thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:21 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 7:46 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Posts: 95
Location: USA
Does anyone know what the heck this "Unknown Device" in my XP Device manager is? It's Device Instance ID lists ACPI\IBM0071\4&61F3B4B&0

Ever since I re-installed the OS (XP SP2) on this T41 ThinkPad I have not figured out what this device is or where to get the driver for it.

Anyone have any ideas?

_________________
IBM T60p (2623-D8U) - v2.2
| Core2Duo T7600 | 2GB RAM | 200GB 7k200 + 100GB 7K100 | 256MB FireGL V5200 | Atheros AR5008 MIMO & Sierra MC5720 | 9 cell | DVD Multi | XP + OSX 10.5.2 + VISTA |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 8:27 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 11:54 am
Posts: 1813
Location: Seattle, WA
My guess: it's IBM Power Management Device.

Do you have IBM Power Management Driver installed?

_________________
X61


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 2:25 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 2:39 pm
Posts: 1592
Location: Durham, NC
ACPI refers to power components ... batteries, power supply, etc.

_________________
2668-75U T43, 2GB RAM, 2nd hand NMB kybd, Dock II, spare Mini-Dock, and spare Port Replicators. Wacom BT tablet. Ultrabay 2nd HDD.
2672-KBU X32, 1.5GB RAM, 7200 rpm TravelStar HDD.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 4:45 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Posts: 95
Location: USA
sugo wrote:
My guess: it's IBM Power Management Device.

Do you have IBM Power Management Driver installed?


Absolutely, I'm running version 1.33

Must be something else!

Anyone else have any other ideas?

_________________
IBM T60p (2623-D8U) - v2.2
| Core2Duo T7600 | 2GB RAM | 200GB 7k200 + 100GB 7K100 | 256MB FireGL V5200 | Atheros AR5008 MIMO & Sierra MC5720 | 9 cell | DVD Multi | XP + OSX 10.5.2 + VISTA |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:38 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 7:15 pm
Posts: 153
Location: Toronto, Canada
I checked my T41 2378DLU under system devices on Direct memory access controller the device details showed up as ACPI\PNP0200\4&61F3B4B&0, I suspect that this may be the same thing. I found no special drivers for it, XP provides the necessary files.

Hope this helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:46 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 11:54 am
Posts: 1813
Location: Seattle, WA
Puttagee wrote:
I checked my T41 2378DLU under system devices on Direct memory access controller the device details showed up as ACPI\PNP0200\4&61F3B4B&0, I suspect that this may be the same thing. I found no special drivers for it, XP provides the necessary files.

Hope this helps.


Same on a T42.

_________________
X61


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 11:48 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Posts: 95
Location: USA
Puttagee wrote:
I checked my T41 2378DLU under system devices on Direct memory access controller the device details showed up as ACPI\PNP0200\4&61F3B4B&0, I suspect that this may be the same thing. I found no special drivers for it, XP provides the necessary files.

Hope this helps.


Well, I cannot be sure it is the EXACT same device, and I suspect it is not as device ID's are unique in order to ensure the proper drivers load. Furthermore, there is no XP driver for this hardware component, whatever it is. It must be an IBM/Lenovo driver/subcomponent and we're back to square one: What is It and where do I get this driver?

It is not a big deal per say as it does not seem to affect functionality (at least not that I can see) but it just annoys the hell out of me :lol:

_________________
IBM T60p (2623-D8U) - v2.2
| Core2Duo T7600 | 2GB RAM | 200GB 7k200 + 100GB 7K100 | 256MB FireGL V5200 | Atheros AR5008 MIMO & Sierra MC5720 | 9 cell | DVD Multi | XP + OSX 10.5.2 + VISTA |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 11:49 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 11:54 am
Posts: 1813
Location: Seattle, WA
Found it.

ACPI\IBM0071\4&61F3B4B&0

is

IBM Thinkpad Fast Infrared Port.

_________________
X61


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:24 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Posts: 95
Location: USA
sugo wrote:
Found it.

ACPI\IBM0071\4&61F3B4B&0

is

IBM Thinkpad Fast Infrared Port.

GREAT JOB! Thanks!

Now all I need to do is locate an XP driver :lol:

_________________
IBM T60p (2623-D8U) - v2.2
| Core2Duo T7600 | 2GB RAM | 200GB 7k200 + 100GB 7K100 | 256MB FireGL V5200 | Atheros AR5008 MIMO & Sierra MC5720 | 9 cell | DVD Multi | XP + OSX 10.5.2 + VISTA |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:26 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:00 pm
Posts: 4818
Location: North Carolina, ...in my mind I'm going to Carolina.....
Delete it in device mgr and reboot.

_________________
Americas Best Soldiers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:32 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Posts: 95
Location: USA
Kyocera wrote:
Delete it in device mgr and reboot.

LOL, give me some credit, if it was that simple I would never have posted. If you read my initial post I mention there are NO drivers for it on the XP CD. I is unknown to the OS.

I did however find this LINK (given sugo's discovery). ... But the link downloads nothing... bummer...

_________________
IBM T60p (2623-D8U) - v2.2
| Core2Duo T7600 | 2GB RAM | 200GB 7k200 + 100GB 7K100 | 256MB FireGL V5200 | Atheros AR5008 MIMO & Sierra MC5720 | 9 cell | DVD Multi | XP + OSX 10.5.2 + VISTA |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 1:12 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:11 pm
Posts: 119
Location: London, UK
Driversguide have the driver:

http://list.driverguide.com/list/company795/index.html

Create a free account here:

http://driverguide.com/

I suspect once you got that installed, Software Installer or Software Update will update it to the latest IBM one

_________________
6457-5KU (T61p) - Intel Core 2 Duo T7700 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 200GB HDD, 24x DVD, 15.4" WUXGA TFT, nVIDIA Quadro FX570M, Card Reader, Intel 4965AG, Windows Vista Ultimate


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 2:12 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:00 pm
Posts: 4818
Location: North Carolina, ...in my mind I'm going to Carolina.....
excuse me, i was having a hard time understanding why finding a driver would be so dificult, i sometimes overlook the obvious as do others.

_________________
Americas Best Soldiers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 2:38 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:16 pm
Posts: 112
Location: France
The drivers I have are listed as

1 : c:\windows\system32\drivers\irenum.sys
2 : c:\windows\system32\drivers\nscirda.sys

according to the "Driver Details", the first driver is Microsoft native and the second is from National Semiconductors.

Both drivers are listed as being part of the XP SP2 installation files.

Have you verified/disabled/enabled the BIOS setting for the IR port. :wink:

_________________
IBM ThinkPad T43p.
IBM ThinkPad T41p.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:30 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 11:54 am
Posts: 1813
Location: Seattle, WA
Roy_W wrote:
Have you verified/disabled/enabled the BIOS setting for the IR port. :wink:


This is funny. I don't want the IR so I disabled the IR Port in BIOS. It still shows up in XP.

_________________
X61


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:44 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Posts: 95
Location: USA
sugo wrote:
Roy_W wrote:
Have you verified/disabled/enabled the BIOS setting for the IR port. :wink:


This is funny. I don't want the IR so I disabled the IR Port in BIOS. It still shows up in XP.


Confirmed, whether Disabled or Enabled in Bios the IR shows up as "Unknown Device" in Device Manager for me...

_________________
IBM T60p (2623-D8U) - v2.2
| Core2Duo T7600 | 2GB RAM | 200GB 7k200 + 100GB 7K100 | 256MB FireGL V5200 | Atheros AR5008 MIMO & Sierra MC5720 | 9 cell | DVD Multi | XP + OSX 10.5.2 + VISTA |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 4:19 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:16 pm
Posts: 112
Location: France
ssimon,

One or two other ideas

* Can you verify that you have the following file
c:\windows\inf\irnsc.inf
This files holds information relating to the National Semiconductor driver for the IR Port.

* Do you have this registry entry.
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\ACPI\IBM0071\4&3863886d&0
I imagine though that you don't have this entry since the hardware is not detected properly.

* Is your "Infrared Monitor" service started/stopped and is it disabled/manual/automatic
To verify run->cmd->services.msc

* Have you installed the "Intel chipset" drivers.

* Question - Does your system react when you point another IR device towards the Thinkpad.

Roy

_________________
IBM ThinkPad T43p.
IBM ThinkPad T41p.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:05 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Posts: 95
Location: USA
I wish to thank everyone for their assistance with this problem and I really apreciate all the good feedback I got here. However this is now a mute point for me as I sold my T41 and are now awaiting a new T60 2623-D8U.

Hopefully the info here will help anyone else with the same issue I had.

_________________
IBM T60p (2623-D8U) - v2.2
| Core2Duo T7600 | 2GB RAM | 200GB 7k200 + 100GB 7K100 | 256MB FireGL V5200 | Atheros AR5008 MIMO & Sierra MC5720 | 9 cell | DVD Multi | XP + OSX 10.5.2 + VISTA |


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group