Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Help! How-to - remove IBM pre-load partition from HDD

Performance, hardware, software, general buying and gaming discussion..
Post Reply
Message
Author
jamess
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:45 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia, European Union

Help! How-to - remove IBM pre-load partition from HDD

#1 Post by jamess » Tue Aug 08, 2006 11:08 am

I have a 40 GB disk which I've mounted into an external housing to serve me as external disk via usb/firewire. I have formatted the disk but once I run the disk management, there's still IBM preload partition eating 6 GB ob disk space.

How can I get rid of it, possibly not having to buy/download additional software?

Thanks
X300... own
X61 Tablet... sold
X60s... sold
T60p... sold
T43... sold

yossarian
Freshman Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 11:48 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#2 Post by yossarian » Wed Aug 09, 2006 11:47 pm

If you mean the rescue partition, then you can go into the BIOS on boot, and tell it to recover that lost space.

jamess
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:45 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia, European Union

#3 Post by jamess » Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:30 am

The partition on which all the preloaded software. Don't know if that's called the rescue partition. However, this disk is from previous thinkpad and is now in an external enclosure as ext. disk. I can not access that via bios...
X300... own
X61 Tablet... sold
X60s... sold
T60p... sold
T43... sold

KristianJ
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 1074
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 5:45 am
Location: Penrith, Australia

#4 Post by KristianJ » Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:59 am

Just pop the drive back into your TP then and access via BIOS :) I'm gonna have to do that with my old T40 drive, but it'll only take a few mins.
X220 4291-46M
HP Pavilion dv7-2109tx


jamess
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:45 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia, European Union

#5 Post by jamess » Thu Aug 10, 2006 3:02 am

Is there no other way?! Say... a program that is capable of proper disk format and partition removal...
X300... own
X61 Tablet... sold
X60s... sold
T60p... sold
T43... sold

Kyocera
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 4826
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:00 pm
Location: North Carolina, ...in my mind I'm going to Carolina.....
Contact:

#6 Post by Kyocera » Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:32 am

For my formatting tasks I use "Partition Commander" it will clean off the disk, completely to include the HPA.

jamess
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:45 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia, European Union

#7 Post by jamess » Thu Aug 10, 2006 8:05 am

Thank you very much.
X300... own
X61 Tablet... sold
X60s... sold
T60p... sold
T43... sold

vinny77
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 11:11 pm
Location: Bronx, NY
Contact:

#8 Post by vinny77 » Fri Aug 11, 2006 11:41 pm

How about just delete that drive them resize the primary drive to the full compacity then reformat.


you you could just wipe the entire primary drive.

shalliday
Freshman Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

#9 Post by shalliday » Fri Jun 08, 2007 11:14 am

I use Acronis Disk Director and so far I have been very pleased with this product for disk management including reformatting and partions.
T500 T9900@3.06GHz | Win7 64 | 8Gb | 300Gb SSD | 15.4” WSXGA+ | 802.11bgn | BT | Blueray
T60p T7600@2.33GHz | Win7 64 | 4Gb | 120Gb SSD | 15” UXGA | V5250 | 802.11bgn | BT
V570 i5-2410M@2.3GHz | 15.6" | Win 7 64 | 6Gb | 640Gb 5400 | 802.11bgn
X31 1.6GHz | WinXP | 2Gb | 100Gb 7200 | 802.11bg

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad - General HARDWARE/SOFTWARE questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests