thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.
at: thinkpads.com


If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:14 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 5:08 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 1:04 pm
Posts: 190
Location: Rochester MI USA
I just installed an aftermarket $35 Ebay battery. It works fine (although it is almost 20% lower capacity than advertised). However, the Thinkpad battery manager detects it as a non-IBM battery and pops up a warning at every opportunity. Does anyone know if the warning can be disabled? It goes away on its own but it is annoying.

Thanks,
Paul

_________________
Paul Goelz
www.pgoelz.com
Rochester MI USA


Last edited by pgoelz on Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 11:14 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 1:52 am
Posts: 838
Location: Idaho, USA
pgoelz wrote:
I just installed an aftermarket $35 Ebay battery. It works fine (although it is almost 20% lower capacity than advertised). However, the Thinkpad battery manager detects it as a non-IBM battery and pops up a warning at every opportunity. Does anyone know if the warning can be disabled? It goes away on its own but it is annoying.

Thanks,
Paul


You may have to uninstall TV Power Manager software. I believe there are other ways to follow the condition of one's battery, probably just through Windows (especially Windows 7) however I've not explored them. Otherwise, power manager is fairly useless and duplicative of what Windows offers itself.

For what it is worth I've been running Windows 7 on a couple of Thinkpads recently (not this one that I'm typing on, unfortunately) and although I have installed a few beta TV applications, I have not missed the overwhelming majority of them.

_________________
Ken Fox


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:10 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 1:04 pm
Posts: 190
Location: Rochester MI USA
Thanks Ken, that is pretty much what I figured. And yes, Power Manager does duplicate the Windows power manager. But it also adds some extra features which I like, such as all the battery information. The warning isn't all THAT obtrusive.... it goes away in a few seconds. It is just annoying having what amounts to a marketing / CYA message in my face every time I power up.

Interestingly, as soon as I installed it I started having display driver crashes. That stopped after I went to the Intel site and installed the latest Intel driver (later than the one on the Lenovo site). It seemed like power manager was crashing the video driver when it changed speeds/modes.... it only did it when attempting to play videos, not during normal operation.

Paul

_________________
Paul Goelz
www.pgoelz.com
Rochester MI USA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:28 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 1356
Location: Toronto, Canada
pgoelz wrote:
The warning isn't all THAT obtrusive.... it goes away in a few seconds. It is just annoying having what amounts to a marketing / CYA message in my face every time I power up.
I also find the warning annoying and intrusive. You can revert to using the standard Windows battery gauge without uninstalling by going into the Battery Manager options and clearing the check mark to display icon in tray. That is what I'm doing now. I think that without the Lenovo software installed, you may lose the option of controlling exactly at what percentage drain you want to start/stop charging, and that is the main reason I've kept it.

I have been waiting for NotebookBatteryInfo to be updated in the hopes that I will be able to use it in place of the Lenovo battery gauge until Lenovo fixes this problem in their software:
http://www.batteryinfo.co.cc/

I poked around a bit in the registry and in some of the program libraries, but was unable to find a tweak that would disable the "not a genuine" Lenovo battery warning.

Phil.

_________________
X61 Tablet SXGA+ (1.80 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750GB Momentus XT HDD) · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X60T, 600X, 770Z
Thinkpad Media Centre: X61T running XBMC with Broadcom Crystal HD BCM970015, Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 plugged into Cambridge Audio Sonata AR30 receiver


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 3:56 am
Posts: 3
Location: Los Angeles, USA
It is possible to patch the toolbar, so that it does not show the warning. Files:
PWMTR32V.DLL
PWMTR64V.DLL

Located around:
C:\Program Files (x86)\ThinkPad\Utilities

This is an instruction for a system programmer, and even for those - please use this on your own risk.
If the file is patched improperly, then Explorer will constantly crash until the file is removed or reverted.

Power Manager Version 3.05
PWMTR64V.DLL (64-bit version):
Locate the following bytes:
74 0D BF 09 00 00 00
And replace with:
EB 0D BF 09 00 00 00

Power Manager Version 3.25 (they have changed a few things)
PWMTR64V.DLL (64-bit version):
Locate:
74 0B 8D 7A 08 45 33 C0
Replace with:
EB 0B 8D 7A 08 45 33 C0

Both versions 3.05 and 3.25, 32-bit:
PWMTR32V.DLL (32-bit version):
Locate the sequence of bytes:
74 0A BD 09 00 00 00
And replace with:
EB 0A BD 09 00 00 00

Version 3.61 patch:

64-bit version, PWMTR64V.DLL
Bytes:
BA 01 00 00 00 85 C0 74
Replace the 74 byte to EB, so that the sequence looks like:
BA 01 00 00 00 85 C0 EB


32-bit version, PWMTR32V.DLL
Bytes:
85 C0 74 0A BD 09 00 00 00
Replace the 74 byte to EB, so that the sequence looks like:
85 C0 EB 0A BD 09 00 00 00



I don't know if there are side effects that affect a battery time calculation or power regulation. But during the time I've been using it (more than a year), no side effects were found.

Lenovo: please add a check box "Do not show a warning sign again". Just because of the warning people most probably will remove the software and not use it, rather than buying a genuine battery.


Last edited by rrtdj on Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:07 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 4:09 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:48 am
Posts: 571
Location: Lake Forest, CA
rrtdj wrote:
For 64-bit version, locate the sequence of bytes: ...


I'm not suffering from this issue, but have to ask how in the world you deduced the override. That's quite impressive.

Art


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 7:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 3:56 am
Posts: 3
Location: Los Angeles, USA
ArtShapiro wrote:

I'm not suffering from this issue, but have to ask how in the world you deduced the override. That's quite impressive.

Art


By doing reverse engineering, and going backwards from the "non-genuine" message - one can see by which factors it is triggered. There is some complicated formula in place and a comparison - if the result doesn't match - it returns a code of 9 (which afterwards is compared against, and a message displayed). So changing the above bytes will avoid returning code 9.

The message and a permanently visible black exclamation mark are both removed after this patch.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:16 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 7:38 pm
Posts: 277
Location: Chicago, IL
rrtdj wrote:

By doing reverse engineering, and going backwards from the "non-genuine" message - one can see by which factors it is triggered. There is some complicated formula in place and a comparison - if the result doesn't match - it returns a code of 9 (which afterwards is compared against, and a message displayed). So changing the above bytes will avoid returning code 9.

The message and a permanently visible black exclamation mark are both removed after this patch.


I am amazed you were able to figure this out, I had searched the internet for a fix for quite some time and the only "solution" I found was to simply uninstall Lenovo's power manager.

I had my doubts at first (editing a .dll is not something to be taken lightly) but everything is working just perfectly. I had explorer crash on me (as you warned) soon after I did it, but since restarting I have yet to have that issue return.

This is seriously impressive, you're a genius. Mad props.

_________________
Current: X230 - 2325-2RU - i5-3360M 2.80GHz - 8GB DDR3L - IPS - 128GB Crucial M4 mSATA + 500GB HDD - Intel 6205 2x2 - Webcam/BT/FPR
Previous: X60s - 1702-3QU | X200s - 7466-44U
Projects: 560 - 2640-2OU | 600E - 2645-3AU | T21 2647-6AU | X60t - 6366-L6U


~I love the new keyboard~


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 1:07 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Dulovo, Bulgaria / Istanbul, Turkey
It works! Thanks a lot rrtdj!!!

_________________
IBMX60s L2400 1.6Ghz, 3 RAM, 250 Gb, Win7
DELL PRECISION T7400 Intel Xeon x5472, 8 RAM, nVIDIA Quad FX5600, 2x146, Win x64
TOSHIBA A100 Intel C2D T7400, 3 RAM, 250 Gb, Win7
IBMX41 MLV 758 1.5GHz, 512 RAM, 40Gb, WinXP
IBMR32 1.8-GHz Pentium4, 1 RAM, 60Gb, WinXP
hp nc4010 1.6GHz Pentium M, 1 RAM, 40Gb, WinXP


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:06 am
Posts: 6
Location: Ampfing, Germany
rrtdj, maybe you can also figure out how to disable battery stretch notification when battery is on 20%? The feature seems to be useless for me at least and rather annoying.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:03 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 9:17 am
Posts: 1356
Location: Toronto, Canada
avdim wrote:
battery stretch notification
? I don't know what this is. Maybe it's a translation issue. Can you explain further?

_________________
X61 Tablet SXGA+ (1.80 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750GB Momentus XT HDD) · T60p UXGA · Legacy: X60T, 600X, 770Z
Thinkpad Media Centre: X61T running XBMC with Broadcom Crystal HD BCM970015, Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 plugged into Cambridge Audio Sonata AR30 receiver


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:06 am
Posts: 6
Location: Ampfing, Germany
Help gives the following topic.

    Quote:
    This section describes the Battery Stretch settings available in both Basic and Advanced modes.
    Battery Stretch gives you extra battery life when you need it most. It allows you to disable selected devices in your computer to gain extra battery life.
    Battery Stretch can be activated in one of the following three ways:
    While in Basic Mode of Power Manager, click Settings button present in Power Use tab or switch to Advanced Mode and click the View Battery Settings hyperlink present in Power Plan tab. A Battery Stretch panel will be displayed. Select Enable Battery Stretch option to activate battery stretch in your computer.
    Press Fn + F3(Fn + End) to view Power Plan menu.
    Right click on Power Manager’s battery gauge displayed on taskbar to select Activate Battery Stretch.
    Once Battery Stretch is activated, increase in battery life is estimated based on the selections in Battery Stretch panel and is displayed as Estimated increase in battery life. This value varies based on computer usage and current battery remaining time. The value thus estimated is the minimum amount of time by which battery life will be increased.

The problem is that it always popup notification in case this feature is disabled. And I dont't want to enable it because NONE of sugested power saving options really make any sense. It seems to wake up on 25 or 20 %. The icon is ugly even if stretch is on. And there is no setting to chanhe threashold etc. The simpleast way will be turn it on on 3% instead of 25%. In that case it will never pop up.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:10 am
Posts: 1
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Hi rrtdj,
I too am amazed at your ability here. Apparently Lenovo has not figured out that this message is little more than malware/nagware/adware and fixed this message. I have the current power manager version 3.30 and the above fix does not work, at least my hex editor does not find the number sequence. Can you offer any advise for version 3.30?
David


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:39 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 1:04 pm
Posts: 190
Location: Rochester MI USA
rrtdj wrote:
Lenovo: please add a check box "Do not show a warning sign again". Just because of the warning people most probably will remove the software and not use it, rather than buying a genuine battery.

Or better still, remove the incentive to use knockoff batteries. Make the genuine batteries more reliable and/or longer lived and/or less expensive. I would very much prefer to use genuine batteries but not at the price per month of life that I have experienced.

Paul

_________________
Paul Goelz
www.pgoelz.com
Rochester MI USA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 4:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 3:18 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Riga, Latvia
Hey!
At first, my apologies for bringing up a topic this old.
I have, however, probably just done a mistake, which will be regretted every time I use my x60s.
I had my Thinkpad PowerManager 3.25 patched according to this topic - worked great. Today I was updating some of the software, and the Power manager was updated to the latest 3.59, which, of course, spoiled everything.
Are there any updates to this thread? I've been googling for a few hours now, can't find a thing.
I do not want to downgrade, as I prefer newer software to older, of course. But is that the only cure? Is everyone with a non-genuine battery using the old PM or suffering from the nag screen?
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 3:56 am
Posts: 3
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Version 3.61 patch:

64-bit version, PWMTR64V.DLL
Bytes:
BA 01 00 00 00 85 C0 74
Replace the 74 byte to EB, so that the sequence looks like:
BA 01 00 00 00 85 C0 EB


32-bit version, PWMTR32V.DLL
Bytes:
85 C0 74 0A BD 09 00 00 00
Replace the 74 byte to EB, so that the sequence looks like:
85 C0 EB 0A BD 09 00 00 00


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:19 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Boston, MA
This is a great thread, and exactly what I'm looking for, but this looks like it's geared towards only the version of the power manager software from Windows 7. Does anyone know the right file to patch (or what to patch, for that matter) for XP, which is version 1.99i? Thanks in advance for any help, and to rrtdj for his ideas.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 4:40 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13856
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
I haven't tried it yet, but in XP you need to check in:
C:\Program Files\ThinkPad\Utilities\PWRMGRTR.DLL and search for the same string.
Assuming you only need to replace the 74 with EB here as well, and you should be done.
Don't have a 'fake' battery to test this out.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:19 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Boston, MA
Hmmm....found that file, but none of the byte sequences seem to match the byte sequences in the posts about the Windows 7 versions. If anyone does come up with the proper byte sequence for XP, I'd be very much obliged.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 10:31 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13856
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Search for: 85 C0 74 0A BD 09 00 00 00
I found it in the line starting at 00005F28
(32-bit XP-Pro)

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:19 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Boston, MA
That worked, thanks! Rebooted into safe mode, edited the file, and now my cheapo-battery indicator is gone. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 11:19 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Dallas, TX
Great info rrtdj!!

Here's a little tool I created for patching the DLL: Patcher

It tries to automatically find the location of the DLL using the path found under the key
[HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\PwmEWSvc]\ImagePath

You can also supply your own path in the 1st parameter
e.g. PM_Patcher.exe c:\temp

I patched an x61s running PM v3.62 on win7 x64, it works great!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:25 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Oulu, Finland
This is not working XP version 1.99i, does someone to do the same Patch version 1.99i?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:19 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13856
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Update your (outdated) version...

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:19 am 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Posts: 5778
Location: Israel
I was under the impression that 1.99 is the latest version of Power Manager for XP.

_________________
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X61 7673-V2V
Collectibles: X32 w/ IPS Screen, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 11:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:25 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Oulu, Finland
Version 3.62 is available only to Vista/Win7.

The latest version of XP is 1.99i.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:40 am 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13856
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Actually it's 1.99j.
My (XP-Pro 32-bit) version (as referred to above) is 1.95.
I have no intention yet to update just for this, sorry.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:32 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:48 am
Posts: 571
Location: Lake Forest, CA
rrtdj wrote:
Version 3.61 patch:
Alas, this might turn into a neverending support burden but: has anyone deduced the appropriate hex string for the relatively new 3.62 version? It unfortunately seems to not conform to the 3.61 code.

Art


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 7:45 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 9:03 am
Posts: 81
Location: Italy.
A few posts up someone posted a patch for 3.62 that I can confirm works


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:48 am
Posts: 571
Location: Lake Forest, CA
bugmn wrote:
A few posts up someone posted a patch for 3.62 that I can confirm works
My T61 happens to be the 32 bit Windows 7; the neat little utility must only be for 64 bit as it doesn't find anything.

Art


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group