Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Change Hard Disk on T43

T40/T41/T42/T43 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
josefcarel
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:53 am
Location: Kfar Sava, Israel

Change Hard Disk on T43

#1 Post by josefcarel » Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:57 am

would like advice on the best Hard Disk for the model T43, which can be installed without further problems

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21600
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Change Hard Disk on T43

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:48 am

Welcome to the Forum.

The best (PATA/IDE) HD would be 160GB/5400rpm Samsung HM160HC.
Or find someone who can SATA-mod your machine, after which you can use any SATA-I downwards-compatible HD or SSD.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1779
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Change Hard Disk on T43

#3 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:18 pm

I personally use the Hitachi HTS541616J9AT00 160GB IDE HDD.
I have two of them, all flashed into IBM firmware (but you only get 128gb available) and works with all stock T43/p/R52 systems after the firmware flash.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Lat D830 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

shawross
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:48 am
Location: Perth Aus / Thailand

Re: Change Hard Disk on T43

#4 Post by shawross » Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:04 pm

I have a couple of T43's and I agree with RBS that "Samsung HM160HC" drives are hard to beat.

Also if you aren't using the Ultrabay consider getting a PATA to SATA caddy and installing a cheap SATA HD. This is also a great way to install dual operating systems.
Active --- Love the X series
X301 W 7/Mint | X201 540M L Mint | X220 2520 W7/Mint

Nostalgia
X61 T7500 / T41 T42 T43 / A31

Rogue daily driver - Samsung RV511 15.6 " Screen - W 7

crux
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:05 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO.
Contact:

Re: Change Hard Disk on T43

#5 Post by crux » Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:12 am

I got a 100GB @ 7200RPM Hitachi TravelStar 7K100 for my T43. It has an accompanying review through notebookreview.com.

My T43 came without a HDD and I bought 2 new through ebay from some outlet in Hong Kong at the same time. Cheap too, around $25 each so I got 2 while I was at it They were brand new and I'm very happy with my purchase, but some listed for sale had the wrong GB and even misspelled words on the label. I've got OpenBSD loaded on one and am saving the other. They did not come with the caddy cover and I had to purchase them separately.

I was a little surprised my T43 it didn't come with the rubber rails that my newer Thinkpads have though. It didn't look like it came stock with them, went in like it was supposed to and runs great. It's a pleasure to type on.
W520 running OpenBSD 6.2
T43 running OpenBSD 6.2
T61 running FreeBSD 11.1 x's 2
X61 running FreeBSD 11.1
T400 running Solaris 11.3

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21600
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Change Hard Disk on T43

#6 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:33 am

Rubber rails didn't start until T60/R60/X60.
crux wrote:some listed for sale had the wrong GB and even misspelled words on the label.
Which means they are cheap Chinese knock-offs or even recycled ones with "new" labels that have (typical Chinese) spelling mistakes.

crux
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:05 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO.
Contact:

Re: Change Hard Disk on T43

#7 Post by crux » Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:47 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:33 am
Rubber rails didn't start until T60/R60/X60.
Thanks.

Yes, the misspelling of "Caution" clued me in to something wasn't right. :) Mine did appear to be legitimate, I still have one in the electrostatic packing it came sealed in, and I figured it wasn't out of the question they had some in stock being in the same region. If they were fakes they were good ones. .
W520 running OpenBSD 6.2
T43 running OpenBSD 6.2
T61 running FreeBSD 11.1 x's 2
X61 running FreeBSD 11.1
T400 running Solaris 11.3

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T40/T41/T42/T43 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 51 guests