Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

eComStation and Thinkpads; perfect combination?

OS/2 on ThinkPads
Post Reply

I have very few problems running eCS on my Thinkpad

Yes/True
3
50%
No/Not True
0
No votes
Depends on model of Thinkpad
3
50%
 
Total votes: 6

Message
Author
BigWarpGuy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

eComStation and Thinkpads; perfect combination?

#1 Post by BigWarpGuy » Thu May 11, 2006 12:51 pm

I have had very few problems with using eComStation with my Thinkpad (T23 with 1.1 and A22m with 1.2). Is this true of others who run eComStation on their Thinkpad? :?:

8)
* * * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy 8)
* * * * * * * * *
http://www.biggoofyguy.com
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

http://www.cafepress.com/tomleem

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

kreso
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 12:32 pm

#2 Post by kreso » Mon May 15, 2006 4:23 pm

very very few. onli problem I had was wireless network. But not any more. Genmac solved the problem. TP R-51 here.
regards

BigWarpGuy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

Reliable OS

#3 Post by BigWarpGuy » Tue May 16, 2006 12:38 pm

Not having problems with eCS could explain why the OS/2 section of this forum is not very active. :lol: 8)
* * * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy 8)
* * * * * * * * *
http://www.biggoofyguy.com
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

http://www.cafepress.com/tomleem

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

bhtooefr
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1371
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: Newark, Ohio
Contact:

#4 Post by bhtooefr » Sun May 28, 2006 11:03 pm

I'm not having any problems...

Then again, I'm running the Live CD on Virtual PC, not running directly on the hardware. :P

There just seems to be something "right" about running an IBM OS on IBM hardware, though. (Even when it's a product of Lenovo... :roll:)
Current: X201 (i5-540M, 8 GiB, 160 GB), 365XD (120 MHz, 72 MiB, 6.4 GB, 4x CD-ROM, 10.4" TFT)
Past: T61p 15.0" QXGA, T60p 15.0" QXGA, X61 Tablet SXGA+, R51e 14.1" XGA, X21

savarin
Freshman Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 8:32 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

#5 Post by savarin » Tue May 30, 2006 6:44 pm

It depends on model.
I haven´t ANY problem with my T30. But with the rest of my TP ...

My basic problem is wifi. T30 has built-in wifi, IBM made excellent driver and that´s why all works. But if I have to use a built-in wifi card in other TP or wifi in PCMCIA, I am not able to do it. I tried many PC cards, even bought special card with os/2 driver - Artem ... nothing.

In addition I do not understand PC cards, I´m simple user. Result is evident - if I need wifi I have to use either T30 or other operating system.

RfromR
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 7:31 am
Location: Rotterdam, Europe

#6 Post by RfromR » Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:05 pm

During install you can select PCMCIA and even the Thinkpad model...maybe that's why it doesn't work with you?
Thinkpads: 570 2644-1AK, 570 2644-3BG, 570 2644-1AU (broken), T23 2647-4MU, T30 2366-AG8, T43 2669-CTO.

BigWarpGuy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

Ethernet Connected USB Powered Wifi?

#7 Post by BigWarpGuy » Wed Dec 26, 2007 11:55 am

savarin wrote:It depends on model.
I haven´t ANY problem with my T30. But with the rest of my TP ...

My basic problem is wifi. T30 has built-in wifi, IBM made excellent driver and that´s why all works. But if I have to use a built-in wifi card in other TP or wifi in PCMCIA, I am not able to do it. I tried many PC cards, even bought special card with os/2 driver - Artem ... nothing.

In addition I do not understand PC cards, I´m simple user. Result is evident - if I need wifi I have to use either T30 or other operating system.
I was at a Warpstock convention - http://www.warpstock.org - which used an thernet connected USB powered wifi devices. It worked with eCS. You might want to try it. :idea:
http://www.google.com/products?q=ethern ... en&show=dd
* * * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy 8)
* * * * * * * * *
http://www.biggoofyguy.com
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

http://www.cafepress.com/tomleem

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “OS/2 Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest