Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T42's FlexView in R60 - possible?

T40/T41/T42/T43 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Andrew479
Freshman Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 9:41 am
Location: Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic

T42's FlexView in R60 - possible?

#1 Post by Andrew479 » Sat Aug 27, 2016 3:04 pm

Hi,
is it possible to transplant 15" 1400x1050 FlexView screen from broken T42 into Lenovo R60 which has classic XGA 1024x768? Do I need different display cable?
I have found several threads on this, but none of them had conclusive answer.

Thanks in advance!
Andy

Neil
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 3030
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: Paragould AR USA

Re: T42's FlexView in R60 - possible?

#2 Post by Neil » Sat Aug 27, 2016 4:18 pm

Hi Andy,

I've never done this, so take this for what it's worth. As I understand it, the T4x panels will physically fit into a T60 chassis. The T4x series rely on the LCD cable to set display resolution, and the T60 relies on an EDID chip in the display and not the cable. Seems that I've read to some, but not all, T43 panels have the EDID chip.

So, you could possibly use the T42 panel, but will likely have to add a EDID chip to it something like Troels described in this thread: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... &start=120

Hope someone more knowledgeable about this comes along and corrects me since I would kind of like to do a similar swap myself.
Collection = T430 - T500 - R400 - X300 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - R61 (15" SXGA+) - T60 - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21815
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Wexford, Éire
Contact:

Re: T42's FlexView in R60 - possible?

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Aug 27, 2016 4:26 pm

Neil wrote:So, you could possibly use the T42 panel, but will likely have to add a EDID chip to it something like Troels described in this thread: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... &start=120
You hit the nail on the head.
You can try if it works without EDID(-mod), no damage done, but it's rather unlikely.
Still NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown until Easter 2021!
Covid-19: Stay safe, so Mask it or Casket!

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 17113
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: T42's FlexView in R60 - possible?

#4 Post by ajkula66 » Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:33 am

RealBlackStuff wrote: You can try if it works without EDID(-mod), no damage done, but it's rather unlikely.
Agreed 1001%.

FWIW, I've had one really weird experience with an Intel-based R60 that sported a *really* old BIOS. I actually got an A31p panel to display on it. But being the clutz that I am, I managed to damage the LCD cable immediately after that and haven't been able to test any subsequent LCDs... :oops:
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T40/T41/T42/T43 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests