thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
FORUM NOTICE: This forum is under attack by hundreds of spam "BOTS" IF you experience SLOW performance or an error page it is due to these spam "BOTS", take a look at the footer and if you see more than 100 forum users and guests that is what is happening. The normal user/guest count should be about 60 to 90. Sorry for this trouble, I am working to exclude all such spam bots.

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:00 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 529 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 18  Next

Successful Installation Reports (with this Guide):
X60t 22%  22%  [ 15 ]
X60s 22%  22%  [ 15 ]
T60 36%  36%  [ 25 ]
Other ... 20%  20%  [ 14 ]
Total votes : 69
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 4:37 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
shooteagle wrote:
To confirm in step 3. After installing SL on the "HDD Snow", put the "HDD Snow" in the laptop and then reboot the laptop, right?

At the end of the installation your system will want to reboot, but you need to install Chameleon and to copy the extra folder on "HHD Snow" (it won't boot without that) ... So you have to do that with a working Mac/Hack and then boot on "HDD Snow".


shooteagle wrote:
In step 3, do you copy both /extra and /MacPNT in the root directory of the "HDD Snow"?

Yes, /Extra is absolutely necessary, /MacPNT might be useful ...


shooteagle wrote:
In step 4, if the retail disk is 10.6.3, do I need update? is this a necessary step?

It is not necessary, but as update works fine, why not ?


shooteagle wrote:
I'm a Mac newbie, in step 5, when you say copy "rc.sleep" and " in rc.wakeup" /etc/, how?

Step 5 is only necessary if you have trouble with sleep (PS2/VoodoHDA issues to be precise) ... just skip it for the moment ... (anyway you can use "ShowAllFiles.app" to find /etc/ ...)

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 10.6.X on X60t
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 7:21 am 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Posts: 1517
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India
It seems that you were tied up... Hopefully not forgotten :)

crashnburn wrote:
I have an X61T waiting for this Treatment. Care to share your successful DSDT / Kext etc with the instructions. :)


ernstloeffel wrote:

I'm sorry for the delay. I haven't forgotten, but I sent my x60t in for a final "update" before warranty is over (hinges were loose and the fan was rattling). I hope it will be back at the end of the week.

_________________
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 10.6.X on X60t
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 6:14 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
crashnburn wrote:
I have an X61T waiting for this Treatment. Care to share your successful DSDT / Kext etc with the instructions. :)


I think a minor DSDT edit will make your X61 work with the Core2Duo package : You need to change the"Device (VID)" from GMA950 to GMA3100 ...Have a look HERE

Personally I would add (if your X3100 device id is 8086 29C2)
Code:
                            "device-id",
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0xC2, 0x29, 0x00, 0x00
                            },

                            "vendor-id",
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x86, 0x80, 0x00, 0x00
                            }

after
Code:
                                    "model",
                                    Buffer (0x0D)
                                    {
                                        "X3100"
                                    },

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:20 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
i created the usb according your direction. then i booted with the usb, it hang there. it never got to the utilities. my hhd is external with 2 partitions, partition one has windows 7 installed and partition 2 is blank (RAW). does the hhd need to total blank and unformatted?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 12:00 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
shooteagle wrote:
i created the usb according your direction. then i booted with the usb, it hang there. it never got to the utilities. my hhd is external with 2 partitions, partition one has windows 7 installed and partition 2 is blank (RAW). does the hhd need to total blank and unformatted?


... Follow Carefully Step 1 !
Quote:
1) USB Key
- On "MacOSX"
- Format the "USB Key" (HTFS+) and the "HDD Snow" (HTFS+)
- Restore Snow Leopard 10.6 Retail DVD on the "USB Key" (with disk utility)
- Copy /MacPNT folder on "USB Key"
- Install "Chameleon RC4-AsereBLN-1.1.9" ON THIS "USB KEY" (be careful this could damage your own hardware)
- Copy (or replace) /Extra folder from the package to the "USB Key" root folder
- If you need a MBR partition table :
- Launch "ShowAllFiles" and select "Show"
- Replace:
OSInstall.mpkg in /Volumes/"USB Key"/System/Installation/Packages
OSInstall in /Volumes/"USB Key"/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Install.framework/Frameworks/OSInstall.framework/Versions/A/
- Launch once again "ShowAllFiles" and select "Hide"
- Launch "pfix" and select your "USB Key"


The USB key should be able to boot and you should see the installation screen ...

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:06 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
when you boot, i change the boot in bios to USB, right?
but isn't the snow hdd also connect by usb?

I did not do the MBR, is that necessary?
If so, how do i replace it. can I do a drag and drop?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:40 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
shooteagle wrote:
when you boot, i change the boot in bios to USB, right?
Yes
shooteagle wrote:
but isn't the snow hdd also connect by usb?
It can be connected by USB, or be the the SATA slot inside your computer ... just make sure you boot on the USB Key ... Maybe you can unplug this HDD and plug it later on during the install ...
shooteagle wrote:
I did not do the MBR, is that necessary?
If you use a MBR Partition table, yes ... And i guess you do ...
shooteagle wrote:
If so, how do i replace it. can I do a drag and drop?
Yes

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:18 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Innsbruck, Austria
sorry for that taking so long: here is my pcmcia kext http://www.sendspace.com/file/64k02u , its from 10.4 or something, i don't remember anymore, you have to put it in /System/Library/Extensions/.
another question, how do i get my microphone working?

a and btw for everyone that uses this guide, if you want to connect multiple displays, you will be very happy with this tool: http://www.fabiancanas.com/Projects/MirrorDisplays/ . i use to start it from spotlight when my screen gets corrupted.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:41 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
nuskoolkiddie wrote:
sorry for that taking so long: here is my pcmcia kext http://www.sendspace.com/file/64k02u , its from 10.4 or something, i don't remember anymore, you have to put it in /System/Library/Extensions/

Thanks for that ! ... Did you try to put it in /Extra/Extension ? ... so we can keep our Vanilla /S/L/E ?
I will update the first post soon !

nuskoolkiddie wrote:
another question, how do i get my microphone working?
I followed Silencer's researches, and I usedthis thread to get a working VoodooHDA (2.5.6) with my mike ...

There are may successful report on this board ...
Quote:
Here is my VoodooHDA sound driver for T60 ( 2008 - CTO ) running 10.6.0 snow leopard , with working internal microphone:
http://rapidshare.com/files/376340966/V ... A.kext.zip

I got it here: http://www.projectosx.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=355 (Download here: http://www.projectosx.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=483 - russian ) with node patches (NodesToPatch) info.plist section from here: http://www.projectosx.com/forum/index.p ... #entry2283

nuskoolkiddie wrote:
a and btw for everyone that uses this guide, if you want to connect multiple displays, you will be very happy with this tool: http://www.fabiancanas.com/Projects/MirrorDisplays/ . i use to start it from spotlight when my screen gets corrupted.
... Great method ... I will also update the first post with it ! thanks !

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:18 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Innsbruck, Austria
voodoohda seems like a lot of wwork for a function (mic) i rarely use, also i can't find any suggestions where to put it, /E/E/ or /S/L/E/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:44 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
Actually it is pretty easy, because all the hard work has been done by other people ... just grab several VoodooHDA.kext (here or in the DSDT patching thread), put it in /E/E/ and use the command in terminal :
Code:
sudo kextload /Extra/Extensions/VoodooHDA.kext

Code:
kextunload /Extra/extensions/VoodooHDA.kext

until you find the right file ...

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 12:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:18 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Innsbruck, Austria
sounds nice, thanks, should i uninstall applehda, previous to doing this? also, do i need the prefpane, and if so is the version relevant or is there only one prefpane


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 12:35 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
If you use my DSDT (or Silencer's), it has already been disabled, or if you are comfortable with DSDT edit you can apply the AppleHDA disabler from DSDT patching for Dummies or you can just delete AppleHDA.kext from /S/L/E and rebuilt kextcaches (run pfix) ...

You don't need to run pfix each time you try a VoodooHDA.kext, do it only when you have found the right file ...

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:19 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
can you please clarify on the MBR step.

I launch "ShowAllFiles" and select "Show"

And i see the two files, OS Install.mpkg and OSInstall, in the two different directories.
can you please clarify which file goes where and which file need to be delete if so.

thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 2:42 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
shooteagle wrote:
And i see the two files, OS Install.mpkg and OSInstall, in the two different directories.
can you please clarify which file goes where and which file need to be delete if so.

Quote:
1) USB Key
- ...
- If you need a MBR partition table :
    - Launch "ShowAllFiles" and select "Show"
    - Replace:
      ...
      OSInstall.mpkg in /Volumes/"USB Key"/System/Installation/Packages
      ...
      OSInstall in /Volumes/"USB Key"/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Install.framework/Frameworks/OSInstall.framework/Versions/A/
      ...
    - Launch once again "ShowAllFiles" and select "Hide"
- Launch "pfix" and select your "USB Key"

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:32 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
sorry for being so dense. but do i need to replace both files? or do take the file call "OSInstall" in /Volumes/"USB Key"/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Install.framework/Frameworks/OSInstall.framework/Versions/A/ and move it to /Volumes/"USB Key"/System/Installation/Packages


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:56 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
I confirm ... you have to replace the 2 files.

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:59 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
thanks. i did. the x60s booted and the white screen with apple logo appears. ~ 20 seconds, the installation screen appear but with a picture of seeming like a mac desktop tower and a zooming picture of a slidering button with an arrow pointing up. It hangs on that screen, also i notice i can't move my mouse. any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:48 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
the image I'm using is 10.6.3. do you think that is the problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:59 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
On usb key, i have originally 3 folders, OS-X Install, Option Install and another directory which i can't remember. Then i add two more folder which is the MacPNT folder and the /Extra folder.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:24 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
shooteagle wrote:
thanks. i did. the x60s booted and the white screen with apple logo appears. ~ 20 seconds, the installation screen appear but with a picture of seeming like a mac desktop tower and a zooming picture of a slidering button with an arrow pointing up.

Congrats' your ubs key is bootable !
shooteagle wrote:
On usb key, i have originally 3 folders, OS-X Install, Option Install and another directory which i can't remember. Then i add two more folder which is the MacPNT folder and the /Extra folder.

I don't remember ... doesn't matter ... if you follow the guide CAREFULLY !
shooteagle wrote:
the image I'm using is 10.6.3. do you think that is the problem?
Already answered : no (and just to be sure, it is a retail/original/genuine Apple DVD ?)
shooteagle wrote:
It hangs on that screen, also i notice i can't move my mouse. any ideas?
run pfix and select the usb key ... then you WILL be able to move the mouse and even use the keyboard !
Sebinouse wrote:
1) USB Key
- On "MacOSX"
- ...
- Launch "pfix" and select your "USB Key"

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:41 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
I did the pfix, but still it hangs there? have you seen that screen with the image of mac desktop tower and the a zoom picture of sliding button?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:12 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
for me the first image I get is one like this one : http://lifehacker.com/assets/resources/ ... nguage.jpg

Can you try to find yours on the web, or take a picture of it ?

PS: about your retail DVD where did you get it ?

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:22 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
off internet (demonoid.xxx). do i need a retail copy from Apple store?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:30 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
Mac OS X Snow Leopard Install DVD (Retail/DMG) 10.6.3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:06 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
ONCE AGAIN ... please read the first post CAREFULLY !

When I say Retail DVD I mean actual/genuine/apple DVD ... not some stuff randomly downloaded/STOLEN from the web ! :BAAAD!:

Snow leopard costs 29$ ...

Your DMG contents many other things (4 partitions !), I don't know what they are and I really don't wanna know (even if I guess bootcamp is loading).

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:33 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
ok. off to the apple to buy it... thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 3:01 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 6:02 am
Posts: 280
Location: Paris, France
shooteagle wrote:
i have 10.6.3 installed on x60s, card reader and wireless are two of the items not working. initially had the intel wireless, bought atheros and installed. can anyone help on how to get it working.. thanks.

as detail instruciton as possible as i'm i newbie on this.


This is strange ... because I have got the exact same card and it should be handled by the X60TLegacy kext ... You can give this kext a try : http://netkas.org/?p=315

By card reader, you mean SD card reader ? this should also be handled by VoodooSDHC ... Strange ...

Keep me advice !

_________________
Lenovo X60t (6363-AQ8)
    Intel CoreDuo 1,67 GHz (L2400)
    3 Go / 320 Go / GMA950 / FW 400 / SD Card
    Bluetooth / Wifi AR5BXB6 / Tablet
WinXP / MacOSX 10.6.8 (DSDT patch and vanilla SLE)


Last edited by Sebinouse on Sun Aug 01, 2010 4:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 3:42 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
the link doesn't work from the page you sent me to.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2010 4:11 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:07 am
Posts: 53
Location: Port Chester, NY
is there a way to re-run the two kext for the wireless and the sd card reader. can you tell how if possible? thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 529 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 18  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group