thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Thu Mar 30, 2017 7:32 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2013 3:56 pm
Posts: 20
Location: NYC , NY
Hi,
How do I adjust acceleration and sensitivity of my trackpoint on linux mint? I am a beginner on linux (although quite advance on windows).
Matt


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:33 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9765
I don't use Linux Mint, but the following information should be helpful.

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/How_to_co ... TrackPoint

_________________
DKB


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:21 pm 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Posts: 4432
Location: Minnesota
I used Ubuntu, which Mint is based on, on my R60e. I believe there are tweaks you can make in the settings for the stick sensitivity. I thought it worked well out of the box.

_________________
E7440


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:20 am
Posts: 49
Location: IL, USA
It's actually pretty easy to do.

If you have a trackpoint and touchpad:
Code:
cd /sys/devices/platform/i8042/serio1/serio2
sudo su
echo 255 > speed
echo 255 > sensitivity


255 is the max value for speed/sensitivity, feel free to experiment with that number.

If you only have a trackpoint and/or you have the touchpad disabled in the bios:
Code:
cd /sys/devices/platform/i8042/serio1
sudo su
echo 255 > speed
echo 255 > sensitivity


If your settings do not persist across reboots, you can write a script to set that configuation:
http://askubuntu.com/questions/137528/u ... trackpoint

Hope this helps!

_________________
x220, w520, x201 (WXGA+), x61t (SXGA+)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 8:51 am
Posts: 10
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
how about press to select, possible?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:07 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Posts: 2911
Location: Paragould AR USA
Yes, possible...I asked the same thing a while back. Here is the answer:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98479&p=644147&hilit=tap+to+click#p644147

_________________
Collection = T500 - R400 - X300 - X200 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - T61 (14.1" SXGA+) - T60 (15" SXGA+) - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P - 600E


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 1:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 8:51 am
Posts: 10
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Tnx Neil, done with
Code:
echo -n 1 > /sys/devices/platform/i8042/serio1/press_to_select


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited