thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 10:06 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:18 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
So I've been testing Windows 8 (release version) on the ThinkPad T43.

I started going down the list of things that installed and seemed to work just fine:

"Power Management Driver for Windows 7", 1.65.05.21, Sep 5th, 2012
- is listed on Windows 7 driver page (not Windows 8)
- no issues with install

"Power Manager for Windows 7", 6.36, Oct 7th, 2012
- is listed on Windows 7 driver page (not Windows 8)
- must be extracted & installed in Windows 7 compatibility mode

"Fingerprint Software for Windows 7", 5.9.8.7264, Oct 15th, 2012
- no issue with install

"Active Protection System for Windows 7", 1.77.0.8, Oct 8th, 2012
- is listed on Windows 7 driver page (not Windows 8)
- no issue with install

- Winbond TPM
ERROR!
Windows 8 fails to boot, and has this in its logs:
Boot critical file c:\windows\system32\drivers\tpm.sys is corrupt

The "tpm.sys" file apparently has remain unchanged since 2005, even if it comes in a package dated 2009, 2012, etc. It works fine in XP, Vista, and even Windows 7, but causes Windows 8 to not boot.

Without the driver, there is an "Unknown device" in Device Manager, and all the security software of course fails to detect the security chip.

Does anyone have a solution?

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:52 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13616
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
This is not a T43 problem.
Stuff like this belongs in the Windows 8 Forum.
But IMHO you should forget about loading it on such an elderly machine.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:10 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
RealBlackStuff wrote:
This is not a T43 problem.
Stuff like this belongs in the Windows 8 Forum.
But IMHO you should forget about loading it on such an elderly machine.

Lenovo has not released an updated TPM binary newer than from 2005. That has nothing to do with Windows 8, really. An updated driver could benefit Windows XP, Vista, and 7.

The ThinkPad T43 runs Windows 7 amazingly well, but when it comes to Windows 8 (which has the same system requirements as Windows 7), the T43 is suddenly "elderly"??? I'm assuming you've never used Windows 8 on a T43, then; it runs GREAT.
Lenovo has listed Windows 8 as one of the supported operating systems for the ThinkPad T43, so even then they don't think it's so bad.

The only issue I've seen so far is the lack of working TPM driver. I've never really used the TPM before, I just don't like having the "Unknown device" listed.

Perhaps a thread title of "ThinkPad T43 and a newer TPM driver" would have been better?

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 8:02 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12690
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Xenomorph wrote:
The ThinkPad T43 runs Windows 7 amazingly well, but when it comes to Windows 8 (which has the same system requirements as Windows 7), the T43 is suddenly "elderly"???

Let's downshift for a second here...

W7 is OK on T43/p. Nothing more than that IMO, and I've ran it on more of these machines than I'd care to remember. "Amazingly well" for 2005 hardware, yes. Amazingly well in general might be a very long stretch.

Quote:
I'm assuming you've never used Windows 8 on a T43, then; it runs GREAT.

In your opinion. I was utterly underwhelmed. And I'm hardly the only one.

Quote:
Lenovo has listed Windows 8 as one of the supported operating systems for the ThinkPad T43, so even then they don't think it's so bad.

I honestly doubt that anyone at Lenovo actually bothered testing W8 on any kind of prolonged basis on a T43 unit...

Quote:
Perhaps a thread title of "ThinkPad T43 and a newer TPM driver" would have been better?

Definitely IMO.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:06 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:25 am
Posts: 786
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
The TPM chip in my X41t was TPM ver.1.1, while Windows 7 only works with ver. 1.2 and up. TPM drivers can be installed on Win7, but Windows can't actually use the chip because it is too old. I assume this applies to T43 as well.

_________________
X60 tablet 6363-P3U, 3GB ram, 128GB SanDisk Extreme SSD, SXGA+ screen, Intel 6300
T61 Frankenpad in 15 inch T60 body, UXGA LED-lit AFFS LCD, T9300, 6GB RAM, NVidia NVS140m, Intel 6205, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, 1TB HGST HDD + eBay caddy in Ultrabay
701c butterfly, 75MHz 486DX4, 40MB ram, 1GB CF card


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:29 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
twistero wrote:
The TPM chip in my X41t was TPM ver.1.1, while Windows 7 only works with ver. 1.2 and up. TPM drivers can be installed on Win7, but Windows can't actually use the chip because it is too old. I assume this applies to T43 as well.

Thank you for this information!

Upon further reading, apparently Vista and newer only work with TPM 1.2 (plus, a universal 1.2 driver has been included since Vista by Microsoft).

So even though the TPM 1.1 driver installed without issue in Windows Vista and Windows 7, the OS would NOT have even used the device!

I think I have a solution - a dummy driver. I've put together an INF that will install the TPM driver on Windows 8 without actually copying any files or trying to add a system service. It makes the "Unknown device" go away and doesn't interfere with Windows.

I will post this "driver" a little later.

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:13 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
This is what I'm using on Windows 8 for the TPM 1.1 chip on my ThinkPad T43 (ACPI\NSC1100):

http://xenomorph.net/data/drivers/t43tpm_0.1.zip (~1KB)

It is just an INF (no DLL or SYS file). It gets rid of the "Unknown device" from Device Manager, but doesn't cause boot-failures like the original driver.
It will add the device as "Winbond Trusted Platform Module 1.1" under System devices.
I've only used it on Windows 8 as the original TPM driver installs on Vista and Windows 7 without issue.

Other than that, Lenovo and Microsoft provide Windows 8 compatible software for everything else on the T43. Fingerprint scanner, Hotkey controls, HDD Active Protection, Power Manager, etc.
For video, I'm still using ATI's "Legacy" Catalyst 10.2 drivers (altered with Mobility Modder).

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:12 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:15 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Littleton, CO
Thought I'd chime in with my experiences with Win8 RP and Full versions on my daughters T43p. Everything went flawlessly other than downloading the wifi card driver and the display driver. The only real pain was the ati external event utility service was running and maxing out the cpu usage. I ended up disabling the service for it and everything is screaming fast now. :banana:
2gb Ram, 60gb OCZ Agility 3 SSD. :thumbs-UP:

_________________
ThinkPads: T420 W520, X61, X61s, T61, T43p (SATA Mod by RBS) & iPhone 5


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2012 8:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:45 am
Posts: 7
Location: Canton, OH
So what's the verdict with win 8 on a thinkpad? Are you enjoying it? Or was it just fun to experiment with?

_________________
3x Thinkpad T43 Owner


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2012 8:42 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:15 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Littleton, CO
Loving it! My daughter loves it too and that's what matters most! :)

_________________
ThinkPads: T420 W520, X61, X61s, T61, T43p (SATA Mod by RBS) & iPhone 5


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2012 12:34 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
scodal wrote:
So what's the verdict with win 8 on a thinkpad? Are you enjoying it? Or was it just fun to experiment with?

Windows 8 runs *surprisingly* well on my T43.

The interface and animations are incredibly smooth, and programs seem to launch quicker than they did on Windows 7. All the ThinkPad "stuff" works. The tilt-sensor and active protection, the power manager and battery maintenance, hot-keys and on-screen display, fingerprint scanner, etc, etc. No errors, crashing, or weird anomalies.

Plus, while the full-screen, touch-interface of Windows 8 drives me nuts on my primary Desktop computer (which has a larger screen and all my normal apps), I actually enjoy it on my smaller 14" laptop.

I'll definitely be making this my new primary OS for the system. It's not as quick as using XP, but it certainly feels quicker than with Vista or even Windows 7. I highly recommend Windows 8 on the ThinkPad T43.

It's not like my T43 specs were terrible:
Pentium M @ 2.13 GHz
2 Gigs of DDR2 RAM
Radeon X300 w/ Catalyst 10.2

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:37 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:28 am
Posts: 59
How do you get PowerPlay to work on the Mobility X300 (which my T43 is equipped with) in Windows 8?

I'm trying Windows 8 (PXE boot), but PowerPlay doesn't kick in to preserve power when I go to battery mode. Battery life therefor is much lower than in my Vista install. I've verified this with GPU-Z. Normal clocks are 230/300 Mhz (ram/core), while Powerplay about halves those values in Vista.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:20 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
FrankL wrote:
How do you get PowerPlay to work on the Mobility X300 (which my T43 is equipped with) in Windows 8?

I'm trying Windows 8 (PXE boot), but PowerPlay doesn't kick in to preserve power when I go to battery mode. Battery life therefor is much lower than in my Vista install. I've verified this with GPU-Z. Normal clocks are 230/300 Mhz (ram/core), while Powerplay about halves those values in Vista.

I didn't do anything to get PowerPlay to work. It "just worked" on my system.

When plugged in (~300/230 MHz):
Image

When unplugged (~105/122 MHz):
Image

PowerPlay setting:
Image

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:36 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:28 am
Posts: 59
thanks. Is the modded Catalyst 10.2 completely stable with the X300 in the T43, especially after extensive S3 standby/sleep cycling?

My normal OS installation is Microsoft Windows Vista, and I've previously tried many modded catalyst versions that I finally abandoned for a WindowsUpdate supplied driver because I would get the occasional BSOD on extensive S3 standby/resume cycling with the modded Catalyst versions (I never shut down or reboot windows, only when updates require it).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:15 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
FrankL wrote:
thanks. Is the modded Catalyst 10.2 completely stable with the X300 in the T43, especially after extensive S3 standby/sleep cycling?

I don't think I've *ever* had a BSOD or any stability issues on my T43 before. I only use modded drivers because that's the only way to get the latest drivers for it.

I've been using the 10.2 drivers since they were released (around late February, early March 2010, I guess). I've had zero issues with them. That's well over two years of nearly 24/7 stability. My system sleeps nightly, as I never turn it off.
Every day it wakes with a "beep!" when I hit a key so I can use it. I reboot it every other month or so for Windows Updates.

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:26 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:28 am
Posts: 59
Xenomorph wrote:
I don't think I've *ever* had a BSOD or any stability issues on my T43 before. I only use modded drivers because that's the only way to get the latest drivers for it.

I've been using the 10.2 drivers since they were released (around late February, early March 2010, I guess). I've had zero issues with them. That's well over two years of nearly 24/7 stability. My system sleeps nightly, as I never turn it off.
Every day it wakes with a "beep!" when I hit a key so I can use it. I reboot it every other month or so for Windows Updates.

That sounds promising. One more question: Which WDDM version does the Catalyst 10.2 driver support for the X300? dxdiag.exe will tell you in the display tab.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:12 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
FrankL wrote:
that sounds promising. One more question: Which WDDM version does the Catalyst 10.2 driver support for the X300? dxdiag.exe will tell you in the display tab.

The X300 only goes up to WDDM 1.0 / Vista.

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 2:18 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:28 am
Posts: 59
Xenomorph wrote:
The X300 only goes up to WDDM 1.0 / Vista.

Maybe, but the X300 driver shipping with Win8 reports WDDM 1.2 in dxdiag. Would it be impossible to support Direct2D for the X300? for example, WinXP had hardware GDI acceleration, which the X300 likely supports just fine.

I'll need to test that in Win8 with the build-in driver.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:43 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:28 am
Posts: 59
FrankL wrote:
..
maybe, but the X300 driver shipping with Win8 reports WDDM 1.2 in dxdiag. Would it be impossible to support Direct2D for the X300? for example, WinXP had hardware GDI acceleration, which the X300 likely supports just fine.

I'll need to test that in Win8 with the build-in driver.

I'm getting four times the performance (16 fps vs. 4 fps, reported window size 1080x760) in IE10 on Windows 8 using the build-in X300 driver in the Microsoft SpeedReading HTML drawing test compared to running it in IE9 on Windows Vista. Here's the link:
http://ie.microsoft.com/testdrive/Perfo ... t.html?o=1

Unless I'm mistaken, Direct2D is used for draw acceleration in internet explorer, and this seems to suggest that indeed the Direct2D feature, which is not part of WDDM 1.0, is supported by the X300.
I'd like to verify this observation through other means if possible.

never mind, I should have dug a bit deeper. The driver shipping with Windows 8 is a "Windows Basic Display Adapter" driver, basically a software renderer hence it shows all WDDM 1.2 features. The reason why IE html rendering is four times faster, is probably because the software Direct2D implementation in this driver is four times more efficient than the path taken by non-Direct2D rendering in Vista (also a software rendering path).

Am I correct to interpret your last post as saying that the 10.2 catalyst reports WDDM 1.0 in dxdiag on Windows 8, on the ATI X300 mobility?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:54 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
FrankL wrote:
Am I correct to interpret your last post as saying that the 10.2 catalyst reports WDDM 1.0 in dxdiag on Windows 8, on the ATI X300 mobility?
Yes.

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 3:47 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:28 am
Posts: 59
Can you explain how to install the Catalyst 10.2 on the T43 with Win 8?

I've modded the Catalyst 10.2 for Win Vista/7 x86 edition using the final release of the unofficial mobility modder tool. When I try to install the catalyst driver, I get a 'driver installation failed' error in the catalyst install wizard (started in Win7 compat mode with admin rights).

Manual installation from device manager with 'have disk' also leads to an error when selecting the X300 driver.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 9:44 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
FrankL wrote:
Can you explain how to install the Catalyst 10.2 on the T43 with Win 8?

I've modded the Catalyst 10.2 for Win Vista/7 x86 edition using the final release of the unofficial mobility modder tool. When I try to install the catalyst driver, I get a 'driver installation failed' error in the catalyst install wizard (started in Win7 compat mode with admin rights).

Manual installation from device manager with 'have disk' also leads to an error when selecting the X300 driver.

I don't remember doing anything special, but I did set the "Setup.exe" file to use "Windows Vista" compatibility mode and installed that way. (C:\ATI\Support\10-02_legacy_vista32-64_dd_ccc\Setup.exe)

Let me know if you have any issues with Desktop scaling. It seemed to work as expected in Windows 8 (but I had to edit the registry to get it to work under Windows 7).

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 4:39 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:28 am
Posts: 59
Xenomorph wrote:
I don't remember doing anything special, but I did set the "Setup.exe" file to use "Windows Vista" compatibility mode and installed that way. (C:\ATI\Support\10-02_legacy_vista32-64_dd_ccc\Setup.exe)

Let me know if you have any issues with Desktop scaling. It seemed to work as expected in Windows 8 (but I had to edit the registry to get it to work under Windows 7).

I noticed from your post that you used a different version of Catalyst 10.2 than I did. I've found the 'legacy XP/Vista32/Vista64' driver on the AMD website and now it works.

The version that did not work, presumably because the mod tool couldn't properly alter the entries, is a version I downloaded from the guru3d archive. It was called 10-2_vista32_win7_32_dd_ccc_wdm_enu. Thanks for helping me solve this mystery!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 1:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 5:33 am
Posts: 36
I ran one of the Preview versions of Win8 FROM A USB DRIVE for several weeks on my old T43p after (so I thought) the hard disk died. In fact the disk hadn't died, the controller for it had (or something else internally). I was using the Win8-2Go feature to run the whole machine off a USB. It was a real life saver until I could get a new Thinkpad. And, would you believe it, it was actually faster in everyday operation (not in booting up, of course) than Windows 7 had been. I didn't try to optimize drivers. I sorely miss my T43p, RIP. The height of the screen was just perfect for the kind of work I do. But then it gave up the ghost finally -- overheating and a bust fan caused something internal to give, and then it just died. For a replacement, I got the Thinkpad with the densest vertical resolution I could get, which turned out to be the W520. Sometimes as I type on the W520, I can for a moment think it's my T43p come back to life... OK, enough nostalgia. I do *not* miss the whining fan of the T43p (before it broke). The W520 with an SSD on Windows 8 is whisper-quiet. I never hear the fan or any other noise for that matter.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:41 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:28 am
Posts: 59
an update on running Windows 8 on the T43 (model 2668):

- CPU speed sometimes doesn't scale to the full 2 GHz when on the adapter. For some reason, Windows sometimes limits the CPU to 800Mhz (which is what I've set for battery mode). Cycling adapter/battery/adapter mode fixes this when it occurs. Very annoying! I'll try and see if I can fix this by using RMClock to manage the CPU speeds.

- there's something fishy with the firewall and/or wireless network. Sometimes after a resume from S3, I cannot receive UPNP broadcasts, which I use for running a UPNP ControlPoint (LeiaDS) to remote control my stereo. After a S3 standby/resume cycle, this usually is fixed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 6:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 6:22 am
Posts: 1
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Dear All,

I have tryed all the things to install ATI mobility radeon x300 on my t43 in windows 8, but with no success.
Could anyone please explain how could I make this good card work as expected on windows 8 machine?

Thanks a lot!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:41 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
ThinkPad T43, still going strong with Windows 8.1!

I may be upgrading my T43 to an SSD soon (maybe). This should give it a huge bump in performance.
lms25 wrote:
Dear All,

I have tryed all the things to install ATI mobility radeon x300 on my t43 in windows 8, but with no success.
Could anyone please explain how could I make this good card work as expected on windows 8 machine?

Thanks a lot!

I know this is an old post, but there are two things to get the Radeon X300 working:

1) Download the Legacy/Vista 10.2 drivers for Desktop cards.

2) Run Mobility Modder (http://www.hardwareheaven.com/modtool.php) to patch the Desktop drivers to work on Mobile chipsets.

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:45 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12690
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Xenomorph wrote:
I may be upgrading my T43 to an SSD soon (maybe). This should give it a huge bump in performance.

It most certainly will give a more-than-noticeable bump... I'm running an Intel X-25E in my T43p and it's simply amazing.

Do be careful with the choice of SSD, though, since there is no AHCI and hence no TRIM on T43/p...an older Intel drive is likely your best bet, and anything SF-based is a "no-no"...

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:52 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Posts: 166
Location: St. Louis, MO
ajkula66 wrote:
It most certainly will give a more-than-noticeable bump...I'm running an Intel X-25E in my T43p and it's simply amazing.

Do be careful with the choice of SSD, though, since there is no AHCI and hence no TRIM on T43/p...an older Intel drive is likely your best bet, and anything SF-based is a "no-no"...

I was specifically looking at a SandForce 2281 drive, since it has active garbage collection (and is great for systems that lack TRIM). In fact, OWC only uses SandForce chipset-based SSDs for their IDE/PATA offering.

Why do you say SF-based is a no-no?

This is the drive I was looking at (paired with an mSATA adapter):
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820226320

_________________
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 1:00 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12690
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Yes, OWC does use the SF-2281 controller. I don't own a single OWC drive so I can't comment on them from personal experience, but:

Sandforce based drives require serious (as in 30%) overprovisioning in order to work properly, not to mention the fact that I've seen quite a few of them vanish.

Intel's older drives are a much safer bet, and on a machine that runs a crippled SATA I standard will be as fast as any newer drive.

Do bear one thing in mind: If you're using an unconverted T43, the whole concept of adapter+SSD may or may not work, and if it does work it will return weaker results than it would on a comparable T42/p.

The only way to run an SSD in a T43/p or R52 is to SATA-mod it. Previous T4x machines are a whole different ballgame.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Running Linux while collecting SSDI: A31p, T42p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T60, T61, T410

For sale: T601 QXGA FrankenPad


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group