T41 security chip issue

T4x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
lather
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Derby, England

T41 security chip issue

#1 Post by lather » Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:37 am

I have a T41 that I use mainly to run programs I don't want cluttering up the HDD on my main laptop. Today, I went to fire it up as I had something I needed to do on it, and encountered a couple of issues.

When it first booted up, I got the bleeps and numeric error codes that I know signifies it needs a new CMOS battery, which isn't scary as I've swapped them over a number of times in various Thinkpads over the years. So I reset the clock and continued the boot-up, which promptly hung at the Thinkpad splash screen. After giving it ages to see if it moved on to the next stage (it didn't), I had no other choice than to force a hard shutdown via the power button.

After letting it sit there for a few minutes while I went to make a coffee, I came back and tried again. This time, I got the dreaded 4-4-4 bleeps and blank screen, which the hardware maintenance manual tells me is a security chip issue. From what I can gather, this usually means a full system board replacement. But, before I go ahead with such a drastic move, I just want to check and see if there's any secret little tricks they don't tell you about that can revive the machine without the need to do a full strip and rebuild.

So are there any tricks I can try, or have I just got to break out the screwdrivers and get busy with the dismantling?

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15973
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: T41 security chip issue

#2 Post by ajkula66 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 11:07 am

Try the old "rubber ducky approach"...

Remove the battery, hard and media drives, unplug the AC adapter.

Press the "power" button ten times in a row, holding it down for ten seconds each time and thirty seconds the last time around.

Plug the adapter - but nothing else - in and try to power on.

Good luck.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

lather
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Derby, England

Re: T41 security chip issue

#3 Post by lather » Sun Oct 15, 2017 4:42 pm

Thanks for the tip. Will that work with a dead CMOS battery, or should I replace that first?

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15973
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: T41 security chip issue

#4 Post by ajkula66 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 5:03 pm

lather wrote:
Sun Oct 15, 2017 4:42 pm
Thanks for the tip. Will that work with a dead CMOS battery, or should I replace that first?
I'd definitely replace the CMOS battery first.

Good luck.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

lather
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Derby, England

Re: T41 security chip issue

#5 Post by lather » Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:05 pm

I thought at much, but you never know! As I've not got one in the house, I've ordered one online and am just waiting for it to arrive. Once I've got it swapped over, I'll give it a go.

Just to clear things up, is it a total of ten presses, nine each of ten seconds, and then the tenth for thirty seconds, or ten presses of ten seconds, followed by another of thirty seconds? I'm guessing that it is a total of ten, but again I just want to make sure.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18204
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: T41 security chip issue

#6 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:02 pm

Actually one press/hold down for 20 seconds does the same...

kfzhu1229
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T41 security chip issue

#7 Post by kfzhu1229 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:10 pm

lather wrote:
Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:05 pm
I thought at much, but you never know! As I've not got one in the house, I've ordered one online and am just waiting for it to arrive. Once I've got it swapped over, I'll give it a go.
Btw if you are *VERY* impatient about the eBay wait time for the new CMOS battery with the connector to arrive, you can make one by de-welding the original battery, tape the new one (any CR2032 or CR2016 will do) with foil tape (of course, make sure about the polar alignment and also not tape it in one piece and short it out), and then wrap it around with electrical tape. Not pretty, but certainly does the job done in a hurry. Did that to my T23 which I was too lazy to order another batch of CMOS batteries with that connector.
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

lather
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Derby, England

Re: T41 security chip issue

#8 Post by lather » Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:30 am

Fitted the new CMOS battery, tried the 10 presses and..... It's alive!!

So it seems like, in this case at least, that trick works for a security chip issue.

Thanks for all the help!

kfzhu1229
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T41 security chip issue

#9 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:30 am

I think it might be a conflict problem that only exists after CMOS data loss. I have similar things with BIOS device conflicts on my T22 for some reason, and also solved after me putting a working CMOS battery so that CMOS info doesn't get lost again.
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T4x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests