Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T60 or T410 ??

Performance, hardware, software, general buying and gaming discussion..
stevenvh
Freshman Member

T60 or T410 ??

#1 Post by stevenvh » Tue May 18, 2010 10:05 pm

Hi all,
As posted elsewhere my wonderful T42P is having SB/USB issues and I suspect is about to become parts. I was pretty convinced I won't be happy with anything but a flexview screen since I've been using A31P and then T42P since @2004 and love it. When I look at other's laptops I just don't see any comparison.
As well, I'm a semi-pro photographer and want the widest color gamut I can get. And I travel for work, so I need to be portable. If it wasn't for the photo editing I'd just use my X30. It does everything else just fine. I don't do much other multimedia stuff on a laptop either at home or at work.
Currently I find clean T60Ps only as refurb's on ebay and it looks like @ $1000+ to get what I want.
After reading here and elsewhere 'til my brain hurts I started configuring at the Lenovo site. It looks like I can get a decent T410 for @ $1250 that should do the job.
Of course though it's not a UXGA flexview, but WXGA+ with discreet graphics and 4GB of memory.

So question is: Do I take a chance on ebay and pursue the beloved flexview or just accept the end of an era and buy a new T410?

Any other recommendations? I need to keep the costs as close to $1000 as possible and have always bought clean, used thinkpads and built them up to suit my needs.

tia,
Steven
T60P 2623 DDU

emeraldgirl08
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder

Re: T60 or T410 ??

#2 Post by emeraldgirl08 » Wed May 19, 2010 12:59 am