Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Seems like skylake is BGA

General Questions, Rumors, Real news & More
Post Reply
Message
Author
QWERTY Andreas
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 465
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Seems like skylake is BGA

#1 Post by QWERTY Andreas » Wed Sep 02, 2015 7:16 am

According to the charts in this link all the new skylake processors are BGA = soldered. Also the Xeon and QuadCore versions.

Not much to say.. A big step back :(
Thinkpad W500 (2.53 GHz P8700, 4 GB RAM, FireGL V5700, WUXGA)
Thinkpad T61F 14" (2.53 GHz QX9300, 6 GB RAM, Quadro FX570m 256 MB, SXGA). Advanced dock with AMD Radeon HD7750
Custom build ITX desktop (i5 4590, 8GB RAM, AMD R7 260X, custom watercooling)
Thinkpad 8, Fujitsu F-07C


FS: T61F

600X
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 707
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 3:31 am
Location: Burlington, NC

Re: Seems like skylake is BGA

#2 Post by 600X » Wed Sep 02, 2015 7:23 am

This is old news. However, Clevo is offering Barebones with Desktop CPU's, for those who want to have swappable CPU's. Skylake is also supported. You can get them with a TDP as low as 35W.
Daily: E7440
ThinkPads: 600X (i3), A31p (FlexView), X41, T43, T60 (FlexView), T61p (4:3), R61 (QXGA), X301 (AFFS), W500, X220t, X1

bhtooefr
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1371
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: Newark, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Seems like skylake is BGA

#3 Post by bhtooefr » Wed Sep 02, 2015 2:30 pm

Here's specs on the Skylake mobile SKUs, by the way:

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2015/09/ ... ith-edram/

Relevant to ThinkPads are the 15 and 28 W SKUs of the Skylake-U, and the Skylake-H SKUs.

Possibly most interesting are the 28 W Skylake-U SKUs. 64 MiB of eDRAM, GT3-level integrated graphics, and a 2.7 GHz hyperthreaded dual core i3-6167U, to a 3.3-3.6 GHz hyperthreaded dual core i7-6567U. Sweet spot is probably going to be the 3.1-3.5 GHz i5-6287U, with the same GPU boost clock as the i7.

Honestly, I'd be fine with that in the Retro machine, even though I voted for a quad. (The quads all have HD Graphics 530 anyway, which doesn't have the eDRAM.) Sadly, though, I don't think we'll see those parts in a ThinkPad, as none of them have vPro, so they'd design towards the 15 W parts, which aren't nearly as interesting.
Current: X201 (i5-540M, 8 GiB, 160 GB), 365XD (120 MHz, 72 MiB, 6.4 GB, 4x CD-ROM, 10.4" TFT)
Past: T61p 15.0" QXGA, T60p 15.0" QXGA, X61 Tablet SXGA+, R51e 14.1" XGA, X21

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16142
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Seems like skylake is BGA

#4 Post by ajkula66 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 2:41 pm

600X wrote: However, Clevo is offering Barebones with Desktop CPU's, for those who want to have swappable CPU's.
Very likely to be my next system if I end up buying one anytime soon...
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T42, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

i2000s
Freshman Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:15 am
Location: New Mexico, USA

Re: Seems like skylake is BGA

#5 Post by i2000s » Wed Sep 02, 2015 9:13 pm

I guess thinkpad will have both fanless and powerful CPUs empowered models released soon.

On the high-performance end, there has been the world's first Xeon equipped mobile workstation released: http://www.techradar.com/us/reviews/pc- ... 484/review
X31 (since 2003), X61T (2007), X200T (2009), ThinkPad Tablet 2 (2013), P50 (2016).
Considering more Thinkpads. Retiring my X200T. PM me if anyone wants to home it.
OS: Ubuntu and Windows 10.

laowai
Sophomore Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 1:37 pm
Location: Beijing China

Re: Seems like skylake is BGA

#6 Post by laowai » Thu Sep 03, 2015 1:08 pm

yes, it's BGA, but it's basically all overkill at this point anyways. by the time you have maxed out ram and the bottleneck is actually the CPU, it's typically well beyond time to upgrade.

jdrou
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Location: Madison Heights, MI

Re: Seems like skylake is BGA

#7 Post by jdrou » Thu Sep 03, 2015 5:47 pm

laowai wrote:yes, it's BGA, but it's basically all overkill at this point anyways. by the time you have maxed out ram and the bottleneck is actually the CPU, it's typically well beyond time to upgrade.
That depends on what tier you buy though. If upgrading is easy then you might buy whatever CPU works right now while if you know you can't upgrade you're more likely to buy close to the top of the line CPU. And if you can't upgrade and you don't happen to like the other changes that were made in the product line later then you're forced to go to some other line. Obviously this is relevant because of the history of Thinkpads over the last few years; you can't trust that buying a new system when you need more CPU will be a simple matter.
Current Thinkpads:
X31, X40, X61T, X61, X201, X220 (i7 IPS), W520 (2720QM/2000M/FHD), T440p (i7-4800MQ/GF730GT/FHD)
Dells: Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, M6400 (WUXGA), M6600, M6700
Daily driver: Dell XPS 13 w/Kaby Lake+Iris Pro+TB3

brchan
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1340
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:43 am
Location: West Lafayette, Indiana

Re: Seems like skylake is BGA

#8 Post by brchan » Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:49 pm

CPU upgradeability is nice, but processors have become so fast now that even an entry or entry-mid level processor can probably handle 10+ years easily. Even a T2500 can still handle most web and media content well. This definitely was not the case with the old pentiums over a decade ago. Now for ram, storage, network, and so on, that should be easy to upgrade.
Current Thinkpads: W530 (functional classic keyboard mod), X301, T61, T60, T43, A31p, T23, 600X, 770
Other: mk5 Toughbook cf-19, mk1 Toughbook cf-53

laowai
Sophomore Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 1:37 pm
Location: Beijing China

Re: Seems like skylake is BGA

#9 Post by laowai » Fri Sep 04, 2015 7:53 am

brchan wrote:CPU upgradeability is nice, but processors have become so fast now that even an entry or entry-mid level processor can probably handle 10+ years easily. Even a T2500 can still handle most web and media content well. This definitely was not the case with the old pentiums over a decade ago. Now for ram, storage, network, and so on, that should be easy to upgrade.

exactly. CPUs are simply not generally a major bottleneck anymore. if you are doing something that intensive that CPU is going to be a major bottleneck, you are better off with a desktop anyways, and it will be cheaper than a laptop trying to be something it's not.

Temetka
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2790
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Location: Glendora, CA

Re: Seems like skylake is BGA

#10 Post by Temetka » Mon Sep 07, 2015 7:22 pm

Man, I would love to have a 14.1" retro Thinkpad with the Skylake i5 CPU and eDRAM GPU. Finally integrated graphics that are rather speedy without having to rely on a crap AMD or Nvidia NVS chip.

But since that would be terribly awesome, it won't happen. I am very content using my T410 until such a machine exists or this machine up and dies.
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “GENERAL ThinkPad News/Comments & Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests