thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
IBM & lenovo legacy model ThinkPad support files are available on thinkpads.com.
including Hardware Maintenance Manuals, latest or final driver updates and more.
at: thinkpads.com


If you so wish:
Donate using PayPal

It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 4:30 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 7:56 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:51 am
Posts: 311
Location: Rhode Island 02874
Is it possible to upgrade CPU on Z61m? I know I can get the compatible CPUs that support pBGA479/478 from the charts below:
http://ark.intel.com/Compare.aspx?ids=2 ... 7238,27237,
But I don't know if lenovo or the board has any restrictions (voltage/hardwired lock) on Z61m machines. Should I only get T7x00 (x=even number ex. 2, 4, 6) in order to make it work on Z61m?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:40 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Posts: 12904
Location: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
It's either T7200/7400/7600 or T5500/5600 - take your pick.

Former have 4MB cache, while the latter have 2MB. Prices reflect that pretty well.

_________________
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

Glorified typewriter collecting SSDI: A31p

Abused daily: R60F, R500F, T43pSF, T60, T61

For sale: T61p (4:3)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:26 pm 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 11:01 am
Posts: 1508
Location: Forney, Texas
ajkula66 wrote:
It's either T7200/7400/7600 or T5500/5600 - take your pick.

Former have 4MB cache, while the latter have 2MB. Prices reflect that pretty well.


I'm about to be in this game as well since the long-awaited and coveted Z61m came today! It was originally highly spec'd with the WSXGA+ screen, camera etc., but is dumbed-down. Right now, it's running a Celeron 420, so I'll be upgrading that like the OP.

As usual; deferring to you in all things "A" to "Z" :) , how do you see the cost vs. benefit ratio between having those extra 2Mb of cache and seemingly doubling the price for that priviledge?

_________________
Family Daily Drivers- X1, T500 (2), T400, ThinkPad Android Tablet, iPad Air, iPad Mini 2, iPad Mini
Work- L420
Wife's Classroom Computers/Mini-Network Project- MacBook, PowerBook G4, iPad 2 (2), iPad Mini
Other Projects- R60, A31 Server
Historic Retired ThinkPads- T42p, X20, A31p, 701c, 760XD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:50 am 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Posts: 4208
Location: Minnesota
I see the benefit being low. I upgraded my R60 years ago from a T2300 to a T7400. I honestly couldn't tell a difference between the two. Unless you're pushing it frequently, it wouldn't seem worth the cost.

_________________
Latitude 14


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:33 pm
Posts: 2
FredGarvin wrote:
I see the benefit being low. I upgraded my R60 years ago from a T2300 to a T7400. I honestly couldn't tell a difference between the two. Unless you're pushing it frequently, it wouldn't seem worth the cost.


Hi I am contemplating this very upgrade (mine is a Z61m) but have a few questions.

1. Is there a tutorial that covers dis-assembly instructs concerning how to do this upgrade safely and properly?

2. Is the chip soldered to the board or is it simply held in place on the board?

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 3:00 pm 
Offline
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 9:20 pm
Posts: 1047
Location: Snellville, GA
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... 64204.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:41 pm 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Posts: 4208
Location: Minnesota
The chip is socketed.

_________________
Latitude 14


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:33 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks guys.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group