Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Cheap harddrives, CPUs, Ram, optical drives, wifi etc...

Use this Forum for the ThinkPad hardware you have for sale or want to buy.
Sorry, no commercial sellers allowed here without asking Bill
Post Reply
Message
Author
TuuS
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Location: Hockessin, Delaware

Cheap harddrives, CPUs, Ram, optical drives, wifi etc...

#1 Post by TuuS » Mon Dec 02, 2013 5:44 am

Edit: I also have a large selection of T61 parts, message me if you have a specific need.

80gb Lenovo SATA harddrives from T61 models. I have several of these, various manufacturers and excellent condition, only $15 each plus shipping, $6 domestic (any quantity) $15 international (one drive), $25 (more than one).

I also have an extensive list of T61 parts, far to much to list.


The following are from T61 series but suitable for all similar models


DDR2, PC2-5300 ram 1gb $5, 2gb $20

Also a couple 512mb modules free with purchase. These come in handy for testing.

Cheap cpu chips

T5270, 1.4ghz 800mhz (free with purchase)
T7100, 1.8ghz 800mhz $2.50
T7250, 2.0ghz 800mhz $3
T7300, 2.0ghz 800mhz $4

Cheap Wifi cards

Intel pro

3945ag $3
4965ag $4


DVDrom/CDrw combo drive ultrabay slim $5
DVDram Multiburner drive ultrabay slim $20


pm for shipping quote


Prior topic
I have about 20 of these, all very well tested and in excellent condition and a steal at only $4 each.

Domestic shipping will be $3.99 $3 for 1-2, $6 for any quantity.

International (priority) shipping is $24 to most locations. Economy international available for $12 ( insurance available to some locations)

Shipping prices are estimated for 1-2 cpu chips, Larger quantities may be higher, Ask for quote.

These are fully Tested CPUs pulled from working laptops, no scrap or junk parts.

T7300, 2.0ghz, 4mb L2 cache 800mhzFSB $4 each

I also have some other inexpensive chips

T5270, 1.4ghz, 2mb L2 cache 800mhzFSB $ 0.99 each *free, see above
T7100, 1.8ghz, 2mb L2 cache 800mhzFSB $2.50 each
T7250, 2.0ghz, 2mb L2 cache 800mhzFSB $3.50 $3 each
T7500, 2.2ghz, 4mb L2 cache 800mhzFSB $12 each
Some others available
Last edited by TuuS on Sat Jul 05, 2014 4:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

db130
Freshman Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:10 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB $4

#2 Post by db130 » Tue Dec 03, 2013 6:39 pm

This is a worthy upgrade for those with entry level T60 machines with Core Duo CPUs(all of my T60s came with the T2400 1.8GHz Core Duo CPU and they were upgraded to T7300s about a year ago).
T60 2007-49U T7200 2.00GHz 3GB
T60 2007-55U T7200 2.00GHz 3GB Flexview
T60 2007-55U T7200 2.00GHz 3GB ATI V5200 Flexview
T61 7663-03U T7800 2.60Ghz 4GB
T61 6465-CTO T9300 2.5Ghz 4Gb
T510 4313-CTO i5-540M 2.53GHz 8GB
T510 4314-2PU i5-540M 2.53GHz 4GB
T520 4243-BF7 i7-2640M 2.8GHz 8GB

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1726
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB $4

#3 Post by Cigarguy » Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:01 pm

A T7300 won't be a drop in replacement in a T60. It probably can be done but at considerable effort. A T7200, T7400 and T7600 will work.

db130
Freshman Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:10 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB $4

#4 Post by db130 » Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:25 pm

my mistake.... and i apologize for cluttering up your ad... my signature clearly says T7200
T60 2007-49U T7200 2.00GHz 3GB
T60 2007-55U T7200 2.00GHz 3GB Flexview
T60 2007-55U T7200 2.00GHz 3GB ATI V5200 Flexview
T61 7663-03U T7800 2.60Ghz 4GB
T61 6465-CTO T9300 2.5Ghz 4Gb
T510 4313-CTO i5-540M 2.53GHz 8GB
T510 4314-2PU i5-540M 2.53GHz 4GB
T520 4243-BF7 i7-2640M 2.8GHz 8GB

Medessec
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:09 pm
Location: Chico, California
Contact:

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB $4

#5 Post by Medessec » Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:34 pm

Is it that the T60/61 have different chipsets, or operate at different bus speeds? I recall bus speeds... But I know the T7200/7400/7600 are high-end CPUs for the T60, but the T7300/7500 are low-end for the T61. Both are Merom though, unlike the T9300/9500 which are Penryn.
Trying my hardest to collect Thinkpads, but college and being broke kinda gets in the way. However...
701C, 760, 770, X24, T30, G41, A31p, T43p, T60/61 Frankie, Z61p, X60 SXGA+, W700ds
MEDESSEC

and yes. I am a bit of a lunatic.

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1726
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB $4

#6 Post by Cigarguy » Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:41 pm

T60 - 667 FSB - T7200, T7400, T7600, T2400, etc
T61 - 800 FSB - T7300, T7500, T9300, T9500, etc

That's why TuuS mentioned 800FSB in the title of his ad. A T7300 is a worthwhile and very cheap upgrade over a T7100. The extra 2 MB cache is a noticeable difference.

TuuS
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Location: Hockessin, Delaware

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB $4

#7 Post by TuuS » Wed Dec 04, 2013 3:29 am

Medessec wrote: the T7300/7500 are low-end for the T61. Both are Merom though, unlike the T9300/9500 which are Penryn.
Yes, this is very true, the 4mb of L2 cache is more important than the processor speed. Anyone with a T61 or R61 who is using a T7100, T7250, T5270 core2 duo or any of the celeron chips would be wise to grab one of these T7300 chips. I have a wholesaler that will take as many as I send for $3.60 each, but I'd prefer they stay in the community and at this price I'm almost giving them away.

Also, anyone who wants to upgrade a T60/T60p, I have a couple t7600 and t7400 chips available. I didn't list them here because of they are expensive chips in comparison to these, but performance wise the T7300 is about equal to the T7400 at well under 1/10th the price.

durmada
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:34 am
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania (Detroit, MI)
Contact:

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB $4

#8 Post by durmada » Wed Dec 04, 2013 1:26 pm

Will T7300 work in SL410 ?
T440s 20AQ-CTO, i5-4200U, 12GB, IPS, 750 GB Samsung 840 Evo

Wiking
Sophomore Member
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:58 pm
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB $4

#9 Post by Wiking » Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:40 pm

Will it fit T60 2007-fug? Now I have an t5600 in it.
Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk 2

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 17112
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB $4

#10 Post by ajkula66 » Sat Dec 07, 2013 12:12 am

Wiking wrote:Will it fit T60 2007-fug? Now I have an t5600 in it.
No.

You need T7200/7400/7600.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

TuuS
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Location: Hockessin, Delaware

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB $4

#11 Post by TuuS » Sun Jan 19, 2014 5:23 pm

durmada wrote:Will T7300 work in SL410 ?
It's hard to say for sure but from the info I see on thinkwiki website all the SL410 models do use 800mhz FSB and PGA478 socket so it's very possible this would work, it would also make a nice upgrade since that model has some pretty lame processor options.

durmada
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:34 am
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania (Detroit, MI)
Contact:

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB

#12 Post by durmada » Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:06 pm

PM sent.
T440s 20AQ-CTO, i5-4200U, 12GB, IPS, 750 GB Samsung 840 Evo

dr_st
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8799
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB

#13 Post by dr_st » Wed Jan 22, 2014 3:29 pm

durmada wrote:Will T7300 work in SL410 ?
Not any more that it will work in a T400.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

TuuS
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Location: Hockessin, Delaware

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB

#14 Post by TuuS » Thu Jan 23, 2014 12:15 pm

dr_st wrote:
durmada wrote:Will T7300 work in SL410 ?
Not any more that it will work in a T400.
dr_st, have you researched this? The T400 uses penryn chips with 1066mhz fsb only, the SL410 used merom and penryn chips with 800mhz FSB and comparing the available cpu options for the sl410 on thinkwiki...


One of the following Intel Celeron Dual-Core, Intel Core 2 Duo (Merom) or Intel Core 2 Duo (Penryn) processors:
Intel® Celeron™ Dual-Core T3000 (1.8GHz, 1MB L2)
Intel® Celeron™ Dual-Core T3100 (1.9GHz, 1MB L2)
Intel® Core™2 Duo T5870 (2.0GHz, 2MB L2)
Intel® Core™2 Duo T6570 (2.1GHz, 2MB L2)
Intel® Core™2 Duo T6670 (2.2GHz, 2MB L2)

and comparing them with the T7300 on Intel's website they look compatible. Same socket, same bus speed... From what I can tell they should work, but having never tried it I can't be certain.

The SL410 although carrying the "thinkpad" brand is based on ideapad and is much different than a thinkpad.

Medessec
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:09 pm
Location: Chico, California
Contact:

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB

#15 Post by Medessec » Thu Jan 23, 2014 12:45 pm

It's kind of an open frontier... no one who owns an SL410 has ever tried it. Although it theoretically, in terms of the socket, chipset, and other hardware, should be 100% compatible, there might be some thermal problem or outrageous BIOS lock that could prevent the CPU from booting or operating properly.

Someone needs to just dive in head first, and try it and see what happens. It's the only way we'll know for sure. With the T7300 as worthless as it is, I'd recommend buying it to try.
Trying my hardest to collect Thinkpads, but college and being broke kinda gets in the way. However...
701C, 760, 770, X24, T30, G41, A31p, T43p, T60/61 Frankie, Z61p, X60 SXGA+, W700ds
MEDESSEC

and yes. I am a bit of a lunatic.

TuuS
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Location: Hockessin, Delaware

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB

#16 Post by TuuS » Thu Jan 23, 2014 2:48 pm

The T7300 is actually a fine cpu chip, it's better than all the SL410 options and the only reason I'm selling them this cheap is because I have so many of them. I used to get $6 each for them in bulk and every time I had 20 or more I'd ship them off, but the buyers have reduced their bid so if I'm going to be virtually giving them away, I'd rather give them to family here. These are the perfect low cost upgrade for many laptops like the celeron or T5xxx equipped R61 or T61 models as well as many other brands of laptops equipped will cpu chips like the celeron 900. Many dept store grade laptops had these chips and compared to a single core celeron with 1mb of cache, these chips will rock your world. Also anyone with a T7100 or T7250 could benefit from twice the size of cache memory the T7300 has to offer.

dr_st
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8799
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB

#17 Post by dr_st » Thu Jan 23, 2014 2:59 pm

TuuS wrote:dr_st, have you researched this? The T400 uses penryn chips with 1066mhz fsb only, the SL410 used merom and penryn chips with 800mhz FSB and comparing the available cpu options for the sl410 on thinkwiki...
Yes, I have.

The Thinkwiki is often incomplete. For more complete information look at the Tabooks, and better yet - the HMMs.

T/R400, and SL400/410 use exactly the same chipset and socket. The same CPUs are supported. The same selection of CPUs was offered on all 3 models, except that naturally the higher end CPUs were more common on T/R series and the lower-end more common on the SL series. But on CTO units you could get all the same options, as you can see in the HMM.

I am not saying it won't work, because I never tried. I'm just saying it will probably work as much as it will work in a T400. Given that no one ever mentioned successfully installing a cpu from a T61 into a T400, I see no reason why this would work.

Intel's information on CPU sockets is not to be relied on. It will lead you to believe that T7200, T7300 and P8400, for example, all share the same socket more or less. Maybe they are physically compatible but not electrically compatible, I don't know. Or maybe it's just chipset limitations.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

TuuS
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Location: Hockessin, Delaware

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB

#18 Post by TuuS » Thu Jan 23, 2014 8:55 pm

I do know that the sl410 uses an AMI bios, the motherboard isn't remotely like a t400 which uses a faster FSB All the optional cpu chips on the thinkwiki are 800mhz so if someone has an sl410 running one of those chips, I don't see why a T7300 won't work unless the bios rejects it.

If you have some data showing the thinkwiki and/or intel websites are wrong, please share it

ps. the member who asked this question purchased some of these chips from me, so I suspect a test is forthcoming.

dr_st
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8799
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB

#19 Post by dr_st » Fri Jan 24, 2014 8:03 am

As I said:
dr_st wrote:T/R400, and SL400/410 use exactly the same chipset and socket. The same CPUs are supported. The same selection of CPUs was offered on all models, except that naturally the higher end CPUs were more common on T/R series and the lower-end more common on the SL series. But on CTO units you could get all the same options, as you can see in the HMM.
If you don't believe me, download the HMMs for these models and see for yourself.

Once again:
dr_st wrote:I am not saying it won't work, because I never tried. I'm just saying it will probably work as much as it will work in a T400.
TuuS wrote:If you have some data showing the thinkwiki and/or intel websites are wrong, please share it
It's not wrong, it's just incomplete.
TuuS wrote:the member who asked this question purchased some of these chips from me, so I suspect a test is forthcoming.
Good. This way we'll know for sure. :)
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

lincolnor
Freshman Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:19 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB

#20 Post by lincolnor » Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:45 am

Do not want to start a new thread, I am going to list a T8300 cpu from a non-working T61. I have not shipped a cpu before, so how do you pack it to make sure the pins are not bent or broken. There are clam shell container and anti-static foam. Do I need more? Thanks in advance.

TuuS
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Location: Hockessin, Delaware

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB

#21 Post by TuuS » Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:24 am

lincolnor wrote:Do not want to start a new thread, I am going to list a T8300 cpu from a non-working T61. I have not shipped a cpu before, so how do you pack it to make sure the pins are not bent or broken. There are clam shell container and anti-static foam. Do I need more? Thanks in advance.
You can put the chip in an anti static bag and ship it in any box. You can also use a large Rx container from a drug store, they are usually strong enough that you can step on one without breaking it and they are lightweight.

ps. if you're selling a chip from a dead laptop you should probably warn buyers and I wouldn't expect to get much for it to be honest. If you don't have a way to test it I'd just dump it on ebay rather than sell it in the forum. Most buyers here expect well tested parts... but that's just my opinion. btw, the T8300 is a nice chip, it's very efficient and cool running with a respectable 2.4ghz clock speed. I have a couple here that are brand new (NOS) in original sealed Lenovo boxes. For a performance machine the T9300 or T9500 is the most powerful, but the T8xxx series is more efficient.

lincolnor
Freshman Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:19 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB

#22 Post by lincolnor » Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:22 pm

TuuS wrote:ps. if you're selling a chip from a dead laptop you should probably warn buyers and I wouldn't expect to get much for it to be honest. If you don't have a way to test it I'd just dump it on ebay rather than sell it in the forum.
Thanks for your suggestion.

TuuS
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Location: Hockessin, Delaware

Re: Intel Core 2 duo CPU T7300, 2.0ghz 4mb L2 cache 800FSB

#23 Post by TuuS » Sat Jul 05, 2014 1:24 pm

lincolnor wrote:
TuuS wrote:ps. if you're selling a chip from a dead laptop you should probably warn buyers and I wouldn't expect to get much for it to be honest. If you don't have a way to test it I'd just dump it on ebay rather than sell it in the forum.
Thanks for your suggestion.
You are very welcome.

You might also consider buying an inexpensive laptop to use it in. I had a friend that got some very cheap HP laptops equipped with Celeron 900 which is a very weak chip, but it uses the same socket and chipset as the T61 series so I provided several of these T7300 chips to use in them. Your T8300 would go nicely and turn a slow/weak dept store quality laptop into a real useable computer. There are also some inexpensive thinkpad models that would benefit from an upgrade to one of these chips.


Last bumped by TuuS on Sat Jul 05, 2014 1:24 pm.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Marketplace - Forum Members only”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests