Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Advice needed on very first laptop to own

General Questions, Rumors, Real news & More
susubantal

Advice needed on very first laptop to own

#1 Post by susubantal » Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:10 am

Greetings! I am new to this world of Thinkpad and very happy to find this awesome forum!
There are so many informative topics and posts that are fun to read here.
Oh and please excuse any errors in my writing, for English is not my mother tongue.

So I have set my choice to buy Thinkpad as my first owned laptop, however I am still confused about what model.
Fortunately, this confusion grows when I accidentally visited Frankenpad threads. :)

The Thinkpad is going to be main laptop that I will use mostly for 2D CAD and Office documents.
I also look forward to learn basic photo/video editing and some 3D CAD in the future.
Should I walk the Frankenpad's path, and will Him meet my needs? I have found one T60 as a candidate, at local store.
Or should I just buy T420/W520, and call it a day?

Please give some insight into this.

TankPad
Sophomore Member

Re: Advice needed on very first laptop to own

#2 Post by TankPad » Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:37 am

I wouldn't go the Frankenpad route as a first computer, maybe as a side project when you have another machine to rely on too.

I suppose a budget is the first place to start. Then ideally what screen size you like and after that it'll be easier to list what suits you. For the uses you described, onboard graphics is more than capable. If you wanna jump deeper into serious CAD or video editing later then dedicated graphics would be beneficial.

For reference, I've done all the things you list on 6-7 year old X220's, T420's etc and they can be bought for very little money. I've actually got a lot of them for free in the past.
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s | W540

teamde78