thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 4:15 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: IBm 600e error 0173,0163
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 9:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:21 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Beirut,Lebanon
i have Ibm 600E 2645-4eu when i power it on it reads the memory and then i have the number 173,163, and then to the blue screen , i put ok and the date and time is fine and normal . i tried to change the cmos and the error is still the same , i trid to enter to the bios by pressing f1 and many keys and also i can't enter it :S soo plz plz can anyone help me in this pb i need to fix it soo plz somebody help me

_________________
Mas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:10 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 5:21 pm
Posts: 522
Location: Houston, TX
Can you describe the blue screen?? The 163 and 173 are the CMOS battery. After you replace the battery you should enter the bios to correctly enter the date and time. Then the system will cycle off the on. This next screen you should see the I/O symbol. This is for you to manually power cycle the system. Do you get thru these steps??

_________________
Z61p (WUXGA)/2.16ghz/2gb/60gb, R51/1.8ghz/1gb/160gb, R40/1.5ghz/2gb/80gb, 600E/366mhz/416mb/20gb, Project R51 with SXGA+


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:11 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Posts: 8942
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Welcome to thinkpads.com!

It appears that your CMOS (backup) battery may be dead. That would account for the 163 and 173 errors. You may or may not also get a 161 error. Download a copy of the Hardware Maintenance Manual for the 600/600E from here:

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... WIK-3SYPX2

It contains information about the errors and instructions on how to change the battery. It is located in the memory bay, tucked up between the front edge of the laptop and plugs into the motherboard.

You should be able to access the BIOS by holding down the F1 key while the laptop is powered on, and continue holding it down until you get the "Easy Setup" (BIOS) menu.

_________________
Ray Kawakami
[DONOR] X22;X24;X31;X41;X41T;X60;X60s;X61;X61s;X200s;X300;X301;Z60m;Z61t;Z61p;560Z;600;600E;600X;T21;T22;T23;T41,T410;R50;A21p;A22p;A31;A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 7:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:21 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Beirut,Lebanon
1st of all thanks 4 answaring .well vanaya the blue screen is the errors and have the numeric symbols 0173,0163 then i put ok the date is fine and its not reset so i put ok and nothing will hapen i power it off then on and have the same thing.also when it is poweing on there is no logo have been shown and i try holding & pressing f1 nothing happen .i want to ask can i put a new battery than the ibm battery but the same number 2025 such as panasonic or sony because where i live i don't have the ibm battery.

_________________
Mas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 7:53 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 5:21 pm
Posts: 522
Location: Houston, TX
Usually, once you enter the time and date info and hit enter or click on ok button. The system should cycle off then on. Then get the manual power cycle symbol screen. You shouldn't have to power cycle it until the screen tells you to. I think this is a clue to where the hang up is.

As far as the battery. If you have access to a volt meter. Test the battery to see if it is measuring 3.3v. If it does not, and ONLY for test purposes. I would, pry off the metal tabs and identify the polarity and get the coin battery CR3032 (or compatible) and safely tape the leads correctly to the battery.

_________________
Z61p (WUXGA)/2.16ghz/2gb/60gb, R51/1.8ghz/1gb/160gb, R40/1.5ghz/2gb/80gb, 600E/366mhz/416mb/20gb, Project R51 with SXGA+


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 7:21 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Beirut,Lebanon
man :) first of all thanks 4 replying
2day i get a new battery and before i put it i measure it and it was 3.30 volt because its new soo i try to put it . then i power the laptop on first of all it view to me the codes 0161 and 0173 and to the blue screen that have a picture with error soo i put ok and i add the date . soo i put ok then nothing happen . i try to press ok another time it didn't press i can play with mouse but i wherever i press its doesn't made any action :S soo any solution 4 that ???

_________________
Mas


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group