thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 The thinkpads support forum is now hosting legacy model ThinkPad driver and driver updates..
A link is provided in the MENUBAR just above for registered forum members only..

If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:20 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 4:41 am
Posts: 10
Location: los angeles, california
Hi. I would like to install a larger hard drive/RAM in my system. Would replacing a larger
hard drive and RAM memory by non-Lenovo tech support (or myself) void my warranty?

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:16 pm 
Offline
RBS10000
RBS10000

Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Posts: 13765
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
No, you are allowed to replace those yourself.

_________________
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Board Room for:
- LED-mods for the 15" T60/R60/R61
- SATA-mods for any T43/R52 with ATI GPU
- other Services


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 4:41 am
Posts: 10
Location: los angeles, california
Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:00 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:58 am
Posts: 429
Location: Honolulu, HI
No ^2 but if you break something in the process, would not be covered. Example, yanking the pins off the connector, breaking/bending the clip on the RAM slots, electrostatic shock damage. Do you have a wristband? Do it in the kitchen or restroom or garage floor assuming none of those areas are carpeted Braddah.

_________________
T61
Aloha!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 8:08 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 2:20 am
Posts: 1036
Location: Southern California
Worried about ESD? Go find a desktop computer case. Remove the side panel if you need to and touch the interior of the case where an electrical ground is established with the powersupply. I do this all the time when I work on my computer or others. Oh and yes, the computer does need to be plugged in.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group