thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 4:23 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 5:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 7:17 pm
Posts: 17
Location: London, UK
I need to replace my T42P (2373-KTU) motherboard (Coke spill) :( , so im looking for a replacement on ebay. I believe that all T4* motherboards will work in the T42P, but my question is, what graphics chip do I need to drive the 1400x1050 resolution I have on my 14inch screen? I dont need the speed of the FirlGL, but I do need the full resolution. Most of the motherboard have a 32mb Radeon 7500. Is that sufficient? Does anyone know?

Much appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 6:00 am 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 5:45 am
Posts: 1067
Location: Penrith, Australia
I think anything with the Radeon 9000 or 9600 will get you the SXGA+ that you're looking for. The 7500 will only get you the XGA.

_________________
HP Pavilion dv7|C2D P7550 2.26GHz|4GB|500GB|DVD/RW|17.3" 1600 x 900|ATI HD 4530|Win 7 Home Premium


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 6:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:17 am
Posts: 14
Location: Dresden, Germany
A Radeon 7500 with 32MB is sufficent.

The table on wikipedia shows, how much memory is needed for any resolution/colordepth in 2D. (I only found it on german wikipedia, sorry)
http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grafikspeicher

So, 6MB is enough for 1600x1200 @32bit colordepth.

However, the R7500 is not that fast on Applications/Games at higher resolutions.

_________________
T42/1,7GHz/R9600/SXGA+/2GB RAM/120GB HDD/VISTA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:38 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Posts: 2216
Location: Glendora, CA
I took the liberty of searching E-bay for you.

It's just a basic search for "T42 Motherboard" but atleast you get an idea of price.

Some of them come with Dothan processors. You could pull the CPU and sell it in the marketplace here to make up for some money. A lot of users appear to be in the middle of upgrading to Dothan right now.

_________________
New:
Thinkpad T410 i5 2.4GHz Nvidia 3100 256MB, 120GB Samsung 840 SSD, 1440x900 LCD

Old:
Dell Latitude E6500, D630, E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group