Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Will future Haswell Thinkpads all use Windows 8/Touchscreen?

Performance, hardware, software, general buying and gaming discussion..
tbessie
Sophomore Member

Will future Haswell Thinkpads all use Windows 8/Touchscreen?

#1 Post by tbessie » Sat Jul 06, 2013 2:15 pm

Just a question - do you suppose that when Lenovo comes out in the fall with their new Haswell lineup, they will ALL be touchscreen devices running Windows 8? Or do you think Lenovo will keep a few of them non-touchscreen and running Windows 7?

I'm a software developer, and really don't enjoy having/using a touchscreen nor the Metro interface, so I'm hoping they keep a few things "old-fashioned".

- Tim
Last edited by tbessie on Sun Jul 07, 2013 2:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

wolfman

Re: Will future Haswell Thinkpads all use Windows 8/Touchscreen?

#2 Post by wolfman » Sat Jul 06, 2013 3:47 pm

It's really anyone's guess. However, if I had to put forth a guess, I'd say that they'd be Windows 8 and touch screens on the mid to upper models and non-touch with touch screen option on low end machines. But that and a $1 will get you a sweet tea at McDonald's right now (sans tax :mrgreen: ).

What I'm driving at is that Lenovo and the Thinkpad line are following the herd - I would expect the needs of software developers (I'm one), engineers (other than for maybe the W series with CAD / CAM certifications for video cards), old school Thinkpaders, etc won't matter much. We're not the target market, the masses are.
Thinkpad L14 gen 2 | AMD Ryzen 7 Pro 5850u | 64gb RAM | 1tb SK Hynix P31 Gold | Intel AX210
Desktop: AMD Threadripper 1950x | 64gb RAM | 512gb Samsung 970 Pro + 1tb Crucial SSD | Ubuntu 20.04 LTS | Dell S2721DGF
Previous Thinkpads: A21m, R40, X61, T410, T420, W520

tbessie
Sophomore Member