LED Screens and The T400: Can an LED Screen Swap to Non-LED Model

Performance, hardware, software, general buying and gaming discussion..
Post Reply
Message
Author
KingBubba
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: Brooksville, FL

LED Screens and The T400: Can an LED Screen Swap to Non-LED Model

#1 Post by KingBubba » Sun Apr 30, 2017 1:15 pm

I have a t400 that recently simply boots to the splash screen with no f1 or f12 choices working. I tried all the voodoo stuff with pulling the battery and tapping and holding the on button. I have removed the memory and it beeps at post. I have disconnected the cmos battery. I have left the cmos battery disconnected and booted and did not get the error screen about time and date. With a valid bootable HDD, there is no loading of Windows. Although some of the signs are there that the mobo is dead, I still hold out a bit of hope that this laptop is recoverable. On this subject, if anyone wants to add suggestions, I am fully open for anything.

In the meantime, I am considering the idea of swapping the LED lit screen to one of my other t400s and am not sure if this a reasonable possibility. I tried to do research on this, but there are so many models of the t400 that it not possible to find out what is possible and what is not. I tried to look for t400 models with the LED screen, on eBay, but sellers are quite ignorant of the LED screen. Out of about 200 listings, there was only one seller that knew what he had. His model # was not the same as mine.

I would be very appreciative, if someone could shed some light on either of my issues. Many thanks.

Gary
Last edited by KingBubba on Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18215
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: LED Screens and The T400: Can an LED Screen Swap to Non-LED Model

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Apr 30, 2017 2:58 pm

Read the HMM (see the HMM link above), LED screens have a LED-board, CCFL screens have an inverter instead.
AFAIK the LCD cables are the same.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

KingBubba
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: Brooksville, FL

Re: LED Screens and The T400: Can an LED Screen Swap to Non-LED Model

#3 Post by KingBubba » Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:23 pm

Thanks for the reply. I have gone through the manual a few times and did not find any references to a swap out of the two types. I'll look again. I am glad that you pointed out the manuals link. I had not explored the site enough to find that yet. Thanks again and if anyone has tried this swap, please let me know if it worked.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18215
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: LED Screens and The T400: Can an LED Screen Swap to Non-LED Model

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon May 01, 2017 4:30 am

Oops, I was a bit too hasty. :oops:
Apparently there are several LCD options on a T400: CCFL, LED-standard and LED-high-bit.
They seem to have different lids and cabling.

Question: why go from LED to a duller and darker CCFL?
That makes no sense!

Just replace the LED-screen with another LED-screen and you should be done.

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1469
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: LED Screens and The T400: Can an LED Screen Swap to Non-LED Model

#5 Post by axur-delmeria » Mon May 01, 2017 6:22 am

Why not transplant the entire lid?
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

KingBubba
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 2:36 pm
Location: Brooksville, FL

Re: LED Screens and The T400: Can an LED Screen Swap to Non-LED Model

#6 Post by KingBubba » Mon May 01, 2017 11:23 am

My intent is to swap the entire lids saving the hassles of inverters, etc. I just have not been inside a t400 yet, t60 yes - t400 no,; so I don't know what I am going to see when I get in. I have read most of the threads here on this subject and they still leave me flat on the possibility and process. I do recollect references to cable being longer and some references about ribbon cables and connectors, but nothing is clear enough for me to jump ahead with this quite yet. Thanks for any replies.

Gary

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad - General HARDWARE/SOFTWARE questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests