thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:28 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:27 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:06 pm
Posts: 193
Location: Montreal, Canada
I was wondering if someone can help me out. I'll try to detail my issues as much as

possible.

Here is my set-up:

1) I have an x200s running Windows 7 (64-bit).
2) I bought an F3507g card on eBay and installed it.
3) I flashed Zender's BIOS mod to make the card work on my x200s
4) I installed Lenovo's HSDPA wireless WAN driver here:
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-73681
5) After doing step 4, I have the following items showing in Device Manager:
- Under "Modems": F3507g Mobile Broadband Modem Port
- Under "Network adapters": F3507g Mobile Broadband Driver
- Under "Ports (COM & LPT)": F3507g Mobile Broadband Device Management (COM6)
- Under "Ports (COM & LPT)": F3507g Mobile Broadband GPS Port (COM7)
- Under "Smart card readers": F3507g Mobile Broadband USIM Port
- Under "Universal serial bus controllers": F3507g Mobile Broadband Device
6) I inserted an active SIM card (with Rogers Wireless in Canada), and Rogers' APN is internet.com.

Now here are the issues:

1) I tried installing ThinkVantage GPS here:
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-73724 but it won't install, saying there is no GPS device present. So I can' use GPS.
2) I tried connecting to the Rogers network using Sony Ericsson's Wireless Manager 5, but it gave me an error saying no broadband device present. Others have managed to get this to work, but I can't figure it out. It doesn't even recognize that I have a F3507g card installed, but Windows does.
3) I tried connecting to the Rogers network using Sierra Wireless'3G Watcher, but it gave me an error saying no broadband device present.
4) I tried creating a dial-up connection in Windows 7 (number: *99#, username: <blank>, password: <blank>), and it tries to connect, but then it gives me "Error 734: The PPP Link Control Protocol Was Terminated". I've looked at the MS article describing the 734 error and I've taken all the steps to no avail.

I've read/searched as much as I can, but I can't seem to figure it out. Any help would be much appreciated.

_________________
T60p: T7400, 4GB, 15" UXGA Flexview, V5200, Seagate XT 500GB 7200rpm hybrid, DVD-RW, Atheros AGN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64
X200s: SL9400, 4GB, WXGA+ LED, 160GB Intel X25-M G2, WiMax/WiFi Link 5350, MC8781 WWAN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64


Last edited by efrant on Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:07 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9673
To begin with Sierra Wireless's 3G Watcher will not work with a Sony Ericsson device.

It looks like Error 734 might be because you have not supplied a correct username and password. It could also result from your line not being provisioned for the proper data service (check with your carrier).

Not sure if the following will help since the error code is different, but it solved a problem on my Wifes laptop where she got a Error 720 trying to connect with a new T-Mobile webConnect Jet USB cellular modem. If you carefully follow the instructions in the link below, it shouldn't hurt anything, and it might solve your connection problem for dial-up.

http://forum.lenovo.com/t5/Windows-XP-a ... td-p/15304

_________________
DKB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:19 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:06 pm
Posts: 193
Location: Montreal, Canada
GomJabbar wrote:
To begin with Sierra Wireless's 3G Watcher will not work with a Sony Ericsson device.

Yeah, but I thought I'd try as some individuals have said they got a Sierra Wireless card working with Sony Ericsson's Wireless Manager.

GomJabbar wrote:
It looks like Error 734 might be because you have not supplied a correct username and password. It could also result from your line not being provisioned for the proper data service (check with your carrier).

Nope. Username, password and provisioning are just fine, as I use my SIM in an Aircard and it works perfectly.

GomJabbar wrote:
Not sure if the following will help since the error code is different, but it solved a problem on my Wifes laptop where she got a Error 720 trying to connect with a new T-Mobile webConnect Jet USB cellular modem. If you carefully follow the instructions in the link below, it shouldn't hurt anything, and it might solve your connection problem for dial-up.

http://forum.lenovo.com/t5/Windows-XP-a ... td-p/15304

That's for XP, not Win7 (64-bit), no?

_________________
T60p: T7400, 4GB, 15" UXGA Flexview, V5200, Seagate XT 500GB 7200rpm hybrid, DVD-RW, Atheros AGN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64
X200s: SL9400, 4GB, WXGA+ LED, 160GB Intel X25-M G2, WiMax/WiFi Link 5350, MC8781 WWAN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:06 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!
efrant wrote:
6) I inserted an active SIM card

Do you have indication at all that anything on your ThinkPad has recognised that a SIM is correctly inserted?

Cheers,

Bill B.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:19 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:06 pm
Posts: 193
Location: Montreal, Canada
bill bolton wrote:
Do you have indication at all that anything on your ThinkPad has recognised that a SIM is correctly inserted?

Cheers,

Bill B.

When I tried using access connections, it said that it could not connet to ROGERS, so I assume it knew that my SIM was ROGERS and tried to connect....

What I find strange is that SE WM5 doesn't see the WWAN card, but it does show up in Windows device manager?!? Bizzare...

_________________
T60p: T7400, 4GB, 15" UXGA Flexview, V5200, Seagate XT 500GB 7200rpm hybrid, DVD-RW, Atheros AGN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64
X200s: SL9400, 4GB, WXGA+ LED, 160GB Intel X25-M G2, WiMax/WiFi Link 5350, MC8781 WWAN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 2:55 am 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!
efrant wrote:
When I tried using access connections, it said that it could not connet to ROGERS, so I assume it knew that my SIM was ROGERS and tried to connect....

What happens if you try the same thing with no SIM inserted?

Cheers,

Bill B.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:12 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:06 pm
Posts: 193
Location: Montreal, Canada
bill bolton wrote:
What happens if you try the same thing with no SIM inserted?

Cheers,

Bill B.

Using Access Connections, it recognizes that there is no SIM inserted, and gives me a pop up saying so. Nothing is recognized with Sony Ericsson Wireless Manager 5.

I will post some screen shots of various scenarios.

Here are some more details of my situation:
- Even though I have a F3507g card, I had to use Zender's modded BIOS, so I assume that my card is not from Lenovo.
- When I click on Fn+F5, I always see the WLAN, Bluetooth and WiMax radio buttons, but I only see the WWAN radio button sporadically (i.e., at times I have seen it, and other times it is not there). I know I did see it right after I installed Access Conncections, but when I hibernated my machine, I no longer saw it in the list.
- I tried editing the TpFnF5.exe file as suggested by Zender (although I'm not sure I did it correctly), and replaced a supported ID with the ID of my card.
- As for antennas, I am using one WWAN antenna from a T60p, and I bought a second generic one. both installed under the keypad.
- Still can't get the Thinkvantage GPS software to install.

Thanks for taking the time to troubleshoot with me.

P.S. Should this be moved to the x30x/x200 sub-forum?

_________________
T60p: T7400, 4GB, 15" UXGA Flexview, V5200, Seagate XT 500GB 7200rpm hybrid, DVD-RW, Atheros AGN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64
X200s: SL9400, 4GB, WXGA+ LED, 160GB Intel X25-M G2, WiMax/WiFi Link 5350, MC8781 WWAN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:46 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:52 am
Posts: 616
Location: UK
Please can you identify what is actually written on F3507g's label(s) - If it does not carry an Lenovo FRU part number, then it may be a Dell version (Dell Wireless 5530/KM266) if this is the case, try using Dell drivers with the Ericsson Wireless Manager application for D5530 WWAN embedded module/Sony Ericsson Wireless Manager 5.

_________________
T60p: T7600, UXGA, ATi FireGL V5200, 3GB RAM, 80GB SSD, BCM94322MC, BDC2.1, DVD-RAM Multi-III, W7Pro, EM770 WWAN (Voice!)
T60F: (Integrated Intel GPU) - [Another T60 FrankenPad!...Different approach]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:48 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:06 pm
Posts: 193
Location: Montreal, Canada
Peak2Peak wrote:
Please can you identify what is actually written on F3507g's label(s) - If it does not carry an Lenovo FRU part no (43Y6513), then it may be a Dell version (Dell Wireless 5530/KM266) if this is the case, try using Dell drivers with the Ericsson Wireless Manager application for D5530 WWAN embedded module/Sony Ericsson Wireless Manager 5.

Good idea! I never thought of that. I will take a look at the label tomorrow and report back.

_________________
T60p: T7400, 4GB, 15" UXGA Flexview, V5200, Seagate XT 500GB 7200rpm hybrid, DVD-RW, Atheros AGN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64
X200s: SL9400, 4GB, WXGA+ LED, 160GB Intel X25-M G2, WiMax/WiFi Link 5350, MC8781 WWAN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 2:23 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:06 pm
Posts: 193
Location: Montreal, Canada
Here are some screenshots showing that the drivers are installed, but SE WM 5 won't see the card. Notice that I do not have the radio button to turn the WWAN card on or off.

Access connections knows that there is no SIM inserted. I'll post some more later showing screens when the SIM is inserted.

http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l154/ ... creen1.jpg

http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l154/ ... creen2.jpg

_________________
T60p: T7400, 4GB, 15" UXGA Flexview, V5200, Seagate XT 500GB 7200rpm hybrid, DVD-RW, Atheros AGN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64
X200s: SL9400, 4GB, WXGA+ LED, 160GB Intel X25-M G2, WiMax/WiFi Link 5350, MC8781 WWAN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:47 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9673
The following command turns on a Sierra Wireless cellular modem from an application like Hyperterminal. Maybe it will work on a Sony Ericsson cellular modem.

Sierra Wireless wrote:
Enter the following AT command to turn your radio on (if the modem is in low power mode (LPM) the radio is off):
at+cfun=1


Windows 7 does not include Hyperterminal. You might try the following.
http://digitizor.com/2009/08/29/how-to- ... ws-7-free/

_________________
DKB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 12:50 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:06 pm
Posts: 193
Location: Montreal, Canada
Peak2Peak wrote:
Please can you identify what is actually written on F3507g's label(s) - If it does not carry an Lenovo FRU part number, then it may be a Dell version (Dell Wireless 5530/KM266) if this is the case, try using Dell drivers with the Ericsson Wireless Manager application for D5530 WWAN embedded module/Sony Ericsson Wireless Manager 5.


Still can't get this bloody card to work properly.

I finally got around to checking the actual card, and it is indeed a Lenovo card with a Lenovo FRU number on it (here is the ebay link that I bought it from: http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie ... K:MEWNX:IT). If this is a Lenovo card, then why did I need Zender's BIOS mod for it to get me past the 1804 error?? Shouldn't Lenovo cards work without the mod? I did try it without the mod and it gave me the 1804.

Anyway, the Lenovo drivers load fine, but I still get the Error 734 when I try to dial using a self-created dial-up connection. Access Connections doesn't connect for me, and the Sony Ericsson Wireless Manager doesn't see the card... My SIM is fine, as I re-tested it in my SW Aircard 860 which I plugged into my T60p, and it worked fine... I did not have to add any other modem commands other than the *99# dial string. Works fine even without (and with) the SW 3GWatcher software.

As well, the ThinkVantage GPS software doesn't install as it says that there is no GPS device detected...

I've run out of ideas... unless anhyone can help?

If not, I'll probably get rid of this card and see if I can purchase a Sierra Wireless MC8781 (although I have yet to come across one on eBay). Any thoughts on that card?

This is the only thing that I haven't been able to get working on my x200s, and it's driving me bonkers!

_________________
T60p: T7400, 4GB, 15" UXGA Flexview, V5200, Seagate XT 500GB 7200rpm hybrid, DVD-RW, Atheros AGN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64
X200s: SL9400, 4GB, WXGA+ LED, 160GB Intel X25-M G2, WiMax/WiFi Link 5350, MC8781 WWAN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 5:01 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9673
You might just have a defective card there. I would give up on that one and get another.

On second thought, why don't you boot up a Fedora 12 Live CD and see if you can make a connection with that? Just in case there is an OS issue here.

_________________
DKB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 5:14 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:52 am
Posts: 616
Location: UK
efrant wrote:
If this is a Lenovo card, then why did I need Zender's BIOS mod for it to get me past the 1804 error?? Shouldn't Lenovo cards work without the mod?
As your F3507g is Lenovo branded and is one of cards the recommended cards in the X200/X200S Hardware Maintenance Manual - It should be whitelisted in the BIOS and therefore no BIOS mod should be required.

OK, Here are two links that may help :??:
How to get Ericsson F3507g Mobile Broadband card working on Windows 7 & Lenovo Thinkpad T400s
Update: Ericsson F3507g Mobile Broadband on Windows 7 with Lenovo Thinkpad

efrant wrote:
If not, I'll probably get rid of this card and see if I can purchase a Sierra Wireless MC8781 (although I have yet to come across one on eBay). Any thoughts on that card?
If you can't find a Sierra Wireless MC8781 module directly - It can be pulled from a Sierra Wireless AirCard 881U - I have used the MC8780 (which provides diversity support for 2100/850 MHz bands) with no prob's in a BIOS-modded T60p running XPP with Sierra Wirless's 3G Watcher.

Good luck

_________________
T60p: T7600, UXGA, ATi FireGL V5200, 3GB RAM, 80GB SSD, BCM94322MC, BDC2.1, DVD-RAM Multi-III, W7Pro, EM770 WWAN (Voice!)
T60F: (Integrated Intel GPU) - [Another T60 FrankenPad!...Different approach]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 5:46 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:06 pm
Posts: 193
Location: Montreal, Canada
Thanks for your support guys. Much appreciated.

Gom, I will try booting from a Linux live CD to see if that works. I'm assuming there are Linux drivers for that card?

Peak, I've looked at both those links before, but they did not help. /by the way, how difficult is it to extract the MC8781 from the 881U

_________________
T60p: T7400, 4GB, 15" UXGA Flexview, V5200, Seagate XT 500GB 7200rpm hybrid, DVD-RW, Atheros AGN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64
X200s: SL9400, 4GB, WXGA+ LED, 160GB Intel X25-M G2, WiMax/WiFi Link 5350, MC8781 WWAN, BT, Win7 Ultimate x64


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 5:59 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9673
I don't know if there are Linux drivers for it or not. It was just a shot in the dark. Fedora 12 works great with my Sierra Wireless 881 AirCard.

_________________
DKB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 6:11 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:52 am
Posts: 616
Location: UK
efrant wrote:
by the way, how difficult is it to extract the MC8781 from the 881U
Very easy! - Slide off back cover, remove batt, sim card (if inserted) and the four retaining screws - prise apart the body shells - detach the Main antenna lead from the MC8781 module - The Aux antenna will be stuck down on top of the MC8781 via a piece of foam - detach this antenna lead and lift the Aux antenna carefully off the MC8781 - Extract the MC8781 module!

_________________
T60p: T7600, UXGA, ATi FireGL V5200, 3GB RAM, 80GB SSD, BCM94322MC, BDC2.1, DVD-RAM Multi-III, W7Pro, EM770 WWAN (Voice!)
T60F: (Integrated Intel GPU) - [Another T60 FrankenPad!...Different approach]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 8:28 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9673
I was searching for something else and stumbled upon this webpage. Maybe it is a help.

http://jack.ukleja.com/how-to-get-erics ... pad-t400s/

_________________
DKB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 9:21 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!
Make sure you look at the update page too.....

http://jack.ukleja.com/update-ericsson-f3507g-mobile-broadband-on-windows-7-with-lenovo-thinkpad/

Cheers,

Bill B.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 9:32 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am
Posts: 9673
I see Peak2Peak already posted the links Bill and I just posted. Just realized this.

_________________
DKB


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group