thinkpads.com Support Community Forum Index Bill Morrow's thinkpads.com Open Forum - The Original Thinkpad Support Forum
Follow ThinkpadsForum on Twitter
 Support this forum, shop at newmodeus.com
 Support the forum, shop at newmodeus.com
System backups occur about 7:00 am EDT and last about 10 minutes. This will slow performance. RSS feeds have been added to the forum.
Donate if you wish to:
bill at thinkpads dot com

It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:15 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:23 am
Posts: 44
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
What will it take for the TP Pad to go active 3G?

As I understand it, there is a SIM slot.

Would a USB "dongle" 3G radio work?

(Moderator edit of Subject for clarification of thread content)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3 G
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:37 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Posts: 3836
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!
Shofar wrote:
Would a USB "dongle" 3G radio work?

That is highly unlikely, IMO, given the intrinsic nature of contemporary tablet devices..... but I don't think anyone knows definitively as yet.

Cheers,

Bill B.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3 G
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 8:27 am
Posts: 22
Location: Vienna, Austria
Thinkpad Tablet HW Manual, page 41, http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc/pccbbs/mobiles_pdf/0a96158.pdf, shows how easy is to replace (or add if not existent?) the F5521gw WWAN Mini PCIe card (Tom Butler, director Worldwide ThinkPad Marketing is reporting on Marktewire that Ericsson Mobile Broadband Module F551gw is in ThinkPad Tablet, http://www.einnews.com/pr-news/520044-ericsson-mobile-broadband-module-in-lenovo-thinkpad-tablet-). And guess what, exactly the same WWAN card I have in my Lenovo W520. So, IMO WWAN is upgradable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3 G
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:12 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:21 am
Posts: 482
Location: Dublin, Ireland
wolfindersteppe wrote:
Thinkpad Tablet HW Manual, page 41, http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc/pccbbs/mobiles_pdf/0a96158.pdf, shows how easy is to replace (or add if not existent?) the F5521gw WWAN Mini PCIe card


Easy is perhaps a bit of an euphemism considering just how much you have to disassemble to get to the card, but it seems doable. Somebody try it and tell us if there is a bios whitelist ;-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3 G
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 4:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:23 am
Posts: 44
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
Would it work with a SIM card connection in a USB radio?

It works in my X201s.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3 G
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 3:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 3:18 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Madison, WI
Kind of an odd question but what are the odds that a GSM ericsson F3507g will work in the slate tablet?

I have this card in my x200T and it never gets used. I don't intend to use my slate on WWAN in the states. However, I am going to India for two weeks in October and WWAN would be very convenient. I already checked and the frequencies are compatible with India. So the question is will the slate outright reject this card (i.e. Gobi is required) or will I get lucky?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3 G
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 8:58 pm 
Offline
Admin
Admin

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Posts: 3836
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!
jonLumpkin wrote:
Kind of an odd question but what are the odds that a GSM ericsson F3507g will work in the slate tablet?

In standard configuration, the odds are quite low, IMO!

jonLumpkin wrote:
So the question is will the slate outright reject this card (i.e. Gobi is required)

The Tablet supports 3 different WWAN cards for differing regional needs, but the F3507g isn't one of them.

Cheers,

Bill B.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3 G
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 12:07 am
Posts: 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
My slate is powered by the GOBI 3000 card lenovo (0A36185) provides with its other current machines. This will let you use 3g from V/ATT/Sprint. The Hardware Maintenance Manual for the slate mentions 2 other supported cards, but the Ericsson card costs more and lacks CDMA options while the third card seems to be China only.

I have also tried my GOBI2000 card (Lenovo issue)which the device recognizes as a 3g card but it simply errors out when trying to connect. I'd assume this means the drivers arn't included in the firmware. A root may permit installation of the driver, but I have been unable to root or discover the drivers for android. I don't even know of an android device which uses GOBI2000 or even if the driver exists for android.

I can also tell anyone interested that external devices will not work as only HID and mass storage are supported via USB. Installing any device driver will require root.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3 G
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:48 pm 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:52 pm
Posts: 4010
Location: Wash., D.C.
I just upgraded my ThinkPad Tablet with a genuine Lenovo Ericsson F5521gw WWAN adapter. It was automatically recognized and ready to go after the install.

Opening up the tablet wasn't very difficult, I just had to re-read the HMM about three times to be sure I wasn't going to damage anything. One important step seems to be to depress the reset switch, which shuts the Tablet down (vs. standby).

NOTE: During a two hour phone support call, AT&T was able to enable a laptop data plan, but not a tablet data plan because the IMEI associated with the WWAN adapter shows a Lenovo ThinkPad. This is an issue because there is a big cost difference between the laptop and tablet plans. The next day I stopped by an AT&T store, problem solved in ten minutes. I now have the post-paid 2GB @ $25 month plan on my ThinkPad Tablet.

Regarding the OPs question, I'm not sure (I doubt) you will be able to associate an internal SIM card with a USB WWAN dongle, but most (all?) WWAN dongles include their own SIM slot (unless they are for CDMA or non-SIM carriers). Whether or not a ThinkPad Tablet can use a third party USB WWAN dongle for 3G/4G access is the question. I suppose if the carrier provides an Android app for their dongle, then it should work.

A Google search just turn up a similar answer for the same question posed on an Archos 101 tablet forum --> http://forum.archosfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=37454

_________________
T510, i5-520m, NVidia, HD+, 8GB, 160GB Intel X25-M G2 SSD, Webcam, BT, FPR Home
T410s, i5-560m, Optimus, WXGA+, 8GB, 160GB Intel X18-M G2 SSD, Webcam, BT, FPR Travel
Edge 15 Core i3 | Edge 15 Athlon II X2| Edge 15 Phenom II X4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 7:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 3:10 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Saw this thread on another forum -- seems like this owner successfully converted his TPT WWAN.
http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-sl ... 331/page/7

_________________
Bruce Wilson (PA-USA)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:16 am 
Offline
moderator
moderator

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:52 pm
Posts: 4010
Location: Wash., D.C.
brucewilsonpa, thanks for posting that link, it would have made my upgrade easier if I had found it sooner! The link includes step-by-step instructions and pictures for adding a WWAN adapter to a ThinkPad Tablet.

_________________
T510, i5-520m, NVidia, HD+, 8GB, 160GB Intel X25-M G2 SSD, Webcam, BT, FPR Home
T410s, i5-560m, Optimus, WXGA+, 8GB, 160GB Intel X18-M G2 SSD, Webcam, BT, FPR Travel
Edge 15 Core i3 | Edge 15 Athlon II X2| Edge 15 Phenom II X4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 4:06 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:09 pm
Posts: 87
Location: Java
Any specific production batch or model number of this tablets that are 3G upgradeable?

_________________
T60p[2.0/4G/MomentusXT/ABG/UXGA/W7]
Past:701c T23 T4 T6 X3 X4 X6s


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 12:56 pm 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:21 am
Posts: 482
Location: Dublin, Ireland
lexicon wrote:
Any specific production batch or model number of this tablets that are 3G upgradeable?


As far as I know all models are 3G upgradeable.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 11:03 am 
Offline
thinkpads.com customer
thinkpads.com customer

Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 6:29 pm
Posts: 832
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
When will we be able to get hold of a AT&T 3G enabled Thinkpad Slate? The Lenovo site says late November, are there none of these available as if I am to use this in the field, I need 3G for AT&T.

_________________
Greg Gebhardt
Jacksonville, Florida


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 1:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:23 am
Posts: 44
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
Buy a pad in Europe.

I bought mine in Germany and it came 3G ready - even had a Vodaphone SIM in it.

I should work in USA too on ATT 3G.

Shofar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 6:52 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:21 am
Posts: 482
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Shofar wrote:
Buy a pad in Europe.
I bought mine in Germany and it came 3G ready - even had a Vodaphone SIM in it.
I should work in USA too on ATT 3G.


The European version is GSM only, the US version will be GSM/CDMA so it'll work with Verizon and with Iraq's cell phone network (the only two places on earth using CDMA).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 11:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:23 am
Posts: 44
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
I think that Japan is also CDMA. However the EU GSM still should work on most American networks. 3 G not 4 but good enough if you need the connection.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:09 am 
Offline
Junior Member
Junior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:21 am
Posts: 482
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Shofar wrote:
I think that Japan is also CDMA. However the EU GSM still should work on most American networks. 3 G not 4 but good enough if you need the connection.


Actually, Japan is perhaps the only place that is more screwed up than the US carrier market - most carriers use a homebrew 2G tech that isn't used anywhere else.

The Eurepean 3G card will only give you 3G on AT&T, and only if you can find an AT&T shop willing and able to hook you up (I tried unsuccessfully). On T-mobile US you'll only get 2G as nobody outside of the US (recurring theme here) uses AWS.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:23 am
Posts: 44
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
This summer I got an ATT card for my phone that also was 3G for Data. Actually it was $50 for a month and unlimited.
It worked for me though the clerk who sold it did not think it would work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 4:26 am 
Offline
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Posts: 6769
Location: ThinkPadLand
Greg Gebhardt wrote:
When will we be able to get hold of a AT&T 3G enabled Thinkpad Slate? The Lenovo site says late November, are there none of these available as if I am to use this in the field, I need 3G for AT&T.

greg..
you can get the gobi 3000 card from anyone.. lenovo or amazon.. and install it in your TPT..
directions are here, someplace.. :)

_________________
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 7:17 am 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:32 am
Posts: 91
Location: Elk Grove CA
I have a X200 Tablet a 7452 WMG that want to add a WWan card but need to know which one is right I know there are 3g ones but is there a 4 G one ? I seeing a lot on Ebay but would like to find the right one and not just buy one that isn't right.. I see some that list as Unlocked.. So need to find out if that mean the same as on phones and got any where for connection.

Thanks

CC


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 2:08 pm 
Offline
*Senior* Admin
*Senior* Admin

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:40 pm
Posts: 6769
Location: ThinkPadLand
go here and start a new thread..
viewforum.php?f=3

_________________
Bill Morrow, kept by parrots :parrot: & cockatoos
Sysop - forum.thinkpads.com

*
She was not what you would call refined,
She was not what you would call unrefined,
She was the type of person who kept a parrot.
~~~Mark Twain~~~


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:01 pm 
Offline
Freshman Member

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:32 am
Posts: 91
Location: Elk Grove CA
BillMorrow wrote:
go here and start a new thread..
viewforum.php?f=3

Ok thanks Bill

cc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:18 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Chestnut Ridge, NY
I have am 1838 TPT which has a slot for a SIM card - however it's not a 4G size
Is there any way I can upgrade the tablet (add a card?) to allow 4G (Verizon)?

thx


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group