thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 6:16 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Thinkpad bgn wireless
PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Redmond, WA
Does anyone know if the stock wi-fi card can handle 5.0 GHz wireless n? My suspicion is that it can't since it doesn't support 802.11a. Since lenovo give you no option to change the wireless card, could I replace it with another (Lenovo branded) wireless card? Has anyone tried this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:56 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:37 am
Posts: 65
Location: tacoma, wa
Probably a little late, but just tested with a new wndr3700 and it does not connect to the 5.0ghz band. It's just mini pcie so I'm assuming you can replace it pretty easily but not sure. I do remember having to do a bios patch on my old T30 to have it accept 3rd party cards.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 1:39 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:37 am
Posts: 65
Location: tacoma, wa
Also, testing it against my roommates 1st gen macbook pro with 5.0ghz n, my x100e actually has consistently faster transfer rates.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 3:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Redmond, WA
I actually found a cheap refurb netgear router on Newegg for $30. I slapped DD-WRT on that puppy and now I run 2.4 and 5 GHz on separate routers. I tried doing dual-band on my 5GHz router but there was a pretty big performance penalty, which I guess is on the router since there shouldn't be an interference.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 12:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
There has been some good discussion, including what the official bios will allow, in terms of replacement wireless cards at the official Lenovo forums here: http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-ThinkPad-Laptops/X100e-Wireless-Replacement/td-p/228372;jsessionid=72031ACD034C46D5E5D29109FDE2CB69

If get any alternatives working, I'd like to know.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 10:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 8:41 pm
Posts: 7
Location: San Mateo, CA
Since there's no way of patching the BIOS to remove the whitelist of allowed wifi cards, I tried some other options. One that worked was covering pin 20 of a Lenovo-branded Intel Wifi Link 5100 card into the WWAN slot and using the antenna cables for the WWAN device. This worked, but it's a kludge.

I did a search for Lenovo Wifi on ebay, and discovered that there was an option available for a half-length mini-PCI express card:

http://cgi.ebay.com/New-IBM-Lenovo-43Y6 ... ewItem&p...

I know that a Centrino 6200 card does work - I swapped it in while the laptop was asleep and it worked. However, it's hard to find places that have it in stock for under $150 - it's a field replaceable unit from IBM with the part number 60Y3231. The cheapest price I found for it is $88, available here:

http://www.sparepartswarehouse.com/part ... ype=Laptop

I personally have the Intel Wifi Link 5100 model mentioned above in my X100e, and it works flawlessly.

_________________
Arthur: Not in the face! Not in the face!
Tick: Hmm, lacks force, chum. No, more like... like, uh... SPOON!
Arthur: Ennh, I don't get it.
Tick: SPOON!
Arthur: Look, I'm just a sidekick.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 3:46 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 2:56 am
Posts: 69
Location: Sydney, Australia
Skawt wrote:
I know that a Centrino 6200 card does work - I swapped it in while the laptop was asleep and it worked. However, it's hard to find places that have it in stock for under $150 - it's a field replaceable unit from IBM with the part number 60Y3231. The cheapest price I found for it is $88, available here:

http://www.sparepartswarehouse.com/part ... ype=Laptop
.


Will the Centrino 6200 work in the WLAN slot? Will it work with FN+F5 and in Access Connections? Did you get Lenovo drivers or use the Intel ones? Sorry for so many questions, but I'm looking to find a working solution for 5.0Ghz 802.11n access. The other reason I ask is because the X100e HMM only lists the Intel Centrino Advanced-N + WiMAX 6250 (FRU 60Y3195) as an option, not the Centrino 6200.

Cheers,

_________________
morkli :-D

ThinkPad T61p (6459-A12) - ThinkPad X61 (7676-5CM)
ThinkPad X100e (3508-CTO) - ThinkCentre A62 (9953-CTO)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 9:55 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 7:39 am
Posts: 166
Location: Turin (Italy)
Altough not officially listed in the X100's documentation, the 5100 works, is confirmed

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-Th ... d-p/228372

and, if I'm not wrong, is an a/b/g/n card.

Hopefully the 6200 will work also.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 12:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 8:41 pm
Posts: 7
Location: San Mateo, CA
The Solutor wrote:
Altough not officially listed in the X100's documentation, the 5100 works, is confirmed

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-Th ... d-p/228372

and, if I'm not wrong, is an a/b/g/n card.

Hopefully the 6200 will work also.


Yes, that was me posting on the other forum. The Lenovo-branded Intel Wifi Link 5100 and Centrino 6200 cards will work in the X100e. The Lenovo branding is recognized in the BIOS whitelist as a legitimate wifi adapter. The final goal, to have a 5GHz wifi adapter and still have the WWAN slot available for the Gobi 2000 card, is possible using one of the two wifi adapters I mentioned earlier in this thread.

_________________
Arthur: Not in the face! Not in the face!
Tick: Hmm, lacks force, chum. No, more like... like, uh... SPOON!
Arthur: Ennh, I don't get it.
Tick: SPOON!
Arthur: Look, I'm just a sidekick.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 5:45 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 2:56 am
Posts: 69
Location: Sydney, Australia
Skawt wrote:
Yes, that was me posting on the other forum. The Lenovo-branded Intel Wifi Link 5100 and Centrino 6200 cards will work in the X100e. The Lenovo branding is recognized in the BIOS whitelist as a legitimate wifi adapter. The final goal, to have a 5GHz wifi adapter and still have the WWAN slot available for the Gobi 2000 card, is possible using one of the two wifi adapters I mentioned earlier in this thread.


Thanks Skawt. I got it now. I've ordered the Lenovo branded Intel 5100 off the ebay link you posted. It's half the price of the Lenovo branded Intel 6200 in your other link.

Cheers,

_________________
morkli :-D

ThinkPad T61p (6459-A12) - ThinkPad X61 (7676-5CM)
ThinkPad X100e (3508-CTO) - ThinkCentre A62 (9953-CTO)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 3:59 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 2:56 am
Posts: 69
Location: Sydney, Australia
I've found a Lenovo branded Centrino 6200 card (FRU part number 60Y3231) for US$45 shipped:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Intel-Centrino-Advanced-N-6200-4-IBM-T510-T510I-W510-/320527352050

Cheers,

_________________
morkli :-D

ThinkPad T61p (6459-A12) - ThinkPad X61 (7676-5CM)
ThinkPad X100e (3508-CTO) - ThinkCentre A62 (9953-CTO)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 10:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 8:41 pm
Posts: 7
Location: San Mateo, CA
morkli wrote:
I've found a Lenovo branded Centrino 6200 card (FRU part number 60Y3231) for US$45 shipped:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Intel-Centrino-Advanced-N-6200-4-IBM-T510-T510I-W510-/320527352050

Cheers,


Good find - it's from the same vendor I got the 5100 card from. I would have bought the 6200 had I found the link you did. Either way, you'll have reliable 5GHz 802.11n connectivity. You can use the Lenovo Intel wifi drivers from the Lenovo support website.

_________________
Arthur: Not in the face! Not in the face!
Tick: Hmm, lacks force, chum. No, more like... like, uh... SPOON!
Arthur: Ennh, I don't get it.
Tick: SPOON!
Arthur: Look, I'm just a sidekick.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 11:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 8:41 pm
Posts: 7
Location: San Mateo, CA
morkli wrote:
I've found a Lenovo branded Centrino 6200 card (FRU part number 60Y3231) for US$45 shipped:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Intel-Centrino-Advanced-N-6200-4-IBM-T510-T510I-W510-/320527352050

Cheers,


I've actually just ordered one. I'm going to replace the 5100 in my X100e since the 5100 has 2 download channels and 1 upload: 300mbps download, 150mbps upload, and the 6200 has 2 wifi channels each way allowing 300mbps upload.

I plan on putting the 5100 into my other, single core X100e and resell it.

_________________
Arthur: Not in the face! Not in the face!
Tick: Hmm, lacks force, chum. No, more like... like, uh... SPOON!
Arthur: Ennh, I don't get it.
Tick: SPOON!
Arthur: Look, I'm just a sidekick.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 6:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 8:41 pm
Posts: 7
Location: San Mateo, CA
I received the 6200 N Centrino wifi card (IBM-branded) and unfortunately it generated an 1802 error on bootup. So it is not compatible with the X100e. Only the Wifi Link 5100 I mentioned earlier.

_________________
Arthur: Not in the face! Not in the face!
Tick: Hmm, lacks force, chum. No, more like... like, uh... SPOON!
Arthur: Ennh, I don't get it.
Tick: SPOON!
Arthur: Look, I'm just a sidekick.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 4:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 2:28 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Skawt,

So if I read you correct, the 6200 works when you were swapping it in "while the laptop was asleep" but not when rebooting (I guess the BIOS checks and gives error, but Windows does not care?)

I bought the same ebay card you just received...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 5:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 8:41 pm
Posts: 7
Location: San Mateo, CA
think2wice wrote:
Skawt,

So if I read you correct, the 6200 works when you were swapping it in "while the laptop was asleep" but not when rebooting (I guess the BIOS checks and gives error, but Windows does not care?)

I bought the same ebay card you just received...


That is correct, Windows doesn't care. The IBM/Lenovo-branded 6200 N card is not compatible with the X100e BIOS whitelist, so it will give an 1802 error on bootup.

_________________
Arthur: Not in the face! Not in the face!
Tick: Hmm, lacks force, chum. No, more like... like, uh... SPOON!
Arthur: Ennh, I don't get it.
Tick: SPOON!
Arthur: Look, I'm just a sidekick.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group