thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
Goodbye Lorita, wherever you've gone..

If you've found this forum useful, please consider donating a dollar or two

It is currently Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:33 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Maple heights Ohio
Hi all. Just loaded Windows7 on my T42 laptop. Works really well except
theres no Radeon 7500 vidio driver available for it. Anyone got a clue
about this ? I am quite happy with the performance of the box running
Win7 with 160gb samsung drive in it. Loaded windows in 15 minutes.
I thought something went wrong because it went so quick.
Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:05 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
It's been discussed many times. Check out these threads ---
http://www.google.com/search?q=t42+wind ... 3Alang_1en

...and this one - viewtopic.php?f=2&t=85792


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:30 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:26 pm
Posts: 401
Location: Indiana
Search for driver version "6.14.10.6606"

Some folks have recommended using the XP version of the driver from IBM ... but that one will give you BSOD sooner or later.

The "6.14.10.6606" version of the driver has not caused any BSOD problems for me and others.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Maple heights Ohio
:bow: Thanks for the links. Downloaded and installed one from one of the
links. Works pretty good


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 5:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Maple heights Ohio
:oops: Spoke too soon. Evidently got the wrong driver and it
blue screened on me. Dang. Went to some other sites and they
had no .inf file in the drivers zip file. Any help appreciated. I
been riding this dead horse for a long time.
(t42/160g HDD/2G ram/WIN7) just installed 7
Works good except for the video driver thing.
Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:43 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:26 pm
Posts: 401
Location: Indiana
rwilcher wrote:
... Evidently got the wrong driver and it blue screened on me ...


The first link in this Harryc post will get you driver version "6.14.10.6606" :
http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... 96#p539496

If it doesn't successfully download all 2.59MB at first, try again.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 1:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Maple heights Ohio
I go to the harryc driver post http://mysite.verizon.net/hjc56/files/ati_7500.zip
and it says locked and wont let me get the bloody
thing. :roll: How do I get around that ?
Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:26 pm 
Offline
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Posts: 2911
Location: Paragould AR USA
rwilcher wrote:
How do I get around that?[hanks.
Use the links Harryc provided farther down in the thread.

_________________
Collection = T500 - R400 - X300 - X200 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - T61 (14.1" SXGA+) - T60 (15" SXGA+) - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P - 600E


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 3:33 pm 
Offline
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 13228
Location: Upstate New York
http://k1dugar.110mb.com/~downloads/atiixpag.zip


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 3:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Maple heights Ohio
Got the harryc driver installed and it's working like a charm. Thanks guys!! you ROCK!!
Thanks for helping an old Unix weenie out :bow:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:43 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:15 am
Posts: 227
Location: Southampton, United kingdom
please re-upload URGENTLY NEEDED!!

_________________
IBM Thinkpad A31 2.0GHz Pentium 4, 768MB RAM, 40GB HDD and a ATI 7500 16MB shimmed
Lenovo T420 4236-PA8: WiFi card replaced with a Broadcom one (fixes most DPC latency), 64GB Crucial M4 SSD added as OS drive, original HDD in a DVD to HDD caddy.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:06 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:26 pm
Posts: 401
Location: Indiana
ganon11000 wrote:
please re-upload URGENTLY NEEDED!!

Did you try this one :
http://www.mediafire.com/?5tieomimroy#!

It's the correct "6.14.10.6606" version for Vista/Win7 for ATI7500 and ATI9000.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 12:08 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:48 am
Posts: 151
Location: London, UK
Hi All,

As advised in several threads on this topic, until recently I used driver pack 6.14.10.6606 for the ATI 7500 graphics on my T42 running W7, although the lack of an exact driver match among those offered made me choose "RADEON 7500 Family (Microsoft Corporation - XDDM)" one back then. I've had no BSODs or any other major issues ever since, although the screen won't turn off upon inactivity timeout for some reason (to be exact it'd start turning off and at the very next moment would return back to normal) - not sure if it's caused by the wrong driver (desktop 7500 version I suppose?) or something else.

After recent W7 reinstall I decided to try "ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 (Microsoft Corporation - XDDM)" for a change, which IIRC is another well tested safe choice. So far so good (the screen turn off issue went away) although one thing was hurting my perfectionist's eye: adapter name mismatch in Device Manager > Display Adapters view; besides that, some (not all) system info applications display 9000 as my graphics adapter, apparently just following "wrong" name w/o checking the actual HW.

So I've cloned the 9000's entry in atiixpag.inf:
"ATI MOBILITY RADEON 9000 (Microsoft Corporation - XDDM)" = ati2mtag_M9, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4C66&SUBSYS_011D1028

and changed the name and HW IDs in it to my 7500's ones while keeping it pointed at the same driver ati2mtag_M9:
"ATI MOBILITY RADEON 7500 (Microsoft Corporation - XDDM)" = ati2mtag_M9, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4C57&SUBSYS_05301014

Now during manual driver installation/update W7 finds the "right" driver straight away and displays it as a compatible one:
https://s23.postimg.org/d2c1ox0d7/AMD_ATI_6_14_10_6606_With_Mobility7500_Added.png

End result:
https://s28.postimg.org/o63h5kagt/Device_Driver_Details.png

Still no issues so far, which is not surprising as it's the very same driver as for 9000.

Feel free to comment, e.g. if there are any risks in doing it this way or if something else is also worth amending besides the name and HW IDs, etc.


Thanks in advance!

_________________
X1G1 3460-1F4, 2x X61s 7667-34G, X61s 7667-Y24, X61s 7667-WQ8, X61s 7666-AA5, X60s 1702-W96, T43 2669-YJ6, T42 2373-Q91


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:50 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Posts: 735
Location: Toronto, Canada
I use that driver for my A30p, A31p, T42 and Dell Inspiron 600m and yes it is safe - except the fact that you have to stay away from SXGA+ LCDs as I don't think you can set that resolution with that driver. A newer 9600's Windows XP driver solves that problem but is notably not as efficient (Vista/7 driver will throw you an error message of inability to start as 7000 (in my A30p), 7500 (T42), FireGL V7800 (A31p) and 9000 (Inspiron 600m) are NOT DX9 capable unlike 9600).
FYI, if you use 7500's driver, things start to get messy. In my case, it appears that it works and the second you throw in some intense GUI stuff with shadows, blue screen appears.
7000's driver under W7 is just unusable. As soon as you turn the machine into sleep mode and resumes, the screen resolution revert to 640*480*16color and won't return to normal without several tries of Fnf7. Also if you somehow use lock function or logoff and log back on, it will throw you another bluescreen after a matter of time.

_________________
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7
T43p 15": 2.26 UXGA 2gb W10
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb W10
all 3 have fp + Hitachi 160gb w/o Err 2010
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb W10


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 7:39 am 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:48 am
Posts: 151
Location: London, UK
kfzhu1229:

Just checked resolution options in my T42: "List All Modes > List of valid modes" has no 1400x1050 among those displayed although it might not be listed 'cos the LCD in my T42 is ordinary XGA. Worth noting that it feels a bit difficult to look at SXGA+ LCD in my T43 at 1400x1050 compared to 1024x768 on T42 although so much more fits into the screen.

Update: 1400x1050 appears to be supported as per one of the T42 Hardware Annoucement letters:

ATI Mobility Radeon 7500 (32 MB) with 1400 x 1050 resolution TFT

TFT LCD
Resolution Color depth

...
1400 x 1050 256, 64K, 16M
...

External monitor
Resolution Color Refresh rate (Hz)
...
1400 x 1050 256 60
1400 x 1050 64K 60
1400 x 1050 16M 60
...

http://www.ibm.com/common/ssi/rep_ca/6/897/ENUS105-006/ENUS105-006.PDF

> FYI, if you use 7500's driver, things start to get messy. In my case, it appears that it works and the second you throw in some intense GUI stuff with shadows, blue screen appears.

The "RADEON 7500 Family (Microsoft Corporation - XDDM)" one implied, right? If so I must have never tried intense enough stuff at mine to trigger BSOD. The screen not turning off upon inactivity was the only nuisance.


Now wondering if it's worth an effort to try merging this 9000 driver ati2mtag_M9 into 10-2-legacy-vista32-64-dd-ccc.exe somehow in an attempt to get ATI CCC.

_________________
X1G1 3460-1F4, 2x X61s 7667-34G, X61s 7667-Y24, X61s 7667-WQ8, X61s 7666-AA5, X60s 1702-W96, T43 2669-YJ6, T42 2373-Q91


Last edited by dandreye on Fri Jan 13, 2017 6:01 am, edited 4 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 1:16 am 
Offline
Senior Member
Senior Member

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Posts: 735
Location: Toronto, Canada
I don't think merging these two would work at all because 10-2-legacy-vista32-64-dd-ccc.exe should be the one with WDDM and Dx9 which anything before 9500 would NOT work with?

_________________
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7
T43p 15": 2.26 UXGA 2gb W10
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb W10
all 3 have fp + Hitachi 160gb w/o Err 2010
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb W10


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 1:52 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:48 am
Posts: 151
Location: London, UK
kfzhu1229 wrote:
I don't think merging these two would work at all because 10-2-legacy-vista32-64-dd-ccc.exe should be the one with WDDM and Dx9 which anything before 9500 would NOT work with?

Good point actually... just asked a better one to fiddle with at AMD Support forum, fingers crossed.

Update: meanwhile I tried the following: installed "ATI Display Driver" version 8.133.2.1.1.1-070206a-043154C for Win2000/XP from package 1rd637ww (in compatibility mode) and then installed driver 6.14.10.6606. It gave me a nice red ATI icon in the bottom right corner, right clicking on which results in this:
Image

Some of the features work while some other trigger an error that my screen doesn't support it. Besides that I didn't find ATI Catalyst Control Center (or Panel) application anywhere. Can't see any extra tabs added into adapter properties either. Assuming 1rd637ww called "ATI Display Driver" comes w/o that software could anyone please point me to the latter, even one designed for 2000/XP? I'd like to verify if it can interop with 6.14.10.6606 somehow.

I've also tried installing 10-2-legacy-vista32-64-dd-ccc.exe (modded for mobility) and then installing driver 6.14.10.6606. This time I did get several ATI CCC apps installed but neither of them starts.

No BSODs have been observed during these tests even when I tried starting Lenovo System Update, which would always trigger a crash in ati3duag.dll with the W2k/WXP driver before.

_________________
X1G1 3460-1F4, 2x X61s 7667-34G, X61s 7667-Y24, X61s 7667-WQ8, X61s 7666-AA5, X60s 1702-W96, T43 2669-YJ6, T42 2373-Q91


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:08 pm 
Offline
Sophomore Member

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:48 am
Posts: 151
Location: London, UK
May I ask if anyone has had or at least heard of fully functional ATI CCC software (with all graphics settings supported by 7500) and a driver from a package officially targeted for anything below W7 working OOTB on a T4[0-2] with 7500 under W7 w/o any crashes or other issues? If so which particular ATI CCC and driver versions are those resp.?

Here's how far I got with mine so far:
https://s27.postimg.org/9o14pky6r/About.png
https://s30.postimg.org/saly1r1pd/CCC.png
https://s28.postimg.org/ym85eyzml/Driver_Details.png

I suspect I've invented the bicycle but who knows. Any help testing this particular driver/software package on a T4x with 7500 would be very welcome as I have no idea how to stress it properly. Even 3DMark 99 won't run on this ancient platform: it requires DX6.1 or above. Starting Lenovo System Update, one sure way I've always used to verify famous crash in ati3duag.dll doesn't trigger it this time, which is very encouraging.

_________________
X1G1 3460-1F4, 2x X61s 7667-34G, X61s 7667-Y24, X61s 7667-WQ8, X61s 7666-AA5, X60s 1702-W96, T43 2669-YJ6, T42 2373-Q91


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited