OEM Factory Reinstall disks of XP Tablet Edition for that machine, and you do a clean install on a fresh disk, then you won't need to activate XP or be able to read your faded Vista Product Key. Your thinkpad will come out of a factory re-install already activated.

Oh I see. This definitely isn't from Lenovo. =)

I have no trouble reading either of the product keys, only the part that tells what the license is good for is faded.

I wonder if it would be possible to obtain them Lenovo disks from somewhere...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group