thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:50 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: T60 random freezing
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 9:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:09 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Chicago
To everyone who has experienced random freezing on their T60, try this:

Open the Event Viewer by clicking the Start button, Run, and typing: eventvwr

In the left pane, click on System. In the right pane, sort by Source and look for red "acpiec" errors.

Let me know if you find any.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:07 am
Posts: 7
Location: NC
I got more than a dozen times of randon freezing since May 21.
I found 40 errors in the eventvwr. They are "Service control manager", "Dhcp", "Server", "W32Time", "cdrom"
It's really annoying. and made me lose confidence for the Thinkpad...
Could anyone give me a hand ?
Appreciate for your kindly help.

_________________
T60P 2623DDU 2GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 5:22 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 11:54 am
Posts: 1813
Location: Seattle, WA
DHCP and W32Time are most likely network issues rather than issues on your thinkpad.

cdrom sounds like a hardware issue.

_________________
X61


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 11:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:09 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Chicago
Eventvwr logs many errors, most of them innocuous. The only one you have to worry about for this problem is the acpiec error. Do you have it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 11:15 am 
Online
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Posts: 6891
Location: ThinkPadLand
gigga wrote:
I got more than a dozen times of randon freezing since May 21.
I found 40 errors in the eventvwr. They are "Service control manager", "Dhcp", "Server", "W32Time", "cdrom"
It's really annoying. and made me lose confidence for the Thinkpad...
Could anyone give me a hand ?
Appreciate for your kindly help.

T60P 2623DDU 2GB


per your sig line you have add in memory in your thinkpad..
remove it and see if you get random freezing..

your use of english indicates a non-english native language..
where are you from..?
why is your IP in taiwan and your location showing as NC..?
thanks

_________________
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 11:32 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 1:28 am
Posts: 610
Location: RI
If you are using the Fan Control software from this forum, I think that might be the problem.

I remember this error when I had my T43. There is some trick to disable this error but I am just too lazy to search for you.

_________________
currently own X61S, T42, X31, Macbook Pro Unibody i5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 11:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 3:07 am
Posts: 7
Location: NC
Thanks for your reply.
1. The additional 1GB RAM was bought directly from Lenovo website. I need it for 3D Pro/E CAD use. If I have to remove it, should I change to other brand RAM ? or the Max memory I'll get is only 1GB..?
2. I havn't used the Fan control software, though, I did suspect the CPU temperature caused the freezing.
3. Just hours ago, I opened a Pro/E 3D assembly, and IE browser for this forum. I closed the lid & took a nap. When I open the lid again try to wake the T60P, but no response again. Even no screen. (I think it died again during standby..)...

ps. Hi, Bill, I work at RTP, NC, and just took a vacation back to Taiwan.

_________________
T60P 2623DDU 2GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 2:07 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 11:27 am
Posts: 395
Location: Raleigh, NC
gigga wrote:
Thanks for your reply.
1. The additional 1GB RAM was bought directly from Lenovo website. I need it for 3D Pro/E CAD use. If I have to remove it, should I change to other brand RAM ? or the Max memory I'll get is only 1GB..?
2. I havn't used the Fan control software, though, I did suspect the CPU temperature caused the freezing.
3. Just hours ago, I opened a Pro/E 3D assembly, and IE browser for this forum. I closed the lid & took a nap. When I open the lid again try to wake the T60P, but no response again. Even no screen. (I think it died again during standby..)...

ps. Hi, Bill, I work at RTP, NC, and just took a vacation back to Taiwan.
There are some problems (which are hopefully being fixed by Lenovo). Currently, there are some RAM modules that are installed in T60s that do not work when installed with any other memory. See this thread. The problems with standby are usually attributed to the PowerPlay setting for the ATI graphics card (x1400 on T60, V5200 on T60p). If you turn off PowerPlay, or install BIOS version 1.04 (which is an earlier version of the BIOS, but it works better for alot of things), this problem is likely to stop. You can get the earlier BIOS from the Lenovo website here at the bottom of the page.

_________________
Lenovo X230 Tablet CTO modded with 128GB SSD and 8GB of RAM
Lenovo T60 2637-UN6 (Retired)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 4:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:11 am
Posts: 30
Location: Cambridge MA
I got my T60p at the start of the month, a 15 days later it died on me - but I had been running it nonstop during those 15 days if that matters. I had the top down on it and external connections (24" monitor, ethernet, microphone, USB to monitor which then allowed photo cards and printer access), USB keyboard, USB mouse.

I took it in, they replaced the motherboard on it, and I got it back yesterday.

It worked fine for the rest of the day, and then I went to sleep and left it again top down with things connected to it. I came out in the morning and the login screen was up, as if it had restarted and was waiting for me to login, but it was completely unresponsive to any input.
I had to hold the power button to restart it, and then it worked most of the day. I finally had some time away from some projects to goof off on the web and so I played a Flash game online - during that there was a static noise and the unit was frozen - I assume the static noise (from the speakers) was just the sound card in mid-freeze.
I restarted it and it worked long enough to boot and get everything back up again - I then went to ebay and before it could load the page, it froze again.

There is 2GB of RAM in this unit, the original 1GB stick is in the desk here in a static guard, and the 2GB (2x1GB) is from 1-800-Memory.

I don't know what bios version this is, but it is a brand new motherboard from being serviced.


I am so frustrated about this because I specifically bought a ThinkPad because I had heard that they were so great and I *really* need my machines to be stable for work.

This is absolutely ridiculous. The machine itself is less of the hassle for me at this point - I can get about 3 junky HP laptops for what I paid for this ThinkPad, and essentially assume they are disposable.

The hassle for me is the time I lose in dealing with this annoyance, and having to resinstall all of the applications on a machine after one dies and working out the licensing again.

Please tell me that there is a fix to this, otherwise I have a brand new ThinkPad I would like to sell if anyone wants it.

_________________
Eric Smith


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 5:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 4:09 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Chicago
Again, please tell me if you have the acpiec error in your event viewer.

The freezing is caused by a bad embedded controller, for which Lenovo will be releasing a fix shortly. If you want you can call them and ask for version 1.05a of the embedded controller. It's not officially released yet.

I'm not sure, but I think alot of the "bad memory" problems really have nothing to do with the memory, and everything to do with the embedded controller.

So people, please tell me if you have the acpiec error!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 5:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:11 am
Posts: 30
Location: Cambridge MA
I have no acpiec errors - the only errors in there today are WAM service failure, DNS failure, and RPC failure.

The machine appears very happy all the way up until the freeze.

As long as it doesn't die during one of these freezes, then that is better than nothing - but I honestly can't continue to work like this if it is going to freeze - I am a tech consultant and program on a variety of things and I really need to know when the machine is causing issues and when my code is causing issues.
I have been able to rule out my code in the past two days because since this machine was being repaired I haven't done anything on it.

Business machine my ***.

_________________
Eric Smith


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:16 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:21 pm
Posts: 160
Has this been resolved? I have random freezing too, I speculate Norton has something to do with it, I've ruled out memory and the ATI hotkey poller.

_________________
X61t, T60, T23, T21 (all XP), 385XD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:35 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 1:12 pm
Posts: 243
Location: Redmond, WA, USA
Try to run the machine for a while with the original memory only. If it does not happen again, you'll know there is a problem with the memory you bought from a third party.
Also, even though it looks very simple, the memory has to be put in just right for a clean contact, and the socket is rather fragile. The memory has to be pushed in at just the right angle and it must "hit bottom" along its whole length before you can lower it to fit in the latches. If while you were removing or installing the memory you were not using the correct angle, or did not hit bottom all the way, or you forced anything, you may have damaged the socket or one of its delicate surface solder connections to the mainboard, and all bets are off. But hopefully by just reseating the memory the problem will go away.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:37 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:21 pm
Posts: 160
I have two T60s. The freezing doesn't happen on my other T60 so I swapped the memory to rule out possible memory issues.

However this does not rule out a faulty contact somewhere along the line, as you suggest, but I would expect the freezing to happen more often if that were the case. It occurs once a day or so.

My 2, 1GB sticks of additional memory were purchased from Lenovo and are made by Hynix. I originally had 2GB in one machine and 1GB in the other, now I have 1.5GB in each.

_________________
X61t, T60, T23, T21 (all XP), 385XD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 9:29 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:21 pm
Posts: 160
I had the planar board changed on the freezing T60... No more freezes.

_________________
X61t, T60, T23, T21 (all XP), 385XD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T60 random freezing
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 8:48 am
Posts: 1
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
My T60p freezes every half hour while I'm playing or few times per day if I'm using it for downloading, surfing, watching videos etc.

I found these issues on event viewer:
Critical:
Kernel-Power

Error:
Ntfs
pcmcia
Service Control Manager
TPM
NETLOGON
GroupPolicy
Disk
Service Pack Installer
atikmdag
EventLog
DistributedCOM
WindowsUpdateClient
sptd
BTHUSB
VDS Basic Provider

Can somebody help me? Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T60 random freezing
PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 5:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 6:31 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Rome, Italy
I am experiencing an identical trouble. It freezes randomly: it can work flawlessly for 3 days and then freeze, or for 1 day. etc.
I really don't know what to do...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T60 random freezing
PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 2:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 11:56 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Oxford, NC
What condition is your battery in? I have found that a dying or dead battery often will lock up the system. Try operating your laptop with the battery removed and see if anything changes.

Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T60 random freezing
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 10:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 9:09 am
Posts: 22
Location: Chelmsford Essex, United Kingdom
I had lock up problems due to the GPU overheat. After I solved GPU overheat problem machine did lock up couple of times resulting in one occasion with screen flash and failure of ATI driver (x1400). After uninstalling and cleaning registry and installing fresh copies of ATI drivers, lock ups didn't show up again.

I just have ACPI erors in event viewer every time the machine reboots because of TPFAN controll. But it is just warning not critical error.

Hope it helped


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T60 random freezing
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2013 9:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 6:31 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Rome, Italy
leacris1 wrote:
What condition is your battery in? I have found that a dying or dead battery often will lock up the system. Try operating your laptop with the battery removed and see if anything changes.

Chris

Probably you are right. I tried using another battery (I have 2 of them) and from about 10 days I don't get freezes! Thank you for the hint! I would have bought another computer if I did not know about this battery problem!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: T60 random freezing
PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2013 9:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 6:31 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Rome, Italy
update:
the freeze problem is not due battery troubles: I just had a freeze with the second battery I am trying with... Now I have to choice between replacing the mother board or buy a Thinkpad T500 that is the only 16:10 screen 15"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group