Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

W520 HD replacement. SSD?

Performance, hardware, software, general buying and gaming discussion..
Post Reply
Message
Author
bluetomgold
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:04 pm
Location: London, UK

W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#1 Post by bluetomgold » Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:05 am

It's now amazingly almost 4 years since I bought my W520 following advice on here (viewtopic.php?f=18&t=117189). Time flies! It has been a very good machine, plenty powerful enough for recording and mixing music projects and in the absence of much real "work" recently relegated to doubling up as the family's home entertainment machine. Not as well-built as my T61 was (plastic bits have broken on the W520) but it still cruises at most tasks I have thrown at it.

Unfortunately it has recently started reporting hard disk failure so I've been avoiding using it as I am yet to back everything up. I had this happen on another machine before - in the end I kept using it and had no issues but perhaps it's time to treat it to an upgrade.

Could you guys point me in the direction of a reasonably priced, suitable, compatible drive?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19899
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:51 am

Samsung EVO 860 (probably cheaper) or Sandisk Extreme Pro (probably more expensive) come to mind.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!

Collector73
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:18 am
Location: Den Bosch, The Netherlands

Re: W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#3 Post by Collector73 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:57 am

The Samsung is certainly a good choice. It is fast, and the W520 uses all that speed because it has SATA6. (I measured it, with fast SSDs transfer speeds (sequential) are in excess of 500 MB/s).

bluetomgold
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:04 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#4 Post by bluetomgold » Thu Dec 06, 2018 1:17 pm

Excellent, thanks guys. I think 500GB looks a good buy at the moment... e.g. :

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Samsung-500- ... 2974091459

Will get one ordered. May have to post again when I attempt installation...

bluetomgold
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:04 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#5 Post by bluetomgold » Wed Dec 19, 2018 11:15 am

In the end I bought a 120GB Samsung 850 EVO because it was very cheap...it arrived today...any reason not to attack the Thinkpad with the screwdrivers and just shove it in? Any hints and tips gratefully received.

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2514
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#6 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 1:04 pm

bluetomgold wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 11:15 am
In the end I bought a 120GB Samsung 850 EVO because it was very cheap...it arrived today...any reason not to attack the Thinkpad with the screwdrivers and just shove it in? Any hints and tips gratefully received.
Don't do that.

Make sure to carefully unscrew the Thinkpad and only gently put the drive in. :lol:

Go ahead...there is really almost nothing that can go wrong if you work carefully.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#7 Post by MikalE » Wed Dec 19, 2018 1:06 pm

I've had an 850 EVO in my T520 for nearly three years now without issue.
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/250GB SSD, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, XP Pro64 whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

bluetomgold
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:04 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#8 Post by bluetomgold » Wed Dec 19, 2018 2:02 pm

Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 1:04 pm
bluetomgold wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 11:15 am
In the end I bought a 120GB Samsung 850 EVO because it was very cheap...it arrived today...any reason not to attack the Thinkpad with the screwdrivers and just shove it in? Any hints and tips gratefully received.
Don't do that.

Make sure to carefully unscrew the Thinkpad and only gently put the drive in. :lol:

Go ahead...there is really almost nothing that can go wrong if you work carefully.

LOL...thanks. :)

bluetomgold
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:04 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#9 Post by bluetomgold » Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:30 pm

Ha! Well...

Physically installing it and a fresh install of Windows 7 was a piece of cake. Seems fast!

Unfortunately no USB or networking out of the box so I'm currently burning drivers on to a DVD... Oh well, these things are never quite as easy as you hope...

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2514
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#10 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:16 pm

I get networking first, install chrome or browser or choice, then dot net frame work, then ThinkVantage System Update....and it's all good.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#11 Post by MikalE » Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:33 pm

I have networking drivers on my backup drive for all of my systems in case of a drive failure and a corrupt system image backup.

It has saved me a lot of time in the past. After the network driver is loaded everything else is a walk in the park.
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/250GB SSD, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, XP Pro64 whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

bluetomgold
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:04 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#12 Post by bluetomgold » Thu Dec 20, 2018 4:13 am

Thanks guys! Nearly there now... everything seems to be working, just need to install software. Seems fast. Incredible upgrade for £20... I hope 120gb is enough!

Decided to try BitDefender antivirus as Avira was getting intrusive with constant pop-up advertising messages. Actually it's probably worse than a virus.... Not sure how much difference the SSD is making but BitDefender seems to be operating very transparently.
MikalE wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:33 pm
I have networking drivers on my backup drive for all of my systems in case of a drive failure and a corrupt system image backup.

It has saved me a lot of time in the past. After the network driver is loaded everything else is a walk in the park.
Yes! I usually do this and looked on my network drive before downloading. I had drivers for all the old systems I no longer own but not the W520 :roll: ...

... still in this case without USB support or networking they wouldn't have been much use anyway - only way I can think of to install is via the optical drive. Now I have them on a DVD I'll be ready next time. :)

Armansy
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:53 am
Location: North Berhen,NJ

Re: W520 HD replacement. SSD?

#13 Post by Armansy » Fri Jan 18, 2019 8:17 am

bluetomgold wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:30 pm
Ha! Well...

Physically installing it and a fresh install of Windows 7 was a piece of cake. Seems fast!

Unfortunately no USB or networking out of the box so I'm currently burning drivers on to a DVD... Oh well, these things are never quite as easy as you hope...
Thank you!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad - General HARDWARE/SOFTWARE questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests