Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Lenono/IBM x3550 M3/M4

General Questions, Rumors, Real news & More
Post Reply
Message
Author
Whitieiii
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:54 pm
Location: Kingston, WA

Lenono/IBM x3550 M3/M4

#1 Post by Whitieiii » Sat Feb 09, 2019 6:03 pm

Thinking about picking up an x3550 M3/M4 and want to know if anyone has any experience with them? I've priced out a few with upgrade parts and they come out to being cheaper than a custom built 2u rack computer with desktop computer parts... I'm wanting to run a bunch of vms for controllers, file storage, media servers and such and thinking of using proxmox for the base as esxi isn't an option for home usage and don't want windows server 2016 essentials... What do you think? I'm looking at only running it with one power supply and maybe one CPU... I've got a dedicated place to put it so it won't be loud and in the way..
My Collection:
A30 Pentium 3 512MB ram 60GB HDD Win 98SE
HP 8460p 2nd gen i7 8GB ram 500GB HDD Radeon 6470m Win 7
T440s 4th gen i5 8GB ram 300GB SSD Win 10
T440p 4th gen i7 12GB ram GT 730m 500GB HDD Win 10
TP Yoga S1 12" 4th gen i5 8GB ram 120GB SSD Win 10

Utwig
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 8:52 pm
Location: Slovenia/Europe

Re: Lenono/IBM x3550 M3/M4

#2 Post by Utwig » Tue Mar 05, 2019 4:39 am

IBM Servers are generally louder than early HPE and Proliants post Gen6 (Westmere) are in my experience too loud for home use. The IBM are generally nicer than HPE and not restrictive on which HDDs you can use (Gen 8 and Gen 9 Proliants give no blinken lights if you don't use HPE firmware HDDs).

I'm running ESXi 6.0 on Proliant ML350 Gen6 for home use but I have parts to build custom Supermicro/Xeon mATX box with Noctua cooler for my next ESX to make it quieter. There is nothing wront with ESXi, especially if you are running it on certified server hardware (which IBM servers generally are). The 6.7 supports 4k drives, if you go with 6.5 or lower you need to use 512 sector drives. IBM SAS controllers are generally nice and are on ESX HCL and popular with FreeNAS builders.

If the IBMs have satisfactory loudness and meet your needs go for them.
T540p, T420s, T400, R61, X61t, T60p, T42p, A21p

Whitieiii
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:54 pm
Location: Kingston, WA

Re: Lenono/IBM x3550 M3/M4

#3 Post by Whitieiii » Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:35 pm

Utwig wrote:IBM Servers are generally louder than early HPE and Proliants post Gen6 (Westmere) are in my experience too loud for home use. The IBM are generally nicer than HPE and not restrictive on which HDDs you can use (Gen 8 and Gen 9 Proliants give no blinken lights if you don't use HPE firmware HDDs).

I'm running ESXi 6.0 on Proliant ML350 Gen6 for home use but I have parts to build custom Supermicro/Xeon mATX box with Noctua cooler for my next ESX to make it quieter. There is nothing wront with ESXi, especially if you are running it on certified server hardware (which IBM servers generally are). The 6.7 supports 4k drives, if you go with 6.5 or lower you need to use 512 sector drives. IBM SAS controllers are generally nice and are on ESX HCL and popular with FreeNAS builders.

If the IBMs have satisfactory loudness and meet your needs go for them.
Ya I was originally going to go for the X3550 M4 but it's still just a bit too expensive for me with ram hdd and cpu upgrade so I'm getting the x3650 M3 (do to more hdd bays) and putting in the minimum amount of 2gb sticks... I've got the 6 core 60w CPU's down the line if i want them as I'm only using the 4 core 40w CPU's to start with... if 4TB disks don't work I'll run 2TB disks and get external storage box with the correct controller... (Don't think mine will do raid 5 without a controller upgrade anyways) i mostly got it to run ubiquiti software via Ubuntu and to store my files and stuff plus I've got a dedicated place in put it.... but I'm also gonna use it to play around with pfsense and a few other Linux distros via remote... I'm moving everything to my new rack soon so i don't have to have everything piled up behind the tv in the living room

My Collection:
A30 Pentium 3 512MB ram 60GB HDD Win 98SE
HP 8460p 2nd gen i7 8GB ram 500GB HDD Radeon 6470m Win 7
T440s 4th gen i5 8GB ram 300GB SSD Win 10
T440p 4th gen i7 12GB ram GT 730m 500GB HDD Win 10
TP Yoga S1 12" 4th gen i5 8GB ram 120GB SSD Win 10

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “GENERAL ThinkPad News/Comments & Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests