T42p with R52 ATI board

T4x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
MKnight
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:09 pm
Location: Lemmer, NL

T42p with R52 ATI board

#1 Post by MKnight » Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:15 pm

As much that I hate forums and this site's draconian rules (it's $CURRENT_YEAR+1 and you guys still have a rule about huge images? REALLY?), help me out. I just bought a T42p with a dead board and I'd like to get it going just for the heck of it.

I already did a hybrid build of a R50e chassis with a R52 board but I like the T-series chassis more.

TL;DR: T42p(FV?!) with dead board, can I swap my R52 ATI X300 board?

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T42p with R52 ATI board

#2 Post by kfzhu1229 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:51 pm

Yes you can but the pcmcia cage is not the same one from a T42 because of one expresscard slot. T42p fan should work just fine, network card is fine too. But Bluetooth, CPU and RAM ARE different. A T42p CPU posts just fine but it's strongly NOT recommended while RAM wont fit at all and Bluetooth module will throw you 1803 error
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: T42p with R52 ATI board

#3 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:51 pm

MKnight wrote:As much that I hate forums and this site's draconian rules (it's $CURRENT_YEAR+1 and you guys still have a rule about huge images? REALLY?), help me out. I just bought a T42p with a dead board and I'd like to get it going just for the heck of it.

I already did a hybrid build of a R50e chassis with a R52 board but I like the T-series chassis more.

TL;DR: T42p(FV?!) with dead board, can I swap my R52 ATI X300 board?
Doubt it, they have slightly different builds. Its like a 15.4" T60 board in a 4:3 T60, it almosts fits but not quite.

You can always try.
Welcome to the jungle, we have FrankenPads
If you want it you're going to bleed, but that is the price to pay
And you're a very rare mobo, very hard to get
You can see the blinky lights, but you won't get them for free.

MKnight
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:09 pm
Location: Lemmer, NL

Re: T42p with R52 ATI board

#4 Post by MKnight » Fri Jun 23, 2017 6:06 pm

kfzhu1229 wrote:
Fri Jun 23, 2017 5:51 pm
Yes you can but the pcmcia cage is not the same one from a T42 because of one expresscard slot. T42p fan should work just fine, network card is fine too. But Bluetooth, CPU and RAM ARE different. A T42p CPU posts just fine but it's strongly NOT recommended while RAM wont fit at all and Bluetooth module will throw you 1803 error
"Yes you can but the pcmcia cage is not the same one from a T42 because of one expresscard slot."

No big thing, I don't want to use a eGPU or PCcard on it anyway.

"A T42p CPU posts just fine but it's strongly NOT recommended"

Are you kidding? I see no problem in using a P-M 745 (400 FSB Dothan) CPU with a pinmod.

As for RAM & BT: No big thing either, DDR2 1 GB modules is something I have way too many of anyway.

TPFanatic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 791
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire

Re: T42p with R52 ATI board

#5 Post by TPFanatic » Fri Jun 23, 2017 6:22 pm

R50 and T40 series boards are the same.

Only conflict arises if the R50 board has a firewire since there's no firewire hole in T40 chassis. Or if you put something else into an R50e, since R50e chassis is missing holes for certain ports (eg. S-Video, docking).
Daily driver: lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
Ultraportable: IBM lenovo X60s
Home theater: lenovo T420

Enable advanced features on older Synaptics touchpads with the registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: T42p with R52 ATI board

#6 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 6:24 pm

TPFanatic wrote:R50 and T40 series boards are the same.

Only conflict arises if the R50 board has a firewire since there's no firewire hole in T40 chassis. Or if you put something else into an R50e, since R50e chassis is missing holes for certain ports (eg. S-Video, docking).
Dremels are there for that :)
Welcome to the jungle, we have FrankenPads
If you want it you're going to bleed, but that is the price to pay
And you're a very rare mobo, very hard to get
You can see the blinky lights, but you won't get them for free.

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T42p with R52 ATI board

#7 Post by kfzhu1229 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:43 pm

MKnight wrote:
Fri Jun 23, 2017 6:06 pm
Are you kidding? I see no problem in using a P-M 745 (400 FSB Dothan) CPU with a pinmod.
Well never used that before as that prevents this machine from installing Windows 10. I use Windows 10 on all of my t43 laptops
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18341
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Near St. James's Gate
Contact:

Re: T42p with R52 ATI board

#8 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Jun 24, 2017 4:48 am

Have a look at my list of T4x and R5x motherboards: http://theboardroom.info/ibm_list.html
There are more than 100 varieties, I gave up collecting more info 5 years ago.
EVERY motherboard in that list will fit in EVERY T4x/R5x chassis, apart from the R50e and R51e, which have no opening for the dock-connector (and possibly more, never seen one).
The firewire-port is easily removable (can be unplugged and is only glued to the PCMCIA cage), so no problem there.
As already stated above:
T43/R52 have 533 MT/s CPUs, DDR2 RAM and different PCMCIA cages from previous T4x/R5x models
T40/T41/T42/R50/R51 have 400 MT/s CPUs, DDR RAM and different PCMCIA cages from T43/R52
Since CPUs for T43/R52 are so cheap, why bother with a pinmod?

T43/R52 also have a modded BIOS available (made by TTAV134) which supplies Slic2.1 and removes Error 1802 (wifi) and Error 2010 (HD)
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1528
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: T42p with R52 ATI board

#9 Post by axur-delmeria » Sat Jun 24, 2017 4:56 am

I've transplanted the board from a 14-inch R52 into the chassis of a 14-inch T42. As RealBlackStuff said, the Firewire port has to go.

Also, keep track of all the screws and brackets.
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: T42p with R52 ATI board

#10 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sat Jun 24, 2017 2:50 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:I've transplanted the board from a 14-inch R52 into the chassis of a 14-inch T42. As RealBlackStuff said, the Firewire port has to go.

Also, keep track of all the screws and brackets.
I tore apart many thinkpads and I think they have more weight on screws than anything else :) .
Welcome to the jungle, we have FrankenPads
If you want it you're going to bleed, but that is the price to pay
And you're a very rare mobo, very hard to get
You can see the blinky lights, but you won't get them for free.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T4x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests