Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

T4x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Shimodax
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 6:29 pm

Re: Hitachi HTS541616J9AT00 works without 2010

#511 Post by Shimodax » Wed Nov 12, 2008 6:31 am

GLR wrote: 1) COPY SB2IA79H.BDR SB2OA79H.BDR
2) HFUI1704 OA79H -pm SB2IA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> error
3) HFUI1704 IA79H -pm SB2OA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> PASS
For the sake of later googlers I just want to report success with a HTS541680J9AT00 (80G) with existing SB2OA70H firmware to IA79H.

(There was another 80GB drive in the machine by default, but I had that HTS drive around here and it turned out to be LOTS faster than the original IBM 80GB drive).

I used the Lenovo ISO files for firmware updates, started from CD (the new drive was already the internal drive, no USB box), pressed Ctrl+Break on exit when it asked to reboot and used the above three commands on the ramdisk I came out at the prompt (C: ).

The drive already had data on it and just booted up again with no 2010. *yay* :banana: The update tool now reports it as SB2IA79H.


Shim.
T43 2668-97G (2GHz, 512MB, 80GB, 15" SXGA)

Annoyed by fan noise? Check out the TP 43 Fan Control thread
http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?t=17715

namja
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:43 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#512 Post by namja » Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:21 am

Quick question about the Seagate ST9160821A:
Thinkwiki shows that the ST9160821A will work out of the box. It also states: "The infamous 2010-error comes up during bootup, but the drive works fine and hdapsd can issue unload immediate to the drive."

Does that mean the error comes up but it will continue to boot? How's that any different from other drives? I currently have a Samsung 80GB in my Thinkpad T43, and my computer already does that (I have BIOS version 1.29 I selected "Continue" as the option related to the HD).

GLR
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:51 am
Location: Rueil-Malmaison (92), France
Contact:

Re: Hitachi HTS541616J9AT00 works without 2010

#513 Post by GLR » Wed Mar 04, 2009 6:20 pm

Shimodax wrote:GLR wrote:
1) COPY SB2IA79H.BDR SB2OA79H.BDR
2) HFUI1704 OA79H -pm SB2IA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> error
3) HFUI1704 IA79H -pm SB2OA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> PASS

For the sake of later googlers I just want to report success with a HTS541680J9AT00 (80G) with existing SB2OA70H firmware to IA79H.

I used the Lenovo ISO files for firmware updates, started from CD (the new drive was already the internal drive, no USB box), pressed Ctrl+Break on exit when it asked to reboot and used the above three commands on the ramdisk I came out at the prompt (C: ).

The drive already had data on it and just booted up again with no 2010. *yay* :banana: The update tool now reports it as SB2IA79H.
I confirm : I've just completed exactly the same process on the same hard disk drive with the same firmware. It works fine !
X200 7459-E55 (pro)
T43 2668-4DG with HD 5K120 HTS541212H9AT00 [ERR 2010]
T43 2668-VBD with HD 5K80 HTS541680J9AT00 [fixed ERR 2010 : firmware flashed from SB20A70H to IBM SB2IA79H]
T42 2373-4WG with Intel wireless 2200BG [fixed ERR 1802]
R51 1829-R6G

garysblim
Freshman Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 9:27 pm
Location: somerset, nj

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#514 Post by garysblim » Sat Mar 28, 2009 10:15 am

Does anyone have experience with Fujitsu MHV2120AT? It's supposed to work with the new firmware update. But when I try to update it, it says no update for the HDD. Any idea how I can do this? And it still gives 2010 error. It drives me crazy!!!
T20, T23, T42, T43, R60e

citizenNB
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:41 pm
Location: Magdeburg, Germany

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#515 Post by citizenNB » Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:59 pm

Hi garysblim,

Unfortunately, Lenovos list doesn't say exactly your drive (MHV2120AT) is supported. It just says:
Fujitsu MHV2xxxAT
,
"x" means one or more characters.
and
Note: The above information does not mean that any ThinkPad supports all of the Hard Drives listed.
. So it's not clear if your drive is one of the models which is supported. :(
T23 | T43p | Z60t

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#516 Post by Harryc » Sat Mar 28, 2009 6:17 pm

MHV2120AH works without the 2010 error. It's the 5400rpm version. Good luck finding one at a reasonable price though.

garysblim
Freshman Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 9:27 pm
Location: somerset, nj

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#517 Post by garysblim » Mon Mar 30, 2009 2:42 pm

That's a bummer. Worse is that in the middle of swapping the HDD, I crack (slightly) the plastic cover of the LCD lid... :( Does anyone if this is easy to replace? O well, I guess I can just use the 120 HDD on my powerbook instead...
T20, T23, T42, T43, R60e

Xenomorph
Sophomore Member
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:37 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#518 Post by Xenomorph » Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:10 am

Harryc wrote:MHV2120AH works without the 2010 error. It's the 5400rpm version. Good luck finding one at a reasonable price though.
How do you define "reasonable" though?

If your current drive is dead, or you *really* need to space, then paying over $100 for the Fujitsu 120 Gig may be worth it. The $100+ price may be more reasonable than what IBM/Lenovo charges for a drive.

From what I've seen, the price range on them is in the $50 to $200 area. Quite a difference, depending on who is selling it.
I was able to find a used Fujitsu 120 Gig for $50.

Maybe instead of the (failed) petition to Lenovo to make the T43 support more drives, perhaps someone should start a petition with Fujitsu to make more 120 Gig drives.
ThinkPad 560X
ThinkPad T23
ThinkPad T43

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#519 Post by Harryc » Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:12 am

I ran the last petition, it's your turn.

spikex34
Freshman Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:39 pm

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#520 Post by spikex34 » Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:36 am

Just chiming in to say the ST980815A definitely gives 2010 error, using latest bios for 2686-E7U T43.
X200s: 1.86/4/X25E
T43: 1.86/2/5k80

skydreamer
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 2:44 am
Location: Moycullen, Ireland

Re: Hitachi HTS541616J9AT00 works without 2010

#521 Post by skydreamer » Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:59 pm

dan0815 wrote:Hello,

I've just updated a HTS541616J9AT00 (160G) with SB4OA70H firmware to IA79H. I used the actual release from the Lenovo page and the information in this forum. Following steps I made:

- Burn Image
- Restart, and exit update tool via ctrl c
- Typed : 1) COPY SB2IA79H.BDR SB2OA79H.BDR
2) HFUI1704 -pm OA79H SB2IA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> error
3) HFUI1704 -pm IA79H SB2OA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> PASS
- reboot -> no 2010

After that I restored the system via RR. The Disksize was only 130 G, I don't know why. When I've found out why the size is reduced, I'll tell you. The active disk protection works, at lest in a way I was able to test it (startet copy task and then lifted the T43 up a little bit while looking at the real time animation; when it showed the pause sign there was in the same moment no more noise from the HD). Pretty poor test, I know, but better than nothing.

Daniel
This worked for me with HTS541612J9AT00 firmware SBD0A70H. Thanks Daniel! :D
Rescued T23, 1GB RAM, PIII 1.13GHz, 80GB 5400 rpm HDD, Mini-PCI WiFi, internal bluetooth module, LCD 1400x1050. Dual Boot XP Pro & Fedora Core 7.

Smokestoomuch
Freshman Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 11:59 pm
Location: Palm Springs, California

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#522 Post by Smokestoomuch » Wed May 06, 2009 2:39 pm

Harry,
If you want that I should sign the T43 firmware petition, I need to be able to link to it. Currently, I cannot. :shock:

citizenNB
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:41 pm
Location: Magdeburg, Germany

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#523 Post by citizenNB » Wed May 06, 2009 2:44 pm

Hi Smokestoomuch,
Smokestoomuch wrote:Harry,
If you want that I should sign the T43 firmware petition, I need to be able to link to it. Currently, I cannot. :shock:
it's not necessary anymore. The petition has ended. ;) A few posts above you can read the result.


citizennb
T23 | T43p | Z60t

Reo51St
Sophomore Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:09 pm
Location: St. Petersburg Florida

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#524 Post by Reo51St » Fri May 08, 2009 10:20 am

Does anyone have a list or can you point me in the direction of a list of all the ThinkPad’s that have the 2010 error issue.

I have gone threw most of the sticky and noticed that the T42 maybe included.

I thought that I saw reference to some R series that may have this same issue.

Thanks for any guidance.

citizenNB
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:41 pm
Location: Magdeburg, Germany

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#525 Post by citizenNB » Fri May 08, 2009 1:02 pm

Hi.

It's a piece of cake. :D
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problem_w ... hard_disks

citizennb
T23 | T43p | Z60t

dottech
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:59 pm
Location: Reno, NV

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#526 Post by dottech » Thu May 28, 2009 11:29 pm

I’m on my own with this one. Help. I purchased an HTS541616J9AT00 drive for use in a T43 2668-44U. Other HDs work fine in that machine. The purchased drive came from a Toshiba. (I have a diff T43 w/160g drive, that when I boot up also gives the ‘may not work in your machine/upgrade your firmware’ message, I press ESC. It also works just fine in 3-T43’s I have. But then, someone else configured it to work.)

With the 'from-Toshiba' drive I get the ‘may not work’ message, press ESC, the screen blanks out, cursor blinks in top left - nothing else ever happens. So I turn it off, it repeats, with no gain. From reading this thread I am confirmed I have to update the firmware. I’m assuming this is flashing the BIOS, please steer me correctly. I go to Lenovo’s site, find what I think is the non-diskette BIOS from http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-59096

Problem is, when it’s set as the primary drive, I can’t get *to* Windows XP Pro on the drive, to open Windows explorer, to run the program. Recall, it never boots to Windows, like my other 160g drive, even in the same machine (after of course bypassing the ‘may not work’ message).

I can navigate the drive just fine when it’s a secondary drive in a drive bay. I see all the software previously loaded, etc. So I know I could copy the BIOS program TO the HD. But I can’t ‘run' the program *on* that secondary drive. If I tried, it would execute on my booted drive, right? And I’m not running it because I don’t want to mess up the files on the booted drive. What do I do? Recall I’m on my own with this one, I know some stuff but got laid off so have no helpdesk to assist and have to get this machine running, so I’ll HAVE one to use.

And, I also want to be sure I have the right file by name, if you can assist. One link I went to for the 2668 but it did not have the HTS541616J9AT00 on the list of drives the file *will* work for. Similar ones, but no cigar.

Can you please be as specific as possible? Thanks in advance

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#527 Post by Harryc » Fri May 29, 2009 2:48 am

The firmware upgrade disc (if it's the IBM one) will ask you to select the drive to update firmware on. Choose your new drive.

dottech
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:59 pm
Location: Reno, NV

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#528 Post by dottech » Fri May 29, 2009 6:43 pm

Thanks. I don't have an 'IBM disk' with either T43 I'm trying to get working with this drive. I have ones for 600x and T21 only. I finally found this link: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... harddrives. Ahhh. Firmware. Says it supports the HTS541616J9AT00 drive.

Downloaded the 'FIRMWARE_ISO_fwhd56.iso' file, cut it to CD. Put the CD in the drive. Rebooted, entered BIOS setup. Changed the boot order, the network order and F12 order to ATAPi CD0, HDD0 for the Hitachi drive. F10 to save. Shut the computer down. Took out the drive that boots. Put in the drive that doesn't, now as the primary drive. Turned it on, the CD starts crunching. Entered BIOS to make sure the boot order remained. Got the 'may not work' message. Blinking cursor that goes no where. Shut it down, do it again. Nothing every asked me to select a drive. It does the same thing no matter what path I take.

I later specifically 'excluded' the HDD0 drive in question, from the boot order, completely.

I tried F12 on startup, then selecting the CD/DVD RW drive to boot from. Media fails message, exits the program; no OS found. Did I cut the CD wrong? I cut it with only the 'FIRMWARE_ISO_fwhd56.iso' file. The instructions clearly say it is supposed to be a bootable CD. Was I supposed to use an option in cutting the CD to add system files to it?

The instructions also clearly say "Any hard drive password must be removed prior to running this utility. Otherwise firmware can't be updated with error message. " I don't know the OS passwords for any users. I can't get it to boot so I can check users, to reset passwords. Ideas, anyone?

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#529 Post by Harryc » Fri May 29, 2009 7:26 pm

Don't copy the .iso file to CD. You have to burn the image to disk. How you do that depends on your burning software.

dottech
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:59 pm
Location: Reno, NV

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#530 Post by dottech » Sat May 30, 2009 10:29 am

Ah HAH. Progress. So it boots from d: and sees my HD + CDRW drive. While initializing, says:
0 hdd found
C:RAMDRIVE FOUND

Provides info:
IDE Pri. Master HTS541616J9AT00 Firmware version SB4OA70H
IDE Sec. MasterUJDA755y DVD/CDRW Firmware version 1.72

Says no firmware upgrade required. Same symptoms. Ideas?

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#531 Post by Harryc » Sat May 30, 2009 12:22 pm

Code: Select all

Hello,

I've just updated a HTS541616J9AT00 (160G) with SB4OA70H firmware to IA79H. I used the actual release from the Lenovo page and the information in this forum. Following steps I made:

- Burn Image
- Restart, and exit update tool via ctrl c
- Typed : 1) COPY SB2IA79H.BDR SB2OA79H.BDR
2) HFUI1704 -pm OA79H SB2IA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> error
3) HFUI1704 -pm IA79H SB2OA79H.BDR /F SRBA79HB.TBL
-> Typed U in the tool -> PASS
- reboot -> no 2010

After that I restored the system via RR. The Disksize was only 130 G, I don't know why. When I've found out why the size is reduced, I'll tell you. The active disk protection works, at lest in a way I was able to test it (startet copy task and then lifted the T43 up a little bit while looking at the real time animation; when it showed the pause sign there was in the same moment no more noise from the HD). Pretty poor test, I know, but better than nothing.

Daniel
Reference - http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... 81#p428581

So it appears doable, but at the end of the day only 130GB out of 160GB will be usable on the HD. Also I reread your posts, you will want to start with a blank drive. The image from the Toshiba will not work in a Thinkpad. Blank out the drive using Activekilldisk.
http://www.killdisk.com/

dottech
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:59 pm
Location: Reno, NV

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#532 Post by dottech » Sat May 30, 2009 1:13 pm

I see. (I did see the previous post.) I don't mind blanking out the drive as I can reload OS, software. I had been told that all it needed was Thinkpad drivers, etc. do I have to do anything to it besides killdisk? Do I put it in as a bay drive then run killdisk? Then format it? Update BIOS? Anything? Specifics will help. Thanks.

I also have a new blank drive just like it. What do I have to do to it, to get it to work as well? A format command? If so, which one. And I should do it when it's secondary slave drive? I haven't had to format an old or used drive in a gazillion years. Thx.

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#533 Post by Harryc » Sat May 30, 2009 1:49 pm

Activekilldisk is all you need, then run the XP install DVD. BIOS is not a cause of your problem.

ohthinker
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 1:29 pm
Location: NE Ohio, USA

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#534 Post by ohthinker » Sat May 30, 2009 3:56 pm

Old thread, I know, but certainly well relevant for folks who live with (as one person here called 'em) these moody T43s.

I have now a used T43 and a (separately purchased) used Hitachi Travelstar 7k100 HTS721080G9AT00 drive, manufactured in 2005, with firmware revision MC40A51A.

Instructions for force-flashing this drive with IBM/Lenovo's update program are on this page of this thread :

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... &start=300

However they refer to update revision 44 (fwhd44.iso) which seems to have gone missing from the IBM download. One member of the forum posted it on his own webpage and it's still out there, but it appears to be an incorrect or corrupt file. It's only about 1.8m and when burned to a CD the CD appears to be empty. To the recyclers with ye!

So I have the current HD update from IBM's website, fwhd56.iso, QUITE current : issued 20 May 2009.

The instructions in the above link suggest using the MC4IA51A firmware by copying it to an OEM file (MC4OA51A.bdr). In the current release there is no such firmware. There is however a MC4IA5DA.bdr. Just one difference : the 1 is now a D.

Think it's safe to use? This drive doesn't weigh much and would make a right lousy paperweight if I knock it senseless with the wrong firmware.

Thanks to all!
Ohio Thinker - 760EL, 600E, T22 * 2, T43

miketoro
Sophomore Member
Posts: 236
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 2:10 pm
Location: NY, NY

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#535 Post by miketoro » Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:26 am

Is there a known fix for the Seagate Momentus 100GB 7200RPM Hard Drive ST910021A? I'm running 1.29 and 1.06 on a 2668-CTO. I upgraded the drive firmware to 3.07 with the Lenovo iso with no luck.
T400s | 27" iMac (mid 2010) | T43 | Powerbook G4 | OptiPlex RAID 10 Ubuntu server

TheL
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:52 am
Location: Seinäjoki, Finland

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#536 Post by TheL » Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:20 pm

I read the whole thread... Unbelievable! After so many years, no solution for this 2010 error issue..? No one have hack the bios? :eek:

I just upgrade my R52 HDD with a 250Gb WD2500BEVE and got the 2010 message but the disk seems to work properly. I didn't know of the issue before this...

emeraldgirl08
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1759
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Location: Window Rock, Arizona

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#537 Post by emeraldgirl08 » Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:03 am

I have decided to use a one of the HD's in my T30 for the R52 in an effort to save some money.

Does anyone know if the Seagate Momentus ST980815A is compatible with a "moody" R52???
Thinkpad X230 | Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 | mATX Haswell Desktop | Hackintosh

SGD
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:57 am
Location: Russia

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#538 Post by SGD » Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:49 am

deleted

SkiBunny
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 520
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:51 pm
Location: Canada

Re:

#539 Post by SkiBunny » Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:53 am

Harryc wrote:Check the thread linked below for petition details. I'm open to ideas on how to make it more public. Let's carry the petition discussion over to that thread and leave this one for T43 firmware issues. Thanks.
http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... 831#435831
Hmm, I signed this petition last year so anyone know whether I should be able to see this thread? (I think I may have posted there too before but not sure) Thanks.

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: Problems with non-thinkpad option drives on T43 thinkpads

#540 Post by Harryc » Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:36 pm

The thread was moved out of view because the petition was completed, submitted, and rejected, so it served no useful purpose.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T4x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests