Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

T4x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
gruzdev
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:27 am
Location: Tver, Russia

PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#1 Post by gruzdev » Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:10 pm

I put the PM 770 processor ($1.70 on ebay) in the T40, instead of PM 705 (1500 mHz).
has gained a clock speed of 1530 MHz (so it's displayed in BIOS and in windows) and support for the NX bit.
in my opinion the performance of the laptop remained at the same level.

tried to make a pin-mod, having sealed 2 contacts (54-55) on ICS95081, removed pull-down resistor from 55 pin (with it the voltage on the pins was not high enough.)
but nothing happened, the frequency of the processor does not depend on pinmod, always 1530
Maybe I missed something?

laptop with a pin-mode and a PM 705 processor hangs on the windows boot screen
in BIOS the frequency 1.5 is displayed.

geka3250
Freshman Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:45 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#2 Post by geka3250 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:42 am

PM 770 designed for Intel Sonoma platform. Missing CPU microcode in older platform may be your problem
340CSE | 380XD | 770 | 770X | 770Z | 390E | 600E | 600X | T23 | X30 | T30 | T41p | T43 | T60p | X200t

FryPpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 501
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#3 Post by FryPpy » Tue Jan 30, 2018 1:35 pm

Привет!

Have the same setup but different results.
Initially this was preparation step for modding R40 (P-M version). Got T40 and begin experimentation.

Have T40 + Banias 1.3 GHz () + (705) 1.5 GHz (705) + Dothan 1.8 GHz (745 @ 400MHz FSB) + 2.13 GHz (770 @ 533 GHz FSB).

Initially T40 have BIOS version 1.05 with Banias 1.3GHz. Any Dothan CPU have hang it with 0x32 POST code. Exactly the same thing on R40 with Dothan CPU (even on last BIOS for R40;).

On 2.xx BIOS versions T40 can eat Dothans but in BIOS it shpw "???MHz";) In windows (CPUz) shows right frequency 1.8 for 745 under load (7-zip test).

Now have T40 with 3.21 BIOS version (i know this is not the last BIOS version).
It shows correctly 1.8GHz for 745 and 1.53 for 770. In Windows CPUz shows 1.8Ghz for 745 and only 600MHz for 770 even on heavy load. Somewhere on the net it was written that C0 stepping Dothans on T40-T42 stuck on lower multipliers (6x 100Mhz base FSB = 600MHz, 400MHz rated FSB = 4 * 100Mhz).
It was C0 stepping 400MHz Dothans and i think (but not certain) that they have NX and PAE.

Both Dothans (400MHz and 533MHz) have the same CPU family 6D6 so have the same microcodes.

Addendum:
Have flashed 3.23 version of BIOS and nothing (770 @ 800MHz) and than UNDERSTOOD:
533MHz Dothans (and may be ALL C0 stepping Dothans) have family code 6D8!!! Any T40 BIOS up to 3.23 haven't microcodes for 6D8. Moreover on official Intel web site in linux microcodes archive there is no codes for 6D8. Have got one from T43 BIOS and made microcode update diskette and it showed that there is no microcodes loaded in my 770. May be this is the reason why my 770 stuck at 800MHz.

Already I have added Dothan microcodes (6D6) in R40 BIOS but it haven't helped:(
6D6) microcodes have introdused in 3.03 BIOS version of T40. 3.00 version have strange things for 6D0, 6D1 and 6D2. It have HSH file for 6D6 but didn't have PAT file (microcode itself). So any 3.03+ version have microcodes for Dothans.

Made PINmod. Removed R152 from 55pin of Clock Gen. And soldered 2k resistor from big capacitor near R147 to via near R152. Motherboard have unpopulated pads for R393 (from factory to drive 55 pin high) but it on under side of the mother board just below R152. But i was lasy to completely disassemble T40;) All resistors should be 1k but i have 2k on hand and it works.

770 now works @ 800Mhz (more presice 793MHz) at lowest multiplier and don't want to go faster. But old 1.3 GHz banias with pinmod can show 1.8Ghz (1.728) in CPUz under load;) But in BIOS screen it shows 1.3GHz.
I haven't tested 1.5Ghz and 1.8Ghz CPUs because they will work @2Ghz and more.

CONCLUSIONS:
gruzdev wrote:
Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:10 pm
tried to make a pin-mod, having sealed 2 contacts (54-55) on ICS95081, removed pull-down resistor from 55 pin (with it the voltage on the pins was not high enough.)
but nothing happened, the frequency of the processor does not depend on pinmod, always 1530
1. Don't believe BIOS screen when using nonstandard FSB frequency. I think it calculates frequency from CPU's highest multiplier and factory FSB = 400MHz (which is wrong for 770 or PINmodded banias).
2. I haven't done any stability testing for PINmod. Memtest86 shows that base FSB is 132Mhz (133 in common) and memory works at 172Mhz (352MHz DDR) with timings from 133 (266) profile (2.5-3-3). So it can be error prone like in T61@1033 FSB without SPD modding.
3. Banias can do more;)
4. I need to mod BIOS of R40 to make transition that was done on T40 from 1.xx to 2.xx BIOS versions.
5. I need to mod T40 BIOS to add 6D8 microcode - but i think it's doable;)
gruzdev wrote:
Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:10 pm
Maybe I missed something?
May be PINmod is done wrong.

Please write here your BIOS version and S-spec number of your 770 to help me push my 770 from it's lowest multiplier. Have you modded your BIOS?

POSTNOTE:
Memtest passed 67% without any errors. 1.3GHz Banias works slightly hotter than on 400NHz FSB. BUT northbridge was HOT and i have stopped testing. I think LONG fan is needed for PINmod to protect northbridge.

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1146
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#4 Post by kfzhu1229 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:05 pm

As for PAE and NX. It requires BOTH the motherboard and CPU support. I have tried PM 750 and 780 on T42, no go for NX and PAE. I have tried PM 735 and 745 on T43, no go either. (What I meant by no go is that Windows 8.1 and 10 wouldn't boot).
Isn't pinmod's purpose to have 7x5 400mhz CPUs run at 533mhz on R52/T43/p so that you have a clock speed multiplied by 533/400 (same goes for TDP)?
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

FryPpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 501
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#5 Post by FryPpy » Fri Feb 02, 2018 1:04 am

kfzhu1229 wrote:
Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:05 pm
As for PAE and NX. It requires BOTH the motherboard and CPU support. I have tried PM 750 and 780 on T42, no go for NX and PAE. I have tried PM 735 and 745 on T43, no go either. (What I meant by no go is that Windows 8.1 and 10 wouldn't boot).
Interesting results. If you can remember what S-spec number was on your 745? SL8U6 have C0 stepping and should have NX + PAE, but it is 6D8 and (may be) will stuck at 600MHz on T40 - T42 (like mine 770).
I haven't tested W8 - W10 on my T40 + 770, but Ubuntu 12.4 x86 have worked well, while it complained about absent PAE on T40 + 745 (SL7EN - B1 stepping).
On T40 + 770 in /proc/cpuinfo shows both NX and PAE featuers.
kfzhu1229 wrote:
Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:05 pm
Isn't pinmod's purpose to have 7x5 400mhz CPUs run at 533mhz on R52/T43/p so that you have a clock speed multiplied by 533/400 (same goes for TDP)?
May be it can be done either, but my goal is to run 533MHz (and 400MHz too;) CPUs at 533MHz on T40-T42.
Last edited by FryPpy on Sat Feb 03, 2018 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

gruzdev
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:27 am
Location: Tver, Russia

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#6 Post by gruzdev » Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:09 pm

SL7SL
original bios 3.23
It would be cool to run this processor at the nominal frequency.

Image Image Image

cpu-z shows 797 MHz (133х6) so that the mod was successful I guess

I tried to transfer the section with microcodes (update0.rom) from BIOS T43, the BIOS refused to flash :(
I do not know how to find the required microcode in the module.

bios from T43 has the necessary microcodes, the question is how to move them to the bios T40
Intel Microcode List ver0.4a

Drag the file here and press Enter
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Phoenix Technologies Ltd\BIOS Editor\cpu\T43\UPDATE0.ROM
"

CPUID=6D0 Rev=06 2003/05/22 CRC=97346D74 Off=0 Size=800 Plat=5
CPUID=6D1 Rev=09 2003/07/09 CRC=02CD7D21 Off=801 Size=800 Plat=5
CPUID=6D2 Rev=10 2003/08/14 CRC=C20B4712 Off=1002 Size=800 Plat=5
CPUID=6D8 Rev=20 2004/07/22 CRC=2F6D5732 Off=1803 Size=800 Plat=5
CPUID=6D6 Rev=18 2004/10/17 CRC=B7B66D41 Off=2004 Size=800 Plat=5
Intel Microcode List ver0.4a

Drag the file here and press Enter
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Phoenix Technologies Ltd\BIOS Editor\cpu\T40\UPDATE0.ROM
"

CPUID=691 Rev=01 2002/05/27 CRC=64CEB1DA Off=0 Size=800 Plat=5
CPUID=694 Rev=01 2002/08/05 CRC=3CDD4D51 Off=801 Size=800 Plat=5
CPUID=6D0 Rev=06 2003/05/22 CRC=97346D74 Off=1002 Size=800 Plat=5
CPUID=6D1 Rev=09 2003/07/09 CRC=02CD7D21 Off=1803 Size=800 Plat=5
CPUID=6D2 Rev=10 2003/08/14 CRC=C20B4712 Off=2004 Size=800 Plat=5
CPUID=695 Rev=07 2004/11/09 CRC=F7D0460F Off=2805 Size=800 Plat=5
CPUID=6D6 Rev=18 2004/10/17 CRC=B7B66D41 Off=3006 Size=800 Plat=5

Press any key to exit

upd late at night:
in HEX editor I copied from the update0.rom T43 fragment from 1803 to 2004 to update0.rom T40 in the same place (the necessary fragment is clearly visible, it is bounded by zeros.), rebuilt the BIOS and flashed it.
The laptop starts up, the backlight turns on, but the screen is black.
if I press the blue button, something happens. https://youtu.be/KAegn-0BQ2c
It looks like it's over.

FryPpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 501
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#7 Post by FryPpy » Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:17 am

gruzdev wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:09 pm
It looks like it's over.
Bad news.

It's too early to give up!!!
Phoenix Crisis recovery - try this first.

More bad news: before starting experimentation i have tested this on live (unbricked) T40 and R40 and nogo.
LPT plug is working because when it is plugged in boot sequence is changed. After power on screen remains black but it makes one short beep and begins searching floppy. T40 searches USB Floppy drive and R40 searches ultrabay floppy. If crisis recovery floppy in drive it reads about one sector (very fast) and no more readings on floppy. I have tryied booting from crisis floppy without LPT plug - after normal boot sequence it did 1 short reading and print "Flash crisis recovery disk" and stuck (like in first scenario but with working screen).
I thought that this is due live (working) BIOS and crisis recovery havent started but who knows.


I have modded some BIOSes by replacing microcodes in unpacked image (using phcomp.exe utility). Procedure is the same. Unpacked BIOS can be feed to intel's intelmicrocodelist.exe utility and it shows offset for microcodes and then copy and past over in HEX editor. Some info can be taken from here. The 6D8 microcode i have taken from T43 BIOS (non diskette image 1yuj18us.exe -> 7-zip -> unpack exe + unpack img files). The file 06D8.PAT is 2049 bytes long. It have 2048 bytes of microcode + unknown last byte i have deleted before inserting in unpacked T40 BIOS. Have checked checksum (phnxcksm-0.2.exe utility from endeer's stuff) and it state that changing microcode haven't changed BIOS checksum?????
Any time i flashed this modded BIOS i got error message "Can't merge CPU hash data. Make sure *.hsh file is correct".
Both phlash16.exe from pure DOS and WinPhlash from XP didn't work:( WinPhlash got BSOD. phlash16 showed error about hash data. I have tryed original 3.23 T40 BIOS from this site and modded (NWL + SLIC) from somewhere on the net. Added both PAT and HSH files to the floppy from T43 image but no luck (WARNING!!! HSH files for the same 6D6 is different in T40 and T43 BIOS! It means that HSH is related more to BIOS itself neither microcode patch or PAT file).
Have searched internet for what is the *.HSH files and how they works but nothing.

When i was merging microcodes in R40 BIOS i had such errors but finally flashed BIOS from WinPhlash.

I haven't touched BIOS with Phoenix BIOS editor (it complains about unknown modules in ThinkPad BIOS and may be can do mistake when rebuilding BIOS after change).

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1146
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#8 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:52 pm

Do NOT ever attempt to flash T43/p/R52 BIOS TO T40/41/42/p! YOU WILL BRICK THE MOTHERBOARD IF THE BOARD ALLOWED YOU TO DO SO!
Just go ahead get a T43/p mobo and call it a day! I have a bunch of T43p mobos lying around btw, though I didn't mean to have promotion intentionally.
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1146
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#9 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:54 pm

gruzdev wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:09 pm
It looks like it's over.
And you just did it. a bricked motherboard.
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

gruzdev
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:27 am
Location: Tver, Russia

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#10 Post by gruzdev » Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:03 pm

FryPpy wrote:
Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:17 am
Any time i flashed this modded BIOS i got error message "Can't merge CPU hash data. Make sure *.hsh file is correct".
there was the same error when I tried to replace all microcodes with all micro codes from T43(just replace update0.rom).
if I replaced only 800 bytes with one particular microcode then the BIOS gives itself to flash but ... it does not boot anymore.
kfzhu1229 wrote:
Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:52 pm
Do NOT ever attempt to flash T43 BIOS TO T40
I did not even intend to.
I unpacked the bios from the T40, unpacked the bios from the T43, took 800 bytes with the 6D8 microcode from the T43, and transferred them to the T40 BIOS of the same place.
then packed the modified T40 bios back and flashed it.

gruzdev
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:27 am
Location: Tver, Russia

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#11 Post by gruzdev » Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:48 pm

The notebook is alive, partially
And he definitely recognizes the new processor 2.13 :banana: so that's definitely something I did right.
6D8 microcode in its place and works? But it seems that some part of the bios during the assembly was damaged

The problem is that the IBM logo is not displayed. if press escape, it appears POST boot screen, memory testing and so on, after which hangs.

F1 and old CPU 1.5 https://youtu.be/zBUs67Y6vHY
and
F12 and new CPU 2.13 https://youtu.be/KV5fcxaVewA

the blue button, F12 and F1 are not working, is not entered in the BIOS setup.
hangs apparently somewhere in an attempt to boot.

The question is how to boot up at least something working to flash bios.
I could not do an Crisis recovery, no way works.

Mac Workin
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 3:40 am
Location: Singapore

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#12 Post by Mac Workin » Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:39 am

gruzdev wrote:
Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:48 pm
The notebook is alive, partially
And he definitely recognizes the new processor 2.13 :banana: so that's definitely something I did right.
6D8 microcode in its place and works? But it seems that some part of the bios during the assembly was damaged

The problem is that the IBM logo is not displayed. if press escape, it appears POST boot screen, memory testing and so on, after which hangs.

F1 and old CPU 1.5 https://youtu.be/zBUs67Y6vHY
and
F12 and new CPU 2.13 https://youtu.be/KV5fcxaVewA

the blue button, F12 and F1 are not working, is not entered in the BIOS setup.
hangs apparently somewhere in an attempt to boot.

The question is how to boot up at least something working to flash bios.
I could not do an Crisis recovery, no way works.
have you tried doing Fn + B or Windows + B with the battery removed? it is something along the lines of holding Fn + B and powering the T40 up with the AC adapter plugged in, did you try that kind of crisis recovery? (hold Fn + B first, then plug the AC adapter in without the battery inserted)

gruzdev
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:27 am
Location: Tver, Russia

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#13 Post by gruzdev » Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:54 pm

Methods with keyboard combinations do not work.
The method with a Boot-Block Jumper also does not help. it enters the recovery mode (it turns on, but the screen does not light), but nothing happens, does not read a floppy

gruzdev
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:27 am
Location: Tver, Russia

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#14 Post by gruzdev » Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:50 am

It turned out to restore the BIOS, using a programmer and a BIOS dump from another laptop
But after the firmware is dumped from another's computer, there is no security check
Error 0192: Embedded Security hardware tamper detected

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19319
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#15 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Mar 07, 2018 6:29 am

Have you seen this Crisis Recovery post? viewtopic.php?t=100075

gruzdev
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:27 am
Location: Tver, Russia

Re: PM 770 + pin mod on T40 ?

#16 Post by gruzdev » Sun Mar 11, 2018 1:24 pm

As I said above, does not work even with the boot-block jumper LPT plug.
Attempt to launch a Crisis Recovery on another(fully operational) T40 did not give anything.
Probably there is no such possibility on T40.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T4x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests