Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Any ideas about this Google Chrome problem?

Performance, hardware, software, general buying and gaming discussion..
Post Reply
Message
Author
MikalE
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Any ideas about this Google Chrome problem?

#1 Post by MikalE » Thu May 23, 2019 4:59 pm

On my T520 I have Google Chrome and Slimjet installed.

On my T500 and both T510's I have Google Chrome installed.

All computers are account-sync'ed so no matter which one I use they all look the same.

This morning when I woke the T520 and attempted to open Chrome and select a site from a bookmark folder from the displayed bookmark bar, I was asked if I wanted to open all 47 tabs!

I answered NO and the box closed. When I selected another folder the same thing happened with a different amount of tabs.

I finally found a bookmark folder with a minimal 17 tabs so I answered OK. All 17 tabs opened and loaded at once. When I clicked on a tab to see what page it was, it closed on me. As did all of the rest. I couldn't look at any of them.

The vertical three dot Google Chrome menu on the far upper right is non-functional. It highlights, but does nothing when clicked on. None of the other browser extensions that are displayed in the upper right toolbar do anything when clicked on. Ad-Blocker+, Ghostery, etc. do not respond to a right or left click.

I closed Chrome and rebooted to Win XP64 and used Slimjet this time since Chrome doesn"t go back that far, but all of the responces I described above for Chrome, were the same in Slimjet.

I rebooted to Win7 Pro64 and deleted Slimjet and Chrome, I used CCleaner to clean up the registry several times, and made sure the .exe had also been deleted.

I downloaded Chrome again, but not Slimjet but nothing has changed. The actions or inactions of the browser are the same with no change in functionality. Even when signed out the behavior is the same.

This does not happen on the other three computers. The T500 and both T510's, and my Android phone as well as my Lenovo 10" tablet with Win 8.1 all behave normally with full functionality.

I have tried everything I can think of to fix this, but Chrome will not respond to the menu button and selections from the bookmark bar will not open, or even allow a selection of a single site.

Numerous searches within and without the Google Help page have turned up nothing. Zilch, Zip, Zero, nanda, etc.

Does anyone have a clue what is going on with Chrome on my T520?

There is nothing I do not recognize in the Processes or Applications of the Task Manager. Numerous scans have turned up nothing using CCleaner, MalwareBytes, MS Security, and several other updated malware, anti-virus, and etc, etc.

What is happening here?
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/250GB SSD, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, XP Pro64 whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

MikalE
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Any ideas about this Google Chrome problem?

#2 Post by MikalE » Thu May 23, 2019 9:40 pm

After several more hours of investigating this and trying different solutions, only a Windows restore from a backup of about a month ago fixed this.

I have no idea what caused it and have never seen this before. I've been using Google Chrome for at least 10 years, probably more and nothing like this has ever occurred.

The bookmark folders are once again opening normally and the browser menu button is functioning again.
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/250GB SSD, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, XP Pro64 whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

MikalE
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Any ideas about this Google Chrome problem?

#3 Post by MikalE » Fri May 24, 2019 8:06 pm

Could anyone even offer a guess?

The rest of the computer functioned normally. All programs opened, worked, and closed as they should. Even MS IE worked just fine. It seems that only Google Chrome on the T520 would not operate correctly even from a fresh install.
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/250GB SSD, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, XP Pro64 whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20354
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Any ideas about this Google Chrome problem?

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat May 25, 2019 5:40 am

Try it with a different RAM amount, like 8+4GB or 8GB, or different RAM altogether.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

MikalE
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Any ideas about this Google Chrome problem?

#5 Post by MikalE » Sat May 25, 2019 7:36 am

I meant a fresh install of Google Chrome, not Win7. It is operating normally after a restore.

Maybe there was something corrupted in the registry that even a fresh install of Chrome kept going back to and wouldn't function correctly.
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/250GB SSD, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, XP Pro64 whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

w0qj
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1018
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:53 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Any ideas about this Google Chrome problem?

#6 Post by w0qj » Sun May 26, 2019 10:01 am

Unfortunately we've never seen this problem before...

But as you've said, if reverting to a previous Windows image solve this problem, perhaps it's corrupted Registry entries that's causing this...
Daily Driver: X1 Extreme 1st Gen (X1E1): i7 | 16GB | 1TB | IPS
Current Thinkpads: X1E1 | X1C4 | X1C3 | X250 | X230 | T410
Retired Thinkpads: T42 | 560 (circa 1996)
~~IBM Thinkpad era computer bag !

MikalE
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Any ideas about this Google Chrome problem?

#7 Post by MikalE » Sun May 26, 2019 10:31 am

Well, I couldn't think of anything else. But yes, I think it came down to corrupted registry entries for Chrome.
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/250GB SSD, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, XP Pro64 whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad - General HARDWARE/SOFTWARE questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests